Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Young Athletes Track and Field - Book Review

February 11, 2011 | Comments: 0 | Views: 102

Back in my younger days I ran track and field - starting at age 10. It was really interesting to me that I had a knack for long-distance running, and I had more endurance than the other kids; not to mention about twice as much energy. I was a little shorter than the other kids. I also had a more slender build and boy can I run. Luckily, I had a couple of coaches which took a liking to me, and helped bring me up to competitive standards.

Not long after, I entered the Junior Olympics, and I was the best runner for my age group for running the mile in the state of California. And there are a lot of great runners in California. Later I competed with athletes from all over the country, and some from other countries. I ended up posting four years with no defeats.

If you would like your son or daughter to be a track and field champion with the hopes of putting them in position for a track scholarship, or eventually setting them up as an Olympic contender there is a book that I think you should read. This is a book that I do own, and have read myself. I wish I would have read it back when I was younger, but I did not read it until I was well into my 30s. The name of the book is;

"Track and Field for Young Champions" by Robert J. Antonacci and Gene Schoor, McGraw Hill Book Company, New York, NY, (1974), 185 pages, ISBN: 0-07-002136-8.

Both of these authors are college coaches, or they were when the book was written back in 1974. Both have also done extensive research in the field of preparing athletes for peak performance. In this book you will learn what track and field is all about, and the origins of some of the events. You will also learn how to create maximum efficiency for speed and endurance, as well as how to create a relay team which can compete with precision.

There is also a section on hurdles, high jump, long jump, and all the throwing events. There is a section specifically for younger female athletes who are going through growth periods, which is quite interesting. There is a chapter on mental preparation, personal records, and also on long-distance training.

The authors explains how everyone can enjoy track and field and how it can become a family sport. The health benefits are immense. I think Michelle Obama would be smart to read this book, as she works on her child obesity challenge, as it is one of her major focuses to make our country better and stronger. Please consider all this.

Lance Winslow is an Online Author, his latest eBook about Boat Detailing is now available in the "Lance Winslow Small Business Series" titled; "How to Start a Boat Cleaning Business" (a Nook Book available at the Barnes and Noble Website). Lance Winslow is semi-retired and Founder of the Online Think Tank - You may contact Lance Winslow by email for dialogue, discourse, discussion, or debate on interesting topics.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Young Athletes Track And Field


Book Review


Mcgraw Hill Book


Young Athletes


Young Athletes Track

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

I got the chance to get an early copy of the book Stillpower: Excellence with Ease in Sports and Life by Garret Kramer, and I have to say that I enjoyed it. It was not my favorite book, but I think

By: Juan Leerl Book Reviews > Sports Literaturel June 06, 2012 lViews: 151

The full body, functional strength training that Paul Wade lays out is very beneficial to athletic performance in general, and certainly for martial arts. I especially recommend his books to everyone

By: Owen Johnstonl Book Reviews > Sports Literaturel April 22, 2012 lViews: 216

A Team For America is a fantastic look at the football rivalry between our two major military academies, Army and Navy. Author Randy Roberts examines the rivalry and how one of its games helped a

By: Rick Bouchl Book Reviews > Sports Literaturel April 03, 2012 lViews: 172

Author Jeanne Hess has researched the original meanings of words used in sports in an attempt to change the attitudes and behavior of fans, players, coaches, officials and parents. This book will

By: Emory Danielsl Book Reviews > Sports Literaturel March 08, 2012 lViews: 138

I take a look at the book by Australian author Nicholas H.W. Henning. It's a story of an Australian ballplayer named Damian who travels to the US to try his hand at making the majors. You ride along

By: Eric Bynuml Book Reviews > Sports Literaturel March 05, 2012 lViews: 148

This book gives good picture demonstrations and details of making your fairway shots like a pro. It is guaranteed to improve your game by at least 7 strokes within two weeks. They also have an eBook

By: Joel Wray Brownl Book Reviews > Sports Literaturel February 01, 2012 lViews: 173

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 218

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 433

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus