Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Are You Looking to Take Up Cycling? Book Review

November 13, 2011 | Comments: 0 | Views: 179

As a younger man, I had ridden my 10 speed, actually a donated 10 speed for the cause, from Oregon to Mexico. Trust me when I tell you this, there's a lot more to riding a bicycle long distances then you may have imagined. Far too many people jump onto a high-performance bicycle and get themselves hurt when they didn't have to. Okay so, let's talk about this for a second shall we, because I think I have the solution for you.

If you are planning on doing something like this, or perhaps just getting into cycling to stay in shape, enjoy the great or outdoors in a very rewarding sport then there is a very good book that I would recommend that you read. This is indeed a book that I do own in my own personal library, and it has helped me get back into shape, and prepare myself for my next major endeavor; riding across the United States. The name of the book is;

"Complete Book of Road Cycling Skills - Your Guide to Writing Faster, Stronger, Longer, and Safer," A Bicycling Magazine Book, by Ed Pavelka and The Editors of Bicycling Magazine, published by Rodale Books, Emmaus, PA, (1998), 231 pages, ISBN: 0-87596-486-9.

This book takes you from the basics and essential skills to more important aspects such as keeping yourself safe in traffic. There is a very good chapter on evasive maneuvers, how to fall correctly when, and if, you are hit by a car. There is a saying in motorcycling, and that also goes for biking; "there are those that have, and those that will," in other words, there are those who have gotten into a bicycle accident, and those who will the future, and those are the only two types of cyclists.

Part four is very interesting, as it explains the importance of rhythm, pedal power, and the secrets to going long distances without burning out of energy. It explains issues on staying mentally tough, and preventing yourself from bonking, or running out of energy, like hitting the wall in a marathon. If you plan on riding all year around or through various types of terrain and weather, then part five is extremely important, especially for those that go on century rides, those rides over 100 miles in a single sitting.

Health and diet are also discussed in part six and seven, along with what to do when you have a sore rear end, sore muscles, or are worried about your knees or other joints. There is talk about proper posture, and the difference between men and women in ergonomics. Whether you are just planning on riding for your own personal health benefits, or entering contests and races, this book is a must-have, that I guarantee. Indeed I hope you will please consider all this and think on.

Lance Winslow has launched a new provocative series of eBooks on Future Concepts. Lance Winslow is a retired Founder of a Nationwide Franchise Chain, and now runs the Online Think Tank;

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Looking To Take Up Cycling


Book Review


Long Distances


Cycling Skills


Road Cycling Skills



Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 311

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

I got the chance to get an early copy of the book Stillpower: Excellence with Ease in Sports and Life by Garret Kramer, and I have to say that I enjoyed it. It was not my favorite book, but I think

By: Juan Leerl Book Reviews > Sports Literaturel June 06, 2012 lViews: 152

The full body, functional strength training that Paul Wade lays out is very beneficial to athletic performance in general, and certainly for martial arts. I especially recommend his books to everyone

By: Owen Johnstonl Book Reviews > Sports Literaturel April 22, 2012 lViews: 216

A Team For America is a fantastic look at the football rivalry between our two major military academies, Army and Navy. Author Randy Roberts examines the rivalry and how one of its games helped a

By: Rick Bouchl Book Reviews > Sports Literaturel April 03, 2012 lViews: 172

Author Jeanne Hess has researched the original meanings of words used in sports in an attempt to change the attitudes and behavior of fans, players, coaches, officials and parents. This book will

By: Emory Danielsl Book Reviews > Sports Literaturel March 08, 2012 lViews: 139

I take a look at the book by Australian author Nicholas H.W. Henning. It's a story of an Australian ballplayer named Damian who travels to the US to try his hand at making the majors. You ride along

By: Eric Bynuml Book Reviews > Sports Literaturel March 05, 2012 lViews: 148

This book gives good picture demonstrations and details of making your fairway shots like a pro. It is guaranteed to improve your game by at least 7 strokes within two weeks. They also have an eBook

By: Joel Wray Brownl Book Reviews > Sports Literaturel February 01, 2012 lViews: 174

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 218

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 434

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313