Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

"Gangsters, Murderers and Weirdos of the Lower East Side," by Eric Ferrara - Book Review

November 21, 2010 | Comments: 0 | Views: 144

"Gangsters, Murderers and Weirdos of the Lower East Side," by Eric Ferrara is a grand tour of the Lower East Side of Manhattan, starting with the chapter, "Worth Street to Canal Street" and ending with "East Houston to 14th Street."

Ferrrera takes you on a block-by-block tour of the Lower East Side, with the exact addresses of where some truly horrible things happened to some mostly despicable people. He starts off in the time period where the first street gang in New York City, a bunch of head-cracking Irishmen deftly named the Dead Rabbits, controlled the slummed streets of the Five Points Area right before the Civil War. The Five Points area was populated with people so poor and filthy, the city had to come in frequently to disinfect the streets and buildings with intense chemicals.

We also meet such surly individuals like Chinese Tong Leader Mock Duck, who terrorized Chinatown at the turn of the Century. Then there's the unforgettable three Morrelo brother, Joe, Nick, and Antonio, who along with relatives Ciro Terranova and Ignazio Saietta (Lupo the Wolf), started the Black Hand Society, which extorted money from fellow Sicilians, under the threat of death, a punishment they frequently meted out.

If corrupt politicians are your favorite thugs, Fatty Walsh and Big Tim Sullivan, along with the indomitable Boss Tweed are featured here too, with the exact locations where they perpetrated their evil-doings, all in the name of the law.

Superstar gang leaders Charles "Lucky" Luciano, and his pal Meyer "The Little Man" Lansky are all Lower East Side boys too, along with Lansky's muscle, Benjamin "Bugsy" Siegel. Lansky and Luciano first met in as school students, when Luciano's racket at the time was extorting pennies from skinny Jewish boys at a Lower East Side school, in return for him not beating them into a pulp. One day, Luciano picked on Lansky, and Lansky fought back tooth and nail, starting a lifetime friendship, also seeped in violence.

The bottom line is that "Gangsters, Murderers and Weirdos of the Lower East Side" is a fast read with the who, what, when, where and how of murders and thuggery in the Lower East Side, from right before the Civil War, up to the end of the 20th Century. This book is not for the faint of heart, but if you'd like a peek at the underbelly of the Lower East Side of Manhattan, you can't do better than reading this interesting, but sometimes alarming book.

You can view my Author website with all my fiction and non fiction writings at: http://www.Josephbrunowriter.com.

In addition to links to my three Blogs, Joe Bruno on the Mob, Joe Bruno on Boxing, and Nobody Asked Me But... there are links to my articles on EzineArticles and Scribd.com. There are also links to purchase my new novel, Find Big Fat Fanny Fast at Amazon.com, Scribd.com and Smashwords.com,

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

 
0
 
0
 
Rate this Article
 vote(s)
Feedback
Print
Re-Publish

Article Tags:

Lower East Side

,

Ferrara

,

Dead Rabbitts

,

Lucky Luciano

,

Meyer Lansky

,

Bugsy Siegel

,

Boss Tweed

,

Mock Duck

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

You must have landed on this page in search for truth. Yes, body armour may be a common term but somewhere between the lines you really are not sure what it is, where to find them and how it

By: Henry N.l Book Reviews > True Crimel April 11, 2012 lViews: 181

AUSCHWITZ The Nazis & The Final Solution: Book Review - Professor Sir Ian Kershew said of 'Auschwitz - The Nazis and the Final Solution' "Laurence Rees has cast new light on how Auschwitz was created

By: Mike C Smithl Book Reviews > True Crimel February 27, 2012 lViews: 188

Authors Kathy Kelly and Diana Montane give readers a true crime drama in I WOULD FIND A GIRL WALKING. Just prior to the technological age that would change the way law enforcement would handle

By: Karen Haneyl Book Reviews > True Crimel April 06, 2011 lViews: 164

Born in New Orleans, the author in his younger days lives mainly with elderly relatives in the South and he recalls his boredom and the loneliness he experiences in his "Other Voices, Other Rooms".

By: Genny Rassendrenl Book Reviews > True Crimel February 09, 2011 lViews: 167

The Gangs of New York by Herbery Asbury, written in 1928, is a great read for those who love to read stories about crime and criminals that took place in New York City, dating back to the early

By: Joseph Brunol Book Reviews > True Crimel January 01, 2011 lViews: 211

"Miles Away...Worlds Apart" isn't a book that slides easily into any one genre. Instead, Alan Sakowitz has penned a book that, in one part, is comprised of inspirational essays in the vein of the

By: Jen Mariel Book Reviews > True Crimel October 30, 2010 lViews: 131

After watching the HBO program "Boardwalk Empire Season One" on Netflix (4 disks - 12 episodes), I decided to purchase the book "Boardwalk Empire," written by Nelson Johnson, on which the HBO program

By: Joseph Brunol Book Reviews > Non Fictionl June 26, 2012 lViews: 316

They came from the mobbed-up city of Corleone, Sicily, but they perpetrated their murder and mayhem in the mean streets of New York City. The co-leader of the Black Hand was a monstrosity of a man

By: Joseph Brunol News & Society > Crimel April 16, 2012 lViews: 270

The Gangs of New York by Herbery Asbury, written in 1928, is a great read for those who love to read stories about crime and criminals that took place in New York City, dating back to the early

By: Joseph Brunol Book Reviews > True Crimel January 01, 2011 lViews: 211

When I first came across the title of this book on Amazon.com, I knew I just had to buy it. The reason? Because I grew up in Little Italy too, and lived in the "neighborhood" for 48 years, before I

By: Joseph Brunol Book Reviews > Lifestylel December 30, 2010 lViews: 249

This book is a #1 New York Times Best Seller for a reason. I've read several of the previous books by Bill O'Reilly including: The No Spin Zone, Who's Looking Out For You, The O'Reilly Factor For

By: Joseph Brunol Book Reviews > Politicsl October 13, 2010 lViews: 202