Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Dig Dug II Game Review

March 03, 2012 | Comments: 0 | Views: 121

If one were to ask anybody who has spent time playing games for more than a few years, chances are rather high that they will know the name Dig Dug. After all, it was the name of a classic game that nearly all seasoned gamers have struggled against in their time at some point. Like any other video game that has seen such popularity, the developer chose to make a sequel, which was also met with a decent amount of success. In fact, if it were not for hits such as Dig Dug and Dig Dug II, then Namco would not be around today to publish other greats like Dark Souls and Katamari.


Much like the original game, the purpose of Dig Dug II is to defeat all of the enemies in the level. Touching either of the two types of enemies will cause the player to lose a life. The round, orange Pookas pose no immediate threat, merely requiring they touch the player to defeat him, but the dragon Fygars can breathe fire that will also damage and defeat the player on contact.

Unlike the original game, Dig Dig II does not take place underground where the character Taizo Hori must dig to get around. Instead, it takes place above ground in an overhead view, on an island with the water exposed on all sides.


Taizo retains his pump that, like the original game, inflates the enemies on the screen, causing them to explode and defeating them. In order to keep true to the name of the title, Taizo is given a jackhammer that he can use to dig faults in the island in which the enemies can fall and get stuck, making them prime bait for inflation and defeating.

The player must be careful where he digs, however. If the player uses the jackhammer to create a fault on one end of the island and connects a path from that path to another fault in another end of the island, the ocean will fill the path and drown everybody in its path, including Taizo.

Even though Dig Dug II received only modest success in comparison to its successor, Bandai still elected to bring it out on the NES, where it also received modest success. Due to its localization, there is no major advantage to purchasing the Famicom version, although collectors will want to add this title to their growing collection.

Click here if you are into Japanese video games. has Nintendo Famicom and Super Famicom consoles and games that are cleaned, tested and ready to play. We take pride in offering the best retro gaming gear from Japan. We stand behind our games and consoles and offer a high level of customer service. Please stop by We'd love to see you there!

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Dig Dug Ii Game Review

Guild Wars 2 will be the followup around the popular video game which will be just as created by ArenaNet. Guild Battles a couple of was at credited training course introduced about September 20 or

By: John l Gaming > Online Gaming l November 06, 2012 lViews: 409

When I was young my parents died at the hands of miserable thieves. I really suffered for a long time. The I decided to train myself and become stronger. I live in the mountains because I don't trust

By: archaznable l Gaming > Computer Games l November 04, 2012 lViews: 270

Taken ideas from the famous tale about Little Mermaid which is told for kids, Fairy under Sea is one of the most interesting dress-up games with taking pretty mermaid living under the ocean as the

By: Julia733 l Gaming > Online Gaming l October 25, 2012 lViews: 284

Do you find that you do not have enough time in the day to get everything done? Do you want to exercise but simply can't find the time to go to the gym? If the answer is yes then you may want to

By: Simona Rusnakova l Gaming > Console Games l July 19, 2012 lViews: 246

A quick guide to all of the editions available for the upcoming Assassin's Creed 3 game from Ubisoft. This article details the Freedom Edition, Join or Die Edition and the Limited Edition for EMEA

By: Darragh Verschoyle l Gaming > Console Games l July 17, 2012 lViews: 261

How many times have you had to stop playing games on your PS3 because it shut down (accompanied by a blinking red light)? This happens very often on old 60s consoles and means that you can't play

By: Rizvana Abdul l Gaming > Console Games l July 10, 2012 lViews: 253

Through our detailed review of hundreds of games for the iPad and iPhone we have identified 3 games which we feel are the top paid games for the iPad and iPhone. Infinity Blade 2 - Continues to Slash

By: Jason Rudderl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 06, 2012 lViews: 192

Dynasty Warriors has always been a series near and dear to my heart. I've read through the book it's based on at least twice a year since I was in the fourth grade [Seriously, I recommend Three

By: Christien K Munnerlynl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 04, 2012 lViews: 182

For some reason, I thought Dragon's Dogma was going to go under the majority of the gaming community's collective radar. It had an underwhelming demo that didn't do the game justice or properly

By: Christien K Munnerlynl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 04, 2012 lViews: 288

Out of all the great games I play each and every year, it seems there is one title per year that I can't seem to put down until it gets naturally lost in the shuffle of other games, and gradually

By: Stephen T Maxwelll Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 02, 2012 lViews: 187

Dungeon raid Dungeon raid. The title brings to mind a RPG where you are battling to defeat the big bad guy with a group of your friends.

By: Timothy A Meierl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl June 01, 2012 lViews: 213

Faerie Solitaire Mobile HD is a different spin on the usual solitaire game for the iOS, but is it worth your hard earned money especially for $6.99? Read on to find out.

By: Timothy A Meierl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl May 30, 2012 lViews: 187

All video games released today have their own roots that have greatly attributed to its production over the years. This also includes every beat 'em up video game that is released in modern times,

By: Jay D Parkerl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl April 16, 2012 lViews: 179

Many video games today features a number of secrets hidden within them, but they are usually just a source of short amusement from the developer to the player rather than essential bits of

By: Jay D Parkerl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl April 16, 2012 lViews: 143

Japanese developers have certainly had innovative ideas when it comes to creating likeable characters that go on to form long-running, popular series of video games. For example, the Mario and Zelda

By: Jay D Parkerl Gaming > Video Game Reviewsl March 03, 2012 lViews: 166

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus