Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Review of Diary of a Beverly Hills Matchmaker, by Marla Martenson

October 03, 2011 | Comments: 0 | Views: 172

Have you ever wondered what it's like to be the head matchmaker of a high-class Beverly Hills dating service? In this her candid and witty memoir, Marla Martenson takes you on a humorous ride through the ups and downs of her life working for such a place, as she struggles with the often unreasonable demands of her wealthy clientele.

"I honestly had no idea how shallow, picky, selfish, and entitled some clients could be. After six years of feedback, demands, and expectations, I'm still thrown for a loop now and then," says Martenson. But what can you do when her clients pay $40,000 and up to find the right woman?

The author starts off by showing us what a regular day for her is like, answering annoying emails and trying to understand her clients' often incredible and unreasonable requests, as they continually find faults with their gorgeous, perfect Barbie-doll dates.

After this initial glimpse into her 'regular day,' Martenson goes back in time to recount how she got started, working at restaurant jobs and waiting on rude celebrities such as Joan Collins, who once barked at her for forgetting a fork. "For all my work, she left me a $2 tip on a $120 tab. The woman was clearly typecast as Alexis, right?" says the author.

She also talks about her dreams of becoming an actress, her marriage, divorce and remarriage to the perfect guy, her father's death and, finally, taking charge of her life. Eventually all fell into place and she started earning good money making commercials and getting small parts in films and print modeling work. She even got a couple of lines in the Mel Gibson film, What Women Want. Then, finally, how she got started as a recruiter for the dating service, on the lookout for what she calls "a fresh supply of goddesses" and her life as an author-a calling she never suspected she had.

The book is full of interesting anecdotes about Martenson's work in Hollywood with the stars. The writing is simple, straight forward, witty and honest. This is the perfect fun, beach read. I like the author's satiric slant on beauty and the mystery of dating and relationships, as well as the shallowness of Hollywood and the pressure put on women to look good. The book, though a light read, makes you think about society and the role of women and men in it, and explores interesting issues of gender.

Diary of a Beverly Hills Matchmaker By Marla Martenson Bettie Youngs Books (April 15, 2010) ISBN-10: 0984308105 ISBN-13: 978-0984308101 Paperback, 272 pagesMemoir

Mayra Calvani writes fiction and nonfiction for children and adults. Her nonfiction work, The Slippery Art of Book Reviewing was a ForeWord Best Book of the Year Award winner. She's had over 300 stories, articles, interviews and reviews published. Visit her website at

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:



Funny Memoirs




Marla Martenson


Beverly Hills



Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

This book is about a woman settling in to a new expatriate life in Dubai. She finds that there is quite a significant difference between her life in England and that in Dubai.

By: Cathy L Powelll Book Reviews > Womensl June 16, 2012 lViews: 151

From the BBCA's the original "What Not To Wear" TV series which inspired TLC's What Not To Wear with Stacey London and Clinton Kelly of the US, internationally acclaimed stylists Susannah and Trinny

By: April Braswelll Book Reviews > Womensl May 31, 2012 lViews: 141

Sudha Murthy is one of those individuals with a thirst for excellence and this is very evident in the various spheres of interests in which she is involved. She was born on August 19, 1950 in

By: Anju K Batral Book Reviews > Womensl March 16, 2012 lViews: 269

Decorating a new home can be overwhelming. Author Jacqueline deMontravel, with a host of talented photographers, offers suggestions for a feminine retreat space in any size dwelling.

By: Holly Weissl Book Reviews > Womensl October 14, 2011 lViews: 156

From the moment I picked up that book, I knew my life had reached a pivotal moment. The wall of Jericho fell from around me. All my answers were in the palm of my hand in black and white in Ellen

By: Annette C O'Leary-Cogginsl Book Reviews > Womensl October 06, 2011 lViews: 161

Pregnancy is the greatest event to ever happen in the life of a woman. However, the joy associated with it can be marred to a certain extent due to unattractive weight gain, excess flab, development

By: Neha Gargl Book Reviews > Womensl September 25, 2011 lViews: 121

The Eden Paradox, by Barry Kirwan, is an enjoyable read that will be relished by fans of science fiction. Fifty years into the future, the earth has been maimed by war and is near collapse from heat

By: Mayra Calvanil Book Reviews > Fictionl February 27, 2012 lViews: 203

Pretty Dolls by Kimberly Dana, a finalist in the Children's Picture Book category at the 2011 Pacific Northwest Writers Association Literary Contest, is a delightful story about overcoming jealousy

By: Mayra Calvanil Book Reviews > Childrens Booksl February 26, 2012 lViews: 205

A Satan Carol by spiritual horror author Alan Steven Kessler combines elements of the macabre and parody/satire to explore the concepts of free will and evil. Not having read in this horror

By: Mayra Calvanil Book Reviews > Fictionl February 26, 2012 lViews: 194

For several years, Aneeta Sundararaj has been helping writers through her website with countless articles, reviews and interviews. Now, she has compiled all her experience and expertise in her new

By: Mayra Calvanil Book Reviews > Reference Encyclopedial October 13, 2011 lViews: 211

Award-winning, first-time novelist Marisel Vera pens an honest, heart-felt, often sad tale of an idealistic, naive Puerto Rican girl named Felicidad who goes to America to be with the man she loves.

By: Mayra Calvanil Book Reviews > Womensl June 21, 2011 lViews: 164

I was intrigued when I received a copy of this poetry chapbook for review. It isn't the typical poetry book. The author, 'Laughing' Larry Berger, improvised these poems onstage in front of an

By: Mayra Calvanil Book Reviews > Poetry Playscriptsl May 07, 2011 lViews: 197