Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Book Review: If I Bring You Roses, by Marisel Vera

June 21, 2011 | Comments: 0 | Views: 163

Award-winning, first-time novelist Marisel Vera pens an honest, heart-felt, often sad tale of an idealistic, naive Puerto Rican girl named Felicidad who goes to America to be with the man she loves.

The story, told from an author omniscient point of view, begins in the early 1940's in the Puerto Rican countryside and ends about ten years later in Chicago. It follows Felicidad's life from the time she's a young jíbara living in appalling poverty in the mountains to the time she gets married and moves to America.

Young Felicidad lives in a tiny shack with her parents and siblings. Her father works in the fields and can barely support them. At times, Felicidad must be happy with only one meal a day. Their living conditions are so deplorable, she must tie her locks in a bun so that flying roaches in the latrine will not make a nest in her hair. Her sister dies because they can't afford medical care. But worst of all, her mother is losing her mind. Unable to face the situation they're in, one day her mother climbs naked onto the roof. The priest, of course, says she's possessed by the devil.

Then Felicidad is sent to another town to live with her uncle and his wife, who own a panaderia. Though her uncle is kind and quiet most of the times, her aunt finds every opportunity to criticize Felicidad and treat her like a servant. Felicidad, naïve and good-natured, does her best to put up with her. She slaves in the panaderia and remains submissive, but she dreams of a prince who will love her and 'rescue' her one day. Years pass and Felicidad doesn't hear a word from her family. She misses them terribly and would like nothing more than to visit them, but she wonders if the feeling is reciprocated and, afraid of rejection by her own flesh and blood, she stays away from them.

One day, a handsome man walks into the panaderia and Felicidad is swept off her feet. Aníbal Acevedo, a man of the world as far as women go, is taken by Felicidad's innocent beauty. To everyone's shock, a few days later, he asks her to marry him. Felicidad is ecstatic, filled with idealistic illusions of happiness, but is Aníbal capable of fulfilling his dreams, when he has another woman waiting for him in Chicago?

Marisel Vera's prose flows beautifully. In a skillful, often blunt manner, she paints a painfully realistic picture of the jíbaro. In a way, Felicidad's story is a Cinderella story but with an unusual twist. The two protagonists, Felicidad and Aníbal, come to live through the pages, each one so very distinctive from the other. It is especially fascinating to be inside Aníbal's mind and see the world from his perspective, a brutal contrast to Felicidad. Their love story is bitter sweet. But most of all, the author gives us a powerfully sad glimpse of the jíbaro in the 1950's in Chicago, their difficult lives and tribulations, the prejudice they had to confront. Vera is definitely a new Latina voice to be reckoned with, and I look forward to reading more of her work.

IF I BRING YOU ROSES By Marisel Vera Grand Central Publishing ISBN-13: 978-0446571531 Format: Trade Paperback Pages: 351 Price: $13.99/$15.50 in Canada General Fiction

Visit the author's website at

Mayra Calvani writes fiction and nonfiction for children and adults. Her nonfiction work, The Slippery Art of Book Reviewing was a ForeWord Best Book of the Year Award winner. Visit her website at

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Marisel Vera






















J Ba

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 285

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 309

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 546

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

This book is about a woman settling in to a new expatriate life in Dubai. She finds that there is quite a significant difference between her life in England and that in Dubai.

By: Cathy L Powelll Book Reviews > Womensl June 16, 2012 lViews: 151

From the BBCA's the original "What Not To Wear" TV series which inspired TLC's What Not To Wear with Stacey London and Clinton Kelly of the US, internationally acclaimed stylists Susannah and Trinny

By: April Braswelll Book Reviews > Womensl May 31, 2012 lViews: 140

Sudha Murthy is one of those individuals with a thirst for excellence and this is very evident in the various spheres of interests in which she is involved. She was born on August 19, 1950 in

By: Anju K Batral Book Reviews > Womensl March 16, 2012 lViews: 269

Decorating a new home can be overwhelming. Author Jacqueline deMontravel, with a host of talented photographers, offers suggestions for a feminine retreat space in any size dwelling.

By: Holly Weissl Book Reviews > Womensl October 14, 2011 lViews: 156

From the moment I picked up that book, I knew my life had reached a pivotal moment. The wall of Jericho fell from around me. All my answers were in the palm of my hand in black and white in Ellen

By: Annette C O'Leary-Cogginsl Book Reviews > Womensl October 06, 2011 lViews: 161

Have you ever wondered what it's like to be the head matchmaker of a high-class Beverly Hills dating service? In this, her candid and witty memoir, Marla Martenson takes you on a humorous ride

By: Mayra Calvanil Book Reviews > Womensl October 03, 2011 lViews: 172

The Eden Paradox, by Barry Kirwan, is an enjoyable read that will be relished by fans of science fiction. Fifty years into the future, the earth has been maimed by war and is near collapse from heat

By: Mayra Calvanil Book Reviews > Fictionl February 27, 2012 lViews: 203

Pretty Dolls by Kimberly Dana, a finalist in the Children's Picture Book category at the 2011 Pacific Northwest Writers Association Literary Contest, is a delightful story about overcoming jealousy

By: Mayra Calvanil Book Reviews > Childrens Booksl February 26, 2012 lViews: 203

A Satan Carol by spiritual horror author Alan Steven Kessler combines elements of the macabre and parody/satire to explore the concepts of free will and evil. Not having read in this horror

By: Mayra Calvanil Book Reviews > Fictionl February 26, 2012 lViews: 194

For several years, Aneeta Sundararaj has been helping writers through her website with countless articles, reviews and interviews. Now, she has compiled all her experience and expertise in her new

By: Mayra Calvanil Book Reviews > Reference Encyclopedial October 13, 2011 lViews: 211

Have you ever wondered what it's like to be the head matchmaker of a high-class Beverly Hills dating service? In this, her candid and witty memoir, Marla Martenson takes you on a humorous ride

By: Mayra Calvanil Book Reviews > Womensl October 03, 2011 lViews: 172

I was intrigued when I received a copy of this poetry chapbook for review. It isn't the typical poetry book. The author, 'Laughing' Larry Berger, improvised these poems onstage in front of an

By: Mayra Calvanil Book Reviews > Poetry Playscriptsl May 07, 2011 lViews: 197