Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Street Fighter II Hyper Fighting Review

May 23, 2012 | Comments: 0 | Views: 155

Exclusive to the Xbox 360, Street Fighter II Hyper Fighting lands on the Xbox Live Arcade. Considered to be the greatest in the Street Fighter franchise, this is the third installment in the series adding hyper speed to the world renowned Championship Edition. This is an arcade port of the original; no graphical changes and no remixed soundtrack. This is the classic just like we remember with a raw tiger knee to your face.

Appreciate this port for what it is, a higher difficulty adjustment for the vets and 4 player lobby matches online, making it the closest you'll get to being at the arcades looking over my shoulder with your bag of quarters. Street Fighter II Hyper Fighting because of its timeless game play, the equation is simple: nostalgia plus online game play you can't go wrong.

Concerning the nostalgia factor, I wasn't too fond with the graphical changes in SSF II Turbo HD Remix. It made it look too cartoony. SSF2THD Remix is a great game though, and has a wonderful balance system but because it looks cuter people over look Hyper Fighting. Hyper Fighting hits with greater impact by keeping it all-original separating this game from all the rest. I mean this game alone made me buy an arcade fight stick; you HAVE got to buy an arcade stick. I adjusted my entire room just for the arcade fight stick. It adds so much more fun to the game or you can yourself the Street Fighter pad. I'm just trying my best to keep you away from that FPS d-pad on the Xbox. When I mention controllers I'm only talking to the Street Fighter fans anyway. Casual gamers might not even notice. These accessories were not even around when this game was released back in '06. To own the Hyper Fighting cabinet would be awesome. But trust me, you'll have just as much fun as before when you played it on the Super Nintendo. This is an awesome video game and one that any old and new school gamer would appreciate.

Yeah, you remember playing on the Super Nintendo, when you used to wrap your thumb inside your shirt just to throw a hadouken. Because of how loyal I am to the series, I would have easily given 40 bucks for this game but lucky for us its only 400 points on XBLA. Nowadays the online players are scattered around, a lot of them moved to HD Remix and the Street Fighter IV series. Both of those series are great, but this is the game that keeps me coming back, even now I have memories of when my Xbox Live friends list was filled with Hyper fighters.

To put it all into perspective, Capcom released Street Fighter IV almost ten years after their last 2D SF game. This is what the Street Fighter community is all about, it reminds me of 2008 when Mega Man 9 was released in 8-bit graphics, that's crazy influence! Street Fighter II Hyper Fighting is just not going away. So until next time gamers, charge back, forward, sonic boom!

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Street Fighter


Hyper Fighting


Hyper Fighting Review






Retro Gaming

Guild Wars 2 will be the followup around the popular video game which will be just as created by ArenaNet. Guild Battles a couple of was at credited training course introduced about September 20 or

By: John l Gaming > Online Gaming l November 06, 2012 lViews: 408

When I was young my parents died at the hands of miserable thieves. I really suffered for a long time. The I decided to train myself and become stronger. I live in the mountains because I don't trust

By: archaznable l Gaming > Computer Games l November 04, 2012 lViews: 270

Taken ideas from the famous tale about Little Mermaid which is told for kids, Fairy under Sea is one of the most interesting dress-up games with taking pretty mermaid living under the ocean as the

By: Julia733 l Gaming > Online Gaming l October 25, 2012 lViews: 284

Do you find that you do not have enough time in the day to get everything done? Do you want to exercise but simply can't find the time to go to the gym? If the answer is yes then you may want to

By: Simona Rusnakova l Gaming > Console Games l July 19, 2012 lViews: 245

A quick guide to all of the editions available for the upcoming Assassin's Creed 3 game from Ubisoft. This article details the Freedom Edition, Join or Die Edition and the Limited Edition for EMEA

By: Darragh Verschoyle l Gaming > Console Games l July 17, 2012 lViews: 261

How many times have you had to stop playing games on your PS3 because it shut down (accompanied by a blinking red light)? This happens very often on old 60s consoles and means that you can't play

By: Rizvana Abdul l Gaming > Console Games l July 10, 2012 lViews: 252

Through our detailed review of hundreds of games for the iPad and iPhone we have identified 3 games which we feel are the top paid games for the iPad and iPhone. Infinity Blade 2 - Continues to Slash

By: Jason Rudderl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 06, 2012 lViews: 192

Dynasty Warriors has always been a series near and dear to my heart. I've read through the book it's based on at least twice a year since I was in the fourth grade [Seriously, I recommend Three

By: Christien K Munnerlynl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 04, 2012 lViews: 182

For some reason, I thought Dragon's Dogma was going to go under the majority of the gaming community's collective radar. It had an underwhelming demo that didn't do the game justice or properly

By: Christien K Munnerlynl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 04, 2012 lViews: 288

Out of all the great games I play each and every year, it seems there is one title per year that I can't seem to put down until it gets naturally lost in the shuffle of other games, and gradually

By: Stephen T Maxwelll Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 02, 2012 lViews: 187

Dungeon raid Dungeon raid. The title brings to mind a RPG where you are battling to defeat the big bad guy with a group of your friends.

By: Timothy A Meierl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 01, 2012 lViews: 212

Faerie Solitaire Mobile HD is a different spin on the usual solitaire game for the iOS, but is it worth your hard earned money especially for $6.99? Read on to find out.

By: Timothy A Meierl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl May 30, 2012 lViews: 187

As of late I've noticed a growing trend. It is a trend that makes me suspicious and skeptical at the same time. I'm sitting in front of my TV, weapon selected, timer is counting down, and my

By: Ludos Nishil Gaming > Communitiesl May 23, 2012 lViews: 158

Amnesia is an exciting and horrifying adventure game built around exploration and puzzle-based environments and may be the Scariest Game Of All Time. Imagine waking up in a brittle old castle in the

By: Ludos Nishil Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl May 23, 2012 lViews: 135

Flight Sims have been a staple of PC Gaming. It's weird to think that you can play a flight simulator on a console. It's a shame too, that you can't. Hold on a sec. Not so fast. There is one game out

By: Ludos Nishil Gaming > Communitiesl May 09, 2012 lViews: 186

Lately I've noticed some changes at GameStop. At first it was subtle. It was very, GameStoppish. But then I started to notice a some very odd and might I say, generous offers.

By: Ludos Nishil Gaming > Communitiesl April 03, 2012 lViews: 171

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus