Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Experience The Thrill Of Rise Of Flight

March 05, 2012 | Comments: 0 | Views: 123

A major part of the allure of video games is the ability to do things we ordinarily couldn't do, or to be taken to another place and time. It's no real surprise then that sports games and shooters tend to dominate the game shelves, as we have all dreamed of being a sports superstar, or of playing the lead in a big action movie where we get to fire of huge amounts of hot lead in order to save the day.

Another genre of game that falls into the action category is war games, where players can re-live actual missions from wars of the past. While some love to get their hands dirty on the ground, other player's dream of taking to the skies to fight the battle above the clouds.

Rise of Flight is one such game that let's gamers experience the thrill of flight, whilst also taking part in dogfights, all set against the landscape of World War I. The modern day video games have become so realistic that we tend to become engrossed in the action without really paying any heed to the work that went into making them so good in the first place.

It could be argued that a simulator the likes of Rise of Flight is a much more difficult game to design, especially when you consider that the laws of aerodynamics and physics must be obeyed to make controlling the plane seem realistic.

It's not just science that the makers of Rise of Flight were up against, and they also had to take into account the cockpits of the planes, as well as the landscape that the players are flying across. It's safe to say that a lot has changed since 1914-1918, which are the years in which the game takes place. There are those who take great joy in pointing out historical inaccuracies, which means that the guys behind Rise of Flight probably had to spend some time in a history classroom; that is, when they were done with science classes.

The fact that Rise of Flight is one of the most popular flight simulators is a credit to the work done by the game developers, which actually stretches all the way back to 2004. It's the attention to detail that can make or break a games, especially among hardcore followers of the genre, so taking the time to get it all just right is actually very important.

There will always be those who find some fault with the design of any game, but spare a thought for the designers of Rise of Flight, who not only had to carefully render the planes of that era, but also re-created over 125,000 square kilometers of land across the Western Front. That may well have been a mission bigger than any you will undertake within the game itself.

You can watch some videos of this great World War 1 flight simulator in action, and find out more the game at the Rise of Flight website. If more modern flying is where your interests lie, check out the aircraft at the Flight Simulator Online Game site.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Flight Simulator Games Online


Flight Simulator Games


Video Games


Rise Of Flight

Guild Wars 2 will be the followup around the popular video game which will be just as created by ArenaNet. Guild Battles a couple of was at credited training course introduced about September 20 or

By: John l Gaming > Online Gaming l November 06, 2012 lViews: 409

When I was young my parents died at the hands of miserable thieves. I really suffered for a long time. The I decided to train myself and become stronger. I live in the mountains because I don't trust

By: archaznable l Gaming > Computer Games l November 04, 2012 lViews: 271

Taken ideas from the famous tale about Little Mermaid which is told for kids, Fairy under Sea is one of the most interesting dress-up games with taking pretty mermaid living under the ocean as the

By: Julia733 l Gaming > Online Gaming l October 25, 2012 lViews: 285

Do you find that you do not have enough time in the day to get everything done? Do you want to exercise but simply can't find the time to go to the gym? If the answer is yes then you may want to

By: Simona Rusnakova l Gaming > Console Games l July 19, 2012 lViews: 246

A quick guide to all of the editions available for the upcoming Assassin's Creed 3 game from Ubisoft. This article details the Freedom Edition, Join or Die Edition and the Limited Edition for EMEA

By: Darragh Verschoyle l Gaming > Console Games l July 17, 2012 lViews: 262

How many times have you had to stop playing games on your PS3 because it shut down (accompanied by a blinking red light)? This happens very often on old 60s consoles and means that you can't play

By: Rizvana Abdul l Gaming > Console Games l July 10, 2012 lViews: 253

Through our detailed review of hundreds of games for the iPad and iPhone we have identified 3 games which we feel are the top paid games for the iPad and iPhone. Infinity Blade 2 - Continues to Slash

By: Jason Rudderl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 06, 2012 lViews: 192

Dynasty Warriors has always been a series near and dear to my heart. I've read through the book it's based on at least twice a year since I was in the fourth grade [Seriously, I recommend Three

By: Christien K Munnerlynl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 04, 2012 lViews: 182

For some reason, I thought Dragon's Dogma was going to go under the majority of the gaming community's collective radar. It had an underwhelming demo that didn't do the game justice or properly

By: Christien K Munnerlynl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 04, 2012 lViews: 288

Out of all the great games I play each and every year, it seems there is one title per year that I can't seem to put down until it gets naturally lost in the shuffle of other games, and gradually

By: Stephen T Maxwelll Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 02, 2012 lViews: 187

Dungeon raid Dungeon raid. The title brings to mind a RPG where you are battling to defeat the big bad guy with a group of your friends.

By: Timothy A Meierl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 01, 2012 lViews: 213

Faerie Solitaire Mobile HD is a different spin on the usual solitaire game for the iOS, but is it worth your hard earned money especially for $6.99? Read on to find out.

By: Timothy A Meierl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl May 30, 2012 lViews: 187

There are an incredible amount of flight simulator games online today. Video games like Rise of Flight, have become quite sophisticated and very realistic, especially when compared to their

By: Thord Halll Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl March 05, 2012 lViews: 121

A structured settlement is a method of payment used to pay compensation to a plaintiff for his or her injuries or losses. The compensation involved is to be paid by the defendant found guilty or

By: Thord Halll Finance > Structured Settlementsl January 17, 2012 lViews: 97

It is quite important for anyone that is anticipating, or actually is aware that they are going to receive annuity payments in the form of a structured settlement from any type of litigation to

By: Thord Halll Finance > Structured Settlementsl December 07, 2011 lViews: 99

By definition, according to the Internal Revenue Service, a structured settlement is an insurance or financial arrangement that is paid over a period of time. The claimant agrees to the resolution of

By: Thord Halll Finance > Structured Settlementsl December 06, 2011 lViews: 104

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus