Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

The Drawing of The Three: A Book Review, Part 2

March 10, 2012 | Comments: 0 | Views: 155

In the beginning of 'The Drawing of The Three,' the second novel in 'The Gunslinger' series by Stephen King, the gunslinger, Roland, finds himself struggling to stay alive. He has opened a door from his world, which is parallel to Earth. This door leads into the mind and life of a desperate man named Eddie, who is on a jet with cocaine taped on his chest.

Roland is able to bring Eddie into his world. Eddie goes into the latrine and hurriedly rips the bags of cocaine off and hides them in Roland's world. Meanwhile airline employees pound on the door to try to get him out of the latrine. They know if he's carrying drugs there's no way he can get rid of them in that small latrine. But he does.

Eddie, the addict, spends 4 hours detained, but ends up being released by the puzzled drug enforcement agents who just know he was carrying but can't prove it. Unfortunately for Roland, the addict refuses to help him until Roland helps him deliver the cocaine. He does give him a cola drink, which, to Roland's dying body on the other side of the gate seems wonderful.

The reason the addict wants to deliver the cocaine is because his brother is being held by a mobster who will kill him if the cocaine isn't delivered. Roland of Gilead uses this door into the addict's world to keep both of them alive. The addict tells the mobster after they do a body cavity search on him that he can walk right into that bathroom naked and come back out miraculously with the cocaine. They let him go into the bathroom, but when he comes out he doesn't come with the drugs and he doesn't come alone.

The suspense Stephen King generally builds in his books is kept up in 'The Drawing of The Three.' But added to the suspense is an irony that builds and builds. The gunslinger is a lean tough fighter bad to the last stringy muscle. He reaches out to a heroin addict centuries ahead of him in learning and technology. His body craves the sustenance of food and medication. The addict, on the other hand, has all the amenities of our highly developed world. He lacks the one thing Roland of Gilead does not, the instinct to survive. Eddie is killing himself with a substance that controls his very will to live. But in return for saving his life, Roland is willing to teach him the art of gun slinging. He'll give Eddie a sense of purpose. The two will head out in search of the Dark Tower.

Eddie, of course, is only one of the three Roland of Gilead must draw. The next I will discuss in my next article. I think the symbiosis here between Roland and Eddie, gunslinger and heroin addict, is interesting. Both men are involved with some of the most unsavory characters of their world and their time. Of course the mobsters Eddie's carrying the cocaine for on the flight turn out to be soft compared to Roland. They live in a world where they can afford to be slow on the draw. It's easy to order out for fine cuisine, which makes them fat and lazy. In most other circumstances these mobsters would dominate their surroundings. It is entertaining to see how they react to the surprises coming their way. Roland of Gilead is ready to bump heads with any man, magician or beast that comes his way.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

 
0
 
0
 
Rate this Article
 vote(s)
Feedback
Print
Re-Publish

Article Tags:

Book Review

,

Heroin Addict

,

Roland

,

Eddie

,

Between Roland

,

Cocaine

,

Stephen King

,

Gunslinger

,

Eastwood

,

Gun

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 285

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 309

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 546

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

In the world of Sagaria - a place not so different than ours, other than virtually all the animals can talk and have roughly equal status in society - there are adventures to be had...

By: Nicole Sorkinl Book Reviews > SciFi Fantasy Horrorl April 16, 2012 lViews: 172

Traveling can be a tiring activity, whether you're driving across the state or flying halfway around the world. As Lila L. Pinord demonstrates in her novel In Time, flitting across space and time at

By: Nicole Sorkinl Book Reviews > SciFi Fantasy Horrorl March 29, 2012 lViews: 152

This one is the first. It's the first short story about aliens, the first short story questioning the position of humans in the universe relative to extra-terrestrials, and the first to suggest that

By: Rachel A Denneyl Book Reviews > SciFi Fantasy Horrorl March 25, 2012 lViews: 179

Mortus - Book I of the Faenum Quest the adventure begins is a unique epic fantasy with high and dark fantasy elements. Author Dennis K. Hausker is realistic about the flawed and dark nature of

By: S. M. Vernonl Book Reviews > SciFi Fantasy Horrorl March 20, 2012 lViews: 175

Dark Solus's parents where a witch and a demon. After they were brutally murdered by an evil wizard and the heads of several guilds who worked with him, Dark Solus burns with a desire to seek

By: Douglas Cobbl Book Reviews > SciFi Fantasy Horrorl March 11, 2012 lViews: 183

In the second book of Stephen King's 'The Dark Tower' series, Roland of Gilead reaches out to the world of a heroin addict named Eddie Dean for help. He's dying of starvation and infection. Roland,

By: Don V Standefordl Book Reviews > SciFi Fantasy Horrorl March 10, 2012 lViews: 149

In the second book of Stephen King's 'The Dark Tower' series, Roland of Gilead reaches out to the world of a heroin addict named Eddie Dean for help. He's dying of starvation and infection. Roland,

By: Don V Standefordl Book Reviews > SciFi Fantasy Horrorl March 10, 2012 lViews: 149

The second book of Stephen King's 'The Gunslinger' series is called 'The Drawing of The Three.' The book starts out with Roland of Gilead, the last of a long line of gunslingers, practically dead

By: Don V Standefordl Book Reviews > SciFi Fantasy Horrorl March 10, 2012 lViews: 141

'The Drawing of The Three,' which is the second book in The Dark Tower series written by Stephen King, in my opinion is one of King's best books. If you're into science fiction, fantasy, or even

By: Don V Standefordl Book Reviews > SciFi Fantasy Horrorl March 10, 2012 lViews: 138

"Oh I must think. The father gave you, cow, a craftier brain than mine. The wisdom of debate lies in a futile position and the quickest mind, of which I have the mind, but my wisdom full known, I am

By: Don V Standefordl Arts & Entertainment > Poetryl February 14, 2012 lViews: 171

"You would not play with my torture, peel it back with rhetoric and read to me the layers each one as it tears my skin. I know what, cow, is the imagination God has given you. None around respects

By: Don V Standefordl Arts & Entertainment > Poetryl February 14, 2012 lViews: 144

"Unnatural perversions such as the world had never known before. Some of the sheep actually followed him away some were lost, some again found; the farmer had to pay His life's savings for each sheep

By: Don V Standefordl Arts & Entertainment > Poetryl February 14, 2012 lViews: 130

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus