Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Under the Knife by Diane Fanning - A True Crime Book Review

April 09, 2009 | Comments: 0 | Views: 207

Dean Faiello had built a thriving beauty business. He was handsome, charming, and a fixture on the New York City club scene, but money was never enough for Dean Faiello. So he decided to work as a cosmetic surgeon, even though he had no medical degree, or any training for that matter. In the spring of 2003, a beautiful, successful woman named Maria Cruz went to Doctor Faiello for a relatively simple cosmetic procedure and died while under his care. Faiello allegedly buried her corpse beneath a concrete slab at his Newark, New Jersey home and then went on the run.

This is about Dean Faiello who pretended to be a doctor and performed laser surgery. One of his patients, Maria Cruz, had an adverse reaction to an anaesthetic he used and because Dean Faiello was already under investigation for performing medical duties without a medical license, he decided not to take her to hospital and she died instead. This is especially tragic as her reaction to the drug could have been treated easily if Dean had been a doctor.

The story outlines Dean Faiello's life as a gay, charming and handsome man and his relationships throughout his life until he was extradited from Costa Rica to stand trial in the USA for the murder of Maria Cruz.

I can usually work out how good a book is by how long I take to read it. If a book is really good I take half a day to finish it. Some books I do not even finish but I must say with true crime books this rarely happens. This book took me 3 days. I think it is well written. This is also the first book that I read that is written by Diane Fanning. I saw her website and promptly ordered 6 of her books. I personally prefer female authors so I decided to check out her style of writing. Not bad. I will read a few more of her books before I make my final decision.

The book goes into the history of Dean Faiello by delving into his early childhood up until the time of the murder. Diane Fanning provides insight into all of his relationships including his adult relationships in order to provide the reader with an idea of the kind of man that Dean Faiello was and succeeds in doing this very well. The book is easy reading and flows effortlessly. I was especially interested in the fact that he had an absent father as I analyze these true crime stories endlessly. I believe that this fact was a major contributor to his later criminal behavior.

If you enjoy reading true crime stories the web is an excellent spot to get up to date.

For more information on true crime stories and the books written about these true crime stories come browse though

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

True Crime Stories


True Crime Books


True Crime Book Reviews


Diane Fanning


Under The Knife

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 311

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

You must have landed on this page in search for truth. Yes, body armour may be a common term but somewhere between the lines you really are not sure what it is, where to find them and how it

By: Henry N.l Book Reviews > True Crimel April 11, 2012 lViews: 181

AUSCHWITZ The Nazis & The Final Solution: Book Review - Professor Sir Ian Kershew said of 'Auschwitz - The Nazis and the Final Solution' "Laurence Rees has cast new light on how Auschwitz was created

By: Mike C Smithl Book Reviews > True Crimel February 27, 2012 lViews: 189

Authors Kathy Kelly and Diana Montane give readers a true crime drama in I WOULD FIND A GIRL WALKING. Just prior to the technological age that would change the way law enforcement would handle

By: Karen Haneyl Book Reviews > True Crimel April 06, 2011 lViews: 165

Born in New Orleans, the author in his younger days lives mainly with elderly relatives in the South and he recalls his boredom and the loneliness he experiences in his "Other Voices, Other Rooms".

By: Genny Rassendrenl Book Reviews > True Crimel February 09, 2011 lViews: 168

The Gangs of New York by Herbery Asbury, written in 1928, is a great read for those who love to read stories about crime and criminals that took place in New York City, dating back to the early

By: Joseph Brunol Book Reviews > True Crimel January 01, 2011 lViews: 211

"Gangsters, Murderers and Weirdos of the Lower East Side," by Eric Ferrara is a grand tour of the Lower East Side of Manhattan, starting with the chapter, "Worth Street to Canal Street" and ending

By: Joseph Brunol Book Reviews > True Crimel November 21, 2010 lViews: 145

True crime books are all true stories of actual crimes. Some of the crimes are either highly publicized as in the case of Caysee Anthony and some of the crimes are only publicized via books. These

By: Yvette A Kellyl Book Reviews > True Crimel April 23, 2009 lViews: 168

Married for eight years, the Smiths seemed the perfect couple.On September 28, 1994, in Portage, Michigan, Candace Smith was told by her father Russ that her mother had run away with another man. But

By: Yvette A Kellyl Book Reviews > True Crimel March 16, 2009 lViews: 100

On a beautiful street in Sacramento County, California, three healthy saplings stand side by side. The man who planted these trees did so in honor of three innocent people who were murdered, a mother

By: Yvette A Kellyl Book Reviews > True Crimel March 16, 2009 lViews: 106

This book has ten true crime stories included. Kiss Me, Kill Me is the longest story with 128 pages and is about a young pregnant mother who gets killed in her home. The other stories "The Postman

By: Yvette A Kellyl Book Reviews > True Crimel March 16, 2009 lViews: 114

Diane Downs brought her car to a stop in front of a Springfield, Oregon, hospital,with her three gravely wounded children beside her. This book is about the shocking tale of a truly unthinkable crime

By: Yvette A Kellyl Book Reviews > True Crimel March 16, 2009 lViews: 100

Ann Rule is a writer of true crime books.She wrote the book entitled "Stranger Beside Me" which is about Ted Bundy the serial killer who was also a friend of hers and a colleague who had worked

By: Yvette A Kellyl Book Reviews > True Crimel March 10, 2009 lViews: 111

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus