Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

The Scruffs: Return of the Duke Review

February 20, 2012 | Comments: 0 | Views: 135

Way back in 2007, hidden object aficionados encountered The Scruffs, a fun and quirky game that features equally fun and quirky characters as they try to unfold a family secret and prevent their beloved family home from being sold. Fast forward to present 2012, a sequel to this game appears. The Scruffs: Return of the Duke features a completely different storyline, but brings back the comical family from the original game. And this time, they are involved in a bigger adventure which we will be tackling with the rest of this review.

Grandpa Scruff is actually a duke, and after discovering this fact, the entire Scruff family returns to Scrufford but soon encounters an evil impostor that wants to take Grandpa Scruff's rightful position. Well, that is the entire gist of the story as you try to thwart the impostor's evil plans and help the old man get back his title. Simple, right? Well, that is because the entire game is very simple as well. But it makes up for it with pure, lighthearted fun, lots of humor and possibly the cutest hint system you will encounter in the hidden object genre.

The game play of The Scruffs: Return of the Duke is straightforward hidden object. You try to find items in various cluttered scenes with some of them turning into inventory items you can use to progress the storyline. It is much like the first installment of The Scruffs, but definitely better and more refined. I could say it is funnier too, bringing me lots of laughs even with just the hidden object scenes. And while the puzzles may not be so unique, they are very well made, with some taking quite a lot of time to complete (Sudoku, anyone?).

What I really loved best though is the game's hint system. The Scruff dog located at the lower right side of the screen will give you hints whenever he is available. What he does is bark whenever you get to approach the needed object. Absolutely cute and very fun to use. Kudos to the developers for putting such an element oftentimes neglected on other hidden object games.

All in all, The Scruffs: Return of the Duke is certainly a must try, must buy game. But of course, it is much better for you to try it out first if comic style graphics and storyline suits you well. As a bit of trivia, the original The Scruffs game won second runner-up best hidden object game of 2007 at the Big Fish Games portal. Just so you know how fun this game really is to play.

Download The Scruffs: Return of the Duke and more games at Latest Games for PC.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

The Scruffs


Return Of The Duke


Hidden Object Games


Latest Games For Pc

Guild Wars 2 will be the followup around the popular video game which will be just as created by ArenaNet. Guild Battles a couple of was at credited training course introduced about September 20 or

By: John l Gaming > Online Gaming l November 06, 2012 lViews: 409

When I was young my parents died at the hands of miserable thieves. I really suffered for a long time. The I decided to train myself and become stronger. I live in the mountains because I don't trust

By: archaznable l Gaming > Computer Games l November 04, 2012 lViews: 271

Taken ideas from the famous tale about Little Mermaid which is told for kids, Fairy under Sea is one of the most interesting dress-up games with taking pretty mermaid living under the ocean as the

By: Julia733 l Gaming > Online Gaming l October 25, 2012 lViews: 285

Do you find that you do not have enough time in the day to get everything done? Do you want to exercise but simply can't find the time to go to the gym? If the answer is yes then you may want to

By: Simona Rusnakova l Gaming > Console Games l July 19, 2012 lViews: 246

A quick guide to all of the editions available for the upcoming Assassin's Creed 3 game from Ubisoft. This article details the Freedom Edition, Join or Die Edition and the Limited Edition for EMEA

By: Darragh Verschoyle l Gaming > Console Games l July 17, 2012 lViews: 262

How many times have you had to stop playing games on your PS3 because it shut down (accompanied by a blinking red light)? This happens very often on old 60s consoles and means that you can't play

By: Rizvana Abdul l Gaming > Console Games l July 10, 2012 lViews: 253

Through our detailed review of hundreds of games for the iPad and iPhone we have identified 3 games which we feel are the top paid games for the iPad and iPhone. Infinity Blade 2 - Continues to Slash

By: Jason Rudderl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 06, 2012 lViews: 192

Dynasty Warriors has always been a series near and dear to my heart. I've read through the book it's based on at least twice a year since I was in the fourth grade [Seriously, I recommend Three

By: Christien K Munnerlynl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 04, 2012 lViews: 182

For some reason, I thought Dragon's Dogma was going to go under the majority of the gaming community's collective radar. It had an underwhelming demo that didn't do the game justice or properly

By: Christien K Munnerlynl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 04, 2012 lViews: 288

Out of all the great games I play each and every year, it seems there is one title per year that I can't seem to put down until it gets naturally lost in the shuffle of other games, and gradually

By: Stephen T Maxwelll Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 02, 2012 lViews: 187

Dungeon raid Dungeon raid. The title brings to mind a RPG where you are battling to defeat the big bad guy with a group of your friends.

By: Timothy A Meierl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 01, 2012 lViews: 213

Faerie Solitaire Mobile HD is a different spin on the usual solitaire game for the iOS, but is it worth your hard earned money especially for $6.99? Read on to find out.

By: Timothy A Meierl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl May 30, 2012 lViews: 187

If you have watched the show before, you might also love the game. American Pickers: The Road Less Traveled is a hidden object game that is based upon the hit reality television series American

By: Ruff Bismontel Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl February 22, 2012 lViews: 154

If you are tired of the same old hidden object game play that is always being integrated into adventure gaming and would just like to, for once, play a pure adventure game, Aaron Crane: Paintings

By: Ruff Bismontel Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl February 21, 2012 lViews: 133

The Surprising Adventures of Munchausen is another Big Fish Games exclusive that graced me initially as possibly another hidden object game that is like all the others that came before it. However,

By: Ruff Bismontel Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl February 19, 2012 lViews: 142

Film Fatale: Lights, Camera, Madness is the perfect example of a hidden object game that does not focus on overly artistic graphics and visualizations but on the other hand, delivers a magnificent

By: Ruff Bismontel Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl February 15, 2012 lViews: 130

Amulet of Time: Shadow of la Rochelle is a hidden object and adventure game coming from Big Fish Games. From the name itself, you can already sense on what this game has in store for you. You get to

By: Ruff Bismontel Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl February 14, 2012 lViews: 141

Mother Nature just arrived from Big Fish Game's arsenal of strategy games so I thought I would go at it with a review of my own. And if you do not know Mother Nature yet, basically it is just a

By: Ruff Bismontel Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl February 13, 2012 lViews: 129