Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

True Crime Book Review

June 02, 2010 | Comments: 0 | Views: 124

When we read articles and book reviews of true crime, for some reason we are intrigued. We want to take a gander, a look into the criminal mind, perhaps because it is so different than our own, or maybe it's that dark side we are afraid to explore and yet, we have the curiosity to just take a quick glance. Of course, as soon as we do we want more information. What is it about serial killers, gangs, hit men, and the crime and murders they do that interest us?

Whether it is a classic crime story or a semi-fictional account of terrorists plotting and planning we find that these stories, movies, books, and tales sell. People are interested in them, but not me, not in the least, or so I thought, that was until a friend recommended one too me, after I started reading, I couldn't stop, I wanted too, but also wanted to know what happened next and what clues led to the unraveling of who done it, and why. I'd like to return the favor to you, and recommend this book, which is published and relates to true crime - the name of the book is;

"Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil," by John Berendt, published by Vintage Press a Random House Brand, New York, NY, (1994), pp 488, ISBN: 0-679-42922-0.

In the Author's notes at the end of the book the author takes no hesitation in announcing that all of the characters in the book are real, that the story is true, the places, people, all of it. He has used pseudonyms for some character merely to protect their privacy. The inner voices, and some of the side events which helped develop the characters for the reader to better understand are fictional, but all based on truth, and information from the research.

The book is spooky, makes you think, and realize the darkness in the hearts of men, perhaps a wake-up call, perhaps entertainment for the reader, but we must all realize the world in which we live, and live life for all its worth with folks like that running around out there, because you never know, do you? This book was a National Best Seller for many weeks in a row, and for good reason. I consider this a classic, both prior to reading it and after I was finished, I know why. I highly recommend that you read this book, and then re-recommend it to a friend as I have done here today.

Lance Winslow is a retired Founder of a Nationwide Franchise Chain, and now runs the Online Think Tank. Lance Winslow believes it's hard to write 20,000 articles;

Note: All of Lance Winslow's articles are written by him, not by Automated Software, any Computer Program, or Artificially Intelligent Software. None of his articles are outsourced, PLR Content or written by ghost writers.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

True Crime


True Crime Book


Crime Book Review


Crime Book


Book Review


Classic Crime


Book Reviews

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 285

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 309

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 546

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

You must have landed on this page in search for truth. Yes, body armour may be a common term but somewhere between the lines you really are not sure what it is, where to find them and how it

By: Henry N.l Book Reviews > True Crimel April 11, 2012 lViews: 180

AUSCHWITZ The Nazis & The Final Solution: Book Review - Professor Sir Ian Kershew said of 'Auschwitz - The Nazis and the Final Solution' "Laurence Rees has cast new light on how Auschwitz was created

By: Mike C Smithl Book Reviews > True Crimel February 27, 2012 lViews: 188

Authors Kathy Kelly and Diana Montane give readers a true crime drama in I WOULD FIND A GIRL WALKING. Just prior to the technological age that would change the way law enforcement would handle

By: Karen Haneyl Book Reviews > True Crimel April 06, 2011 lViews: 164

Born in New Orleans, the author in his younger days lives mainly with elderly relatives in the South and he recalls his boredom and the loneliness he experiences in his "Other Voices, Other Rooms".

By: Genny Rassendrenl Book Reviews > True Crimel February 09, 2011 lViews: 167

The Gangs of New York by Herbery Asbury, written in 1928, is a great read for those who love to read stories about crime and criminals that took place in New York City, dating back to the early

By: Joseph Brunol Book Reviews > True Crimel January 01, 2011 lViews: 210

"Gangsters, Murderers and Weirdos of the Lower East Side," by Eric Ferrara is a grand tour of the Lower East Side of Manhattan, starting with the chapter, "Worth Street to Canal Street" and ending

By: Joseph Brunol Book Reviews > True Crimel November 21, 2010 lViews: 144

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 301

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 495

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 238

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 217

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 433

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus