Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

So, You Like Westerns - Here is a Book Review for You

April 14, 2008 | Comments: 0 | Views: 108

What was winning the west really like, how have those days gone by shaped our civilization today? You might be quite surprised how although things have changed, such as cars, trucks and planes, the wild west is still in us all and this is one of those books that takes you there and back again full circle until you realize this very fact. To which book do I refer you ask? Well, the book title is appropriate to its message, memory and madness:

"Western Madness" by Harvey T. Boyd - 1994.

The reader will get a history lesson of the old west and the history of Arizona from the ancient Indians to the first newspapers that brought information to settlers. Learn about Bisbee Arizona, in its hay day, learn about outlaws, mining and the reality of "okay coral" and what really happened in the day of Tombstone. Historical fiction at its best, that is the best of the old West; from that areas inception through the 1940s.

The book takes us through Show Low, Holbrook, Winslow, the Navajo Nation, Hopi Indian Territory, in the 1920s,30s,40s and beyond and how that effects current events in the present period. This book was well researched and quite intriguing. The story is great, but best of all is all the Arizona history you will learn along the way and in the end you will find that the wild-west is still alive and well today.

Few authors are able to tell such a story bathed in history and delivering such a power punch of reality to all we are and all we know. I highly recommend this book, by two, one for a friend.

"Lance Winslow" - Online Blog Content Service. If you have innovative thoughts and unique perspectives, come think with Lance; Lance Winslow's Bio

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

You Like Westerns


Western Book Review


History Of Arizona


Story Of Intrigue


American Indians

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 311

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

Nerburn's story is a fictionalized account based on real events that captures the attention of the reader as we learn the plight of Indians today fighting to accept the horrors of their past. An

By: Cheryl A. Chatfield, Ph.D.l Book Reviews > Westernsl March 23, 2012 lViews: 188

A Druid lives in Arizona, pretending to be twenty-one years old, while he is actually twenty-one centuries old. He is threatened by witches and assisted by werewolves, all of whom also appear, on the

By: Cheryl A. Chatfield, Ph.D.l Book Reviews > Westernsl March 23, 2012 lViews: 204

An invitation from Ace Reid to come for a visit to find if they were compatible to work together was the start of this book. Author John R. Erickson's the three-day visit to the Draggin' S Ranch

By: Ann Edall Robsonl Book Reviews > Westernsl December 10, 2011 lViews: 166

Movies like "Pirates of the Caribbean," "National Treasure," and the "Indiana Jones" franchise awaken a deep-seated idea: adventure will break the monotony of life and you never know when you might

By: Steven M Kingl Book Reviews > Westernsl November 09, 2011 lViews: 180

  I must confess that two things which I have loved are t western films and books of that turbulent period referred to as the 'wild west' in American history of the 19th century. This was a period

By: Madan G Singhl Book Reviews > Westernsl November 03, 2011 lViews: 137

Set in the American West, "A Western Saga Anthology" focuses on the McTavish family as they venture to settle and tame the unknown. A rousing set of character driven short stories promises to have

By: Steph Burkhartl Book Reviews > Westernsl September 12, 2011 lViews: 205

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 219

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 434

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus