Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Murder So Cold by Patricia Springer - True Crime Book Review

March 16, 2009 | Comments: 0 | Views: 100

Married for eight years,the Smiths seemed the perfect couple. On September 28,1994,in Portage,Michigan,Candace Smith was told by her father Russ that her mother had run away with another man.But he never explained to the young seven year old child why the bathroom upstairs was a wreck and why there was blood in the sink. They then drove miles out of state to her grandparent's house with a barrel loaded into the back of a pickup truck.

I saw this original story on the Crime & Investigation channel and wanted to know more and so I ordered the book online. I was right in that there was so much more information in the book which obviously they could not all fit onto a half an hour show. I am amazed at how this man got away with murder for so long. In fact he was only caught by a cold case squad a few years later. The original investigators seemed to be incompetent in that they dismissed the case as a woman who had run away from home despite relatives and friends assurances that she would never have left her child. It seems that if you murder someone and hide the body well enough (and this man travelled miles with the body) the chances are very good that you might get away with murder. This murderer was blatant in his actions even remodelling his bathroom. The amazing thing is you could think that maybe this was so long ago that the investigators were perhaps not so well trained that they did not know how to conduct an investigation but this case was as recent as 1994.

The entire time I read this book I had a constant feeling of disbelief that this man was not getting caught so I can well imagine the reactions of the people close to the victim. They had to live the nightmare and incompetence in the investigation of this case. I was also constantly worrying about the child still with this unstable father.

The book reads well but was a bit of a disappointment as I had watched the tv program before so I knew about the main twists and turns. Paricia Springer does however fill up the spaces in between with pertinent information and a few surprises here and there. I would recommend this book if you are passionate about true crime books and especially if you have never seen the tv program before.

I suggest accessing other reviews from readers of true crime stories before making an online book purchase.

For more information on true crime books, reviews on these books, a wish list and a swop corner for readers of true crime stories come browse though

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

True Crime Stories


True Crime Books


True Crime Book Reviews

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 311

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

You must have landed on this page in search for truth. Yes, body armour may be a common term but somewhere between the lines you really are not sure what it is, where to find them and how it

By: Henry N.l Book Reviews > True Crimel April 11, 2012 lViews: 181

AUSCHWITZ The Nazis & The Final Solution: Book Review - Professor Sir Ian Kershew said of 'Auschwitz - The Nazis and the Final Solution' "Laurence Rees has cast new light on how Auschwitz was created

By: Mike C Smithl Book Reviews > True Crimel February 27, 2012 lViews: 189

Authors Kathy Kelly and Diana Montane give readers a true crime drama in I WOULD FIND A GIRL WALKING. Just prior to the technological age that would change the way law enforcement would handle

By: Karen Haneyl Book Reviews > True Crimel April 06, 2011 lViews: 165

Born in New Orleans, the author in his younger days lives mainly with elderly relatives in the South and he recalls his boredom and the loneliness he experiences in his "Other Voices, Other Rooms".

By: Genny Rassendrenl Book Reviews > True Crimel February 09, 2011 lViews: 168

The Gangs of New York by Herbery Asbury, written in 1928, is a great read for those who love to read stories about crime and criminals that took place in New York City, dating back to the early

By: Joseph Brunol Book Reviews > True Crimel January 01, 2011 lViews: 211

"Gangsters, Murderers and Weirdos of the Lower East Side," by Eric Ferrara is a grand tour of the Lower East Side of Manhattan, starting with the chapter, "Worth Street to Canal Street" and ending

By: Joseph Brunol Book Reviews > True Crimel November 21, 2010 lViews: 145

True crime books are all true stories of actual crimes. Some of the crimes are either highly publicized as in the case of Caysee Anthony and some of the crimes are only publicized via books. These

By: Yvette A Kellyl Book Reviews > True Crimel April 23, 2009 lViews: 168

Dean Faiello had built a thriving beauty business. He was handsome, charming, and a fixture on the New York City club scene, but money was never enough for Dean Faiello. So he decided to work as a

By: Yvette A Kellyl Book Reviews > True Crimel April 09, 2009 lViews: 208

On a beautiful street in Sacramento County, California, three healthy saplings stand side by side. The man who planted these trees did so in honor of three innocent people who were murdered, a mother

By: Yvette A Kellyl Book Reviews > True Crimel March 16, 2009 lViews: 106

This book has ten true crime stories included. Kiss Me, Kill Me is the longest story with 128 pages and is about a young pregnant mother who gets killed in her home. The other stories "The Postman

By: Yvette A Kellyl Book Reviews > True Crimel March 16, 2009 lViews: 114

Diane Downs brought her car to a stop in front of a Springfield, Oregon, hospital,with her three gravely wounded children beside her. This book is about the shocking tale of a truly unthinkable crime

By: Yvette A Kellyl Book Reviews > True Crimel March 16, 2009 lViews: 100

Ann Rule is a writer of true crime books.She wrote the book entitled "Stranger Beside Me" which is about Ted Bundy the serial killer who was also a friend of hers and a colleague who had worked

By: Yvette A Kellyl Book Reviews > True Crimel March 10, 2009 lViews: 111

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus