Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Nuage Impressions

April 12, 2012 | Comments: 0 | Views: 106

The title screen of Nuage featured menus of Play, Directions, Options, Credits and Exit. The button layout via the Xbox 360 gamepad: LS-to move and collect clouds, RT-to use rain (5 clouds needed), LT-to use lightning. Lightning gives you extra rain time. The controls are good in Nuage. The controls were good in that they caused no stress which is Nuage's presentation's angle. Judging from the buttons you can probably put together some of Nuage's gameplay. Your goal is to change the landscape by growing plants, flowers and bushes through the use of rain.

You control a cloud on a nicely rendered 2D backdrop featuring trees, hills sunshine. You can see bears and foxes walking below the cloud. The cloud is the protagonist of Nuage without it you don't have a game. You move the cloud across the screen left to right, up or down to collect clouds. As you collect clouds they accumulate into a stronger cloud. Once you have five clouds you can create rain for a limited time. Rain helps plants below grow which changes the landscape of Nuage. It's a really simple game that gives you a simple pleasure just by watching the setting grow into something more beautiful.

I was unable to use lightning during my demo playthroughs so i can't comment on the effects of it relating to Nuage's landscape. I'm pretty sure lightning has a gameplay element just not sure what. The Directions menu stated lightning is used to help you create rain longer. If that is the case it doesn't seem like a big deal. As far as the gameplay is concerned its pretty simple but enjoyable. It's actually addicting but in a non-stressful way. The reason Nuage has a calming effect is from two elements, the visuals and music.

The visuals in this game exude quality. It's more art than textures i like to say. The landscape, trees and animals gave my mind peace. Nuage isn't a complicated looking game it's quite simple. However it does deliver an atmosphere of calmness. The second part of this calming effect equation has to do with the sound design. The music in particular done by Paul Collier is probably the reason this game has a legit calming effect on me. It was that good. I played so many XBLIGs and many lack quality to be blunt. Nuage isn't one of those games this one has quality embedded deep within its essence.

Well you might say how can Nuage be so fun. Its simple for me really. I love watching the environment come to life. Nuage may not be a genre-defining game however it's a game that breaks from the casual main stream video game ideas. It's a small indie game to boot which is why you gotta try it. Check out Nuage on Xbox Live Indie Games Marketplace. Play the demo or buy it for 80 Microsoft Points. Thanks for reading.


Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Indie Game


Nuage Impressions


Nuage Isnt

Guild Wars 2 will be the followup around the popular video game which will be just as created by ArenaNet. Guild Battles a couple of was at credited training course introduced about September 20 or

By: John l Gaming > Online Gaming l November 06, 2012 lViews: 409

When I was young my parents died at the hands of miserable thieves. I really suffered for a long time. The I decided to train myself and become stronger. I live in the mountains because I don't trust

By: archaznable l Gaming > Computer Games l November 04, 2012 lViews: 271

Taken ideas from the famous tale about Little Mermaid which is told for kids, Fairy under Sea is one of the most interesting dress-up games with taking pretty mermaid living under the ocean as the

By: Julia733 l Gaming > Online Gaming l October 25, 2012 lViews: 285

Do you find that you do not have enough time in the day to get everything done? Do you want to exercise but simply can't find the time to go to the gym? If the answer is yes then you may want to

By: Simona Rusnakova l Gaming > Console Games l July 19, 2012 lViews: 246

A quick guide to all of the editions available for the upcoming Assassin's Creed 3 game from Ubisoft. This article details the Freedom Edition, Join or Die Edition and the Limited Edition for EMEA

By: Darragh Verschoyle l Gaming > Console Games l July 17, 2012 lViews: 262

How many times have you had to stop playing games on your PS3 because it shut down (accompanied by a blinking red light)? This happens very often on old 60s consoles and means that you can't play

By: Rizvana Abdul l Gaming > Console Games l July 10, 2012 lViews: 253

Through our detailed review of hundreds of games for the iPad and iPhone we have identified 3 games which we feel are the top paid games for the iPad and iPhone. Infinity Blade 2 - Continues to Slash

By: Jason Rudderl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 06, 2012 lViews: 192

Dynasty Warriors has always been a series near and dear to my heart. I've read through the book it's based on at least twice a year since I was in the fourth grade [Seriously, I recommend Three

By: Christien K Munnerlynl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 04, 2012 lViews: 182

For some reason, I thought Dragon's Dogma was going to go under the majority of the gaming community's collective radar. It had an underwhelming demo that didn't do the game justice or properly

By: Christien K Munnerlynl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 04, 2012 lViews: 288

Out of all the great games I play each and every year, it seems there is one title per year that I can't seem to put down until it gets naturally lost in the shuffle of other games, and gradually

By: Stephen T Maxwelll Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 02, 2012 lViews: 187

Dungeon raid Dungeon raid. The title brings to mind a RPG where you are battling to defeat the big bad guy with a group of your friends.

By: Timothy A Meierl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 01, 2012 lViews: 213

Faerie Solitaire Mobile HD is a different spin on the usual solitaire game for the iOS, but is it worth your hard earned money especially for $6.99? Read on to find out.

By: Timothy A Meierl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl May 30, 2012 lViews: 187

Mass Effect 3 has a multiplayer. Shocking isn't it? Here's is my review.

By: Jason A Flowersl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl April 13, 2012 lViews: 143

Presentation: I played the original Dead To Rights when it launched on the original Xbox back in 2002. Fast forward to 2012 and I just finished playing through Dead To Rights: Retribution via the

By: Jason A Flowersl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl April 12, 2012 lViews: 115

Published By: Electronic Arts, Developer: Klei Entertainment, Genre: Action, Release Date: Feb 8, 2012, Rating: M, Systems: PC, PlayStation 3, Xbox 360. Shank 2 is a 2D beat'em up arcade downloadable

By: Jason A Flowersl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl April 12, 2012 lViews: 114

Hard Reset is a throw back to over the top twitch shooters that features tons of enemies and wild explosions. You won't find any of the new stuff in Hard Reset like cover and regenerating health.

By: Jason A Flowersl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl April 12, 2012 lViews: 194

LIMBO presents itself as 2D atmospheric puzzle game that puts you in the shoes of a protagonist child stuck in a nightmare. For this particular Video Games Source review I played through this ambient

By: Jason A Flowersl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl April 12, 2012 lViews: 94

Impressions article for the Xbox 360 version of Battlefield 3's open beta. Battlefield 3 is a modern first-person shooter developed by DICE EA.

By: Jason A Flowersl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl September 30, 2011 lViews: 94

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus