Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Small Sacrifices by Ann Rule - A True Crime Book Review

March 16, 2009 | Comments: 0 | Views: 99

Diane Downs brought her car to a stop in front of a Springfield, Oregon, hospital,with her three gravely wounded children beside her. This book is about the shocking tale of a truly unthinkable crime that being of a mother who tried to murder her own children and succeeded in killing one child and leaving two of the children paralyzed.

Ann Rule is brilliant and her books are brilliant. I do not even bother to read what a book is about when I see it is a new release by Ann Rule. I just buy it and I know I will love it.And so far I have not been proven wrong.

This book,Small Sacrifices,will break your heart. I could not stop crying. This book has a special place in my heart. I think this is the only way that I can feel that I am doing my small part in keeping these precious children safe seeing as their own mother was a miserable attention seeker totally oblivious of her children's love, instead seeking the love of any man, especially men who did not want her. To get to her age and still not realise the fulfilment of a child's love is pathetic at best.

The first chapter begins with the mother driving to the hospital and reporting her children have been shot. It evolves effortlessly from this to the background of the mother, her early life and her life experiences until the day she appears in hospital with her children shot. Then there is the court case which has drama of its own as this mother continues to live a drama filled life even through this period to the point of being pregnant again when she gets sent to jail. (And then a lesbian affair)You will find it very difficult to put this book down and will try and complete it in one session which is virtually impossible as it is a very thick book. Every page is filled with information and there is very little filler "description of the day" passages. Spell binding,gripping and edge of your seat kind of book.

I had and still have no sympathy for this woman despite her being abused as a child and so forth. This act is unforgivable and nothing will change my opinion. I do not believe in putting any man before my children. There is a part in the book where she says to whatever man? (In surprise) that she thinks she might love her children more than him. That should have raised some red flags.

Basically if you are a mother or parent this book will leave you flabbergasted and emotionally spent.Do not read this book unless you are in the correct state of mind to deal with the many emotions which will run through as you read this book.

It is a good idea to access the opinions of other readers of true crime stories before finally purchasing a book online.

For more information on true crime books, reviews on these books, a wish list and a swop corner for readers of true crime stories come browse though

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

True Crime Stories


True Crime Books


True Crime Book Reviews

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

You must have landed on this page in search for truth. Yes, body armour may be a common term but somewhere between the lines you really are not sure what it is, where to find them and how it

By: Henry N.l Book Reviews > True Crimel April 11, 2012 lViews: 181

AUSCHWITZ The Nazis & The Final Solution: Book Review - Professor Sir Ian Kershew said of 'Auschwitz - The Nazis and the Final Solution' "Laurence Rees has cast new light on how Auschwitz was created

By: Mike C Smithl Book Reviews > True Crimel February 27, 2012 lViews: 189

Authors Kathy Kelly and Diana Montane give readers a true crime drama in I WOULD FIND A GIRL WALKING. Just prior to the technological age that would change the way law enforcement would handle

By: Karen Haneyl Book Reviews > True Crimel April 06, 2011 lViews: 165

Born in New Orleans, the author in his younger days lives mainly with elderly relatives in the South and he recalls his boredom and the loneliness he experiences in his "Other Voices, Other Rooms".

By: Genny Rassendrenl Book Reviews > True Crimel February 09, 2011 lViews: 168

The Gangs of New York by Herbery Asbury, written in 1928, is a great read for those who love to read stories about crime and criminals that took place in New York City, dating back to the early

By: Joseph Brunol Book Reviews > True Crimel January 01, 2011 lViews: 211

"Gangsters, Murderers and Weirdos of the Lower East Side," by Eric Ferrara is a grand tour of the Lower East Side of Manhattan, starting with the chapter, "Worth Street to Canal Street" and ending

By: Joseph Brunol Book Reviews > True Crimel November 21, 2010 lViews: 145

True crime books are all true stories of actual crimes. Some of the crimes are either highly publicized as in the case of Caysee Anthony and some of the crimes are only publicized via books. These

By: Yvette A Kellyl Book Reviews > True Crimel April 23, 2009 lViews: 168

Dean Faiello had built a thriving beauty business. He was handsome, charming, and a fixture on the New York City club scene, but money was never enough for Dean Faiello. So he decided to work as a

By: Yvette A Kellyl Book Reviews > True Crimel April 09, 2009 lViews: 207

Married for eight years, the Smiths seemed the perfect couple.On September 28, 1994, in Portage, Michigan, Candace Smith was told by her father Russ that her mother had run away with another man. But

By: Yvette A Kellyl Book Reviews > True Crimel March 16, 2009 lViews: 100

On a beautiful street in Sacramento County, California, three healthy saplings stand side by side. The man who planted these trees did so in honor of three innocent people who were murdered, a mother

By: Yvette A Kellyl Book Reviews > True Crimel March 16, 2009 lViews: 106

This book has ten true crime stories included. Kiss Me, Kill Me is the longest story with 128 pages and is about a young pregnant mother who gets killed in her home. The other stories "The Postman

By: Yvette A Kellyl Book Reviews > True Crimel March 16, 2009 lViews: 114

Ann Rule is a writer of true crime books.She wrote the book entitled "Stranger Beside Me" which is about Ted Bundy the serial killer who was also a friend of hers and a colleague who had worked

By: Yvette A Kellyl Book Reviews > True Crimel March 10, 2009 lViews: 111

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus