Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Downtown Nekketsu Monogatari for Famicom Review

April 16, 2012 | Comments: 0 | Views: 179

All video games released today have their own roots that have greatly attributed to its production over the years. This also includes every beat 'em up video game that is released in modern times, such as Castle Crashers and especially Scott Pilgrim vs. the World: The Video Game. In the case of these two, Downtown Nekketsu Monogatari is the main influential game that defined the genre.


Released in North America under the name River City Ransom, Downtown Nekketsu Monogatari is a beat 'em up style video game released for the Famicom in April 1989. There are a number of properties that greatly set this game apart from other beat 'em ups, but the primary one is its non-linear nature, allowing players to fully explore an open world instead of following a set path like Double Dragon. Players take on the role of Alex and Ryan, two high school students traversing River City in an effort to rescue Cyndi, the girlfriend of the latter as she is captured by gang member Slick.


As players travel across River City to rescue Cyndi, they come across a host of different enemies looking to stop them, each of which are a part of their own named gang, such as The Squids, The Jocks and The Frat Guys. While this was hardly the first beat 'em up to feature unique characters, the way Downtown Nekketsu Monogatari differs is that each group of gangs actually have some varying personality to them. Perhaps the most notable way of proving this is in the way certain gang members would shout Barf! once the player had defeated them. As enemies are defeated, money is collected.

Every so often, the player can enter the town and use their collected funds to purchase power ups and other items that can assist them along their journey. This is something also used heavily with Scott Pilgrim vs. the World: The Video Game as Scott goes to prove his love for Ramona. Similarly, Downtown Nekketsu Monogatari brings you face to face with the leaders of the gangs you are fighting, and these leaders act as sub-bosses or regular bosses, adding an extra challenge to the game.

Though it is not inherently necessary to purchase the Famicom version of Downtown Nekketsu Monogatari, it is still a nice piece to add to a collection for those interested in expanding their Famicom collection. Those on a budget can instead choose to purchase the Virtual Console version, available in America since April 2008.

Please visit for Super Famicom games, Famicom games and more. We also have cleaned, tested and ready to play classic retro Famicom and Super Famicom consoles, controllers and guides. All 100% original, straight from Japan.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Downtown Nekketsu Monogatari



Guild Wars 2 will be the followup around the popular video game which will be just as created by ArenaNet. Guild Battles a couple of was at credited training course introduced about September 20 or

By: John l Gaming > Online Gaming l November 06, 2012 lViews: 409

When I was young my parents died at the hands of miserable thieves. I really suffered for a long time. The I decided to train myself and become stronger. I live in the mountains because I don't trust

By: archaznable l Gaming > Computer Games l November 04, 2012 lViews: 270

Taken ideas from the famous tale about Little Mermaid which is told for kids, Fairy under Sea is one of the most interesting dress-up games with taking pretty mermaid living under the ocean as the

By: Julia733 l Gaming > Online Gaming l October 25, 2012 lViews: 284

Do you find that you do not have enough time in the day to get everything done? Do you want to exercise but simply can't find the time to go to the gym? If the answer is yes then you may want to

By: Simona Rusnakova l Gaming > Console Games l July 19, 2012 lViews: 246

A quick guide to all of the editions available for the upcoming Assassin's Creed 3 game from Ubisoft. This article details the Freedom Edition, Join or Die Edition and the Limited Edition for EMEA

By: Darragh Verschoyle l Gaming > Console Games l July 17, 2012 lViews: 261

How many times have you had to stop playing games on your PS3 because it shut down (accompanied by a blinking red light)? This happens very often on old 60s consoles and means that you can't play

By: Rizvana Abdul l Gaming > Console Games l July 10, 2012 lViews: 253

Through our detailed review of hundreds of games for the iPad and iPhone we have identified 3 games which we feel are the top paid games for the iPad and iPhone. Infinity Blade 2 - Continues to Slash

By: Jason Rudderl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 06, 2012 lViews: 192

Dynasty Warriors has always been a series near and dear to my heart. I've read through the book it's based on at least twice a year since I was in the fourth grade [Seriously, I recommend Three

By: Christien K Munnerlynl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 04, 2012 lViews: 182

For some reason, I thought Dragon's Dogma was going to go under the majority of the gaming community's collective radar. It had an underwhelming demo that didn't do the game justice or properly

By: Christien K Munnerlynl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 04, 2012 lViews: 288

Out of all the great games I play each and every year, it seems there is one title per year that I can't seem to put down until it gets naturally lost in the shuffle of other games, and gradually

By: Stephen T Maxwelll Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 02, 2012 lViews: 187

Dungeon raid Dungeon raid. The title brings to mind a RPG where you are battling to defeat the big bad guy with a group of your friends.

By: Timothy A Meierl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 01, 2012 lViews: 213

Faerie Solitaire Mobile HD is a different spin on the usual solitaire game for the iOS, but is it worth your hard earned money especially for $6.99? Read on to find out.

By: Timothy A Meierl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl May 30, 2012 lViews: 187

Many video games today features a number of secrets hidden within them, but they are usually just a source of short amusement from the developer to the player rather than essential bits of

By: Jay D Parkerl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl April 16, 2012 lViews: 143

If one were to ask anybody who has spent time playing games for more than a few years, chances are rather high that they will know the name Dig Dug. After all, it was the name of a classic game that

By: Jay D Parkerl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl March 03, 2012 lViews: 122

Japanese developers have certainly had innovative ideas when it comes to creating likeable characters that go on to form long-running, popular series of video games. For example, the Mario and Zelda

By: Jay D Parkerl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl March 03, 2012 lViews: 166

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus