Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Book Review: The Bridges of Madison County by Robert James Waller

January 20, 2012 | Comments: 0 | Views: 203

Before writing this review, I did a bit of browsing of reviews already posted in Goodreads and saw mostly 1 star ratings. I felt quite sad because I really liked the story and how it was written. The prose bears a little semblance to Nicholas Sparks and Nicholas Evans, two authors of some books that I liked, and is probably one of the reasons why it was easy for me to fall in love with the story.

Francesca Johnson is celebrating her sixty-seventh birthday, and just like her previous birthdays, she has reserved the day for ceremonies that consists mainly of reminiscing the events that changed her life twenty-two years ago starting on the day she met photographer Robert Kincaid.

The Bridges of Madison County is a very poignant story of two individuals brought together by time and fate, and how they discovered the power of love and loving. It is also a story about choice and how the choices we make can affect us for the rest of our lives.

I love it that the book doesn't have lots of characters to make me confused. It is a very short and easy read, albeit very emotional and deeply profound. There are many parts in the book that should have been good starting points for discussion. I should have looked for reading buddies before reading the book. Is it possible to love two persons at the same time? When is it right to fight for love and to let go?

***Little spoilers from here on. I can understand the dislike of most of the people towards the book because like them, I also do not tolerate the adultery. In fact, during the first chapters, I already made up my mind to dislike the book. However, when I reached the last few chapters, I became convinced that yes, there is actually something to think about in this book. I cannot count how many times I cried sobbed while reading the later parts of the story. My heart goes out to Robert especially, how he lived his life alone and away from the love of his life, until the day of his death. The last chapter actually did me. I was sobbing loudly while reading and I started having hiccups.

The Bridges of Madison County is a very beautiful love story and I would love to read this again when I am in one of those emotional moods.

4 stars.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Book Review


Robert James Waller


The Bridges Of Madison County

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

A beautiful romance novel that tells how two fell in love over the internet. Did they meet by chance? Would this be an email you would open and agree too? All I can say is let's journey into the

By: Mary Harring-Duhartl Book Reviews > Romancel June 25, 2012 lViews: 164

Fifty Shades of Grey is a smash hit, but is it all hype or is the book worth reading? Although it has the potential to offend and it's not for everyone, I thought it was steamy and appreciated the

By: Sigrid Macdonaldl Book Reviews > Romancel June 17, 2012 lViews: 176

In the book Why Men Marry Bitches, Argov talks about the secrets to getting down the aisle. Along the way, she overturns some common misconceptions and advice that women are often given regarding how

By: Richard Jamesonl Book Reviews > Romancel June 03, 2012 lViews: 192

Where can you go to read a fantastic romantic comedy? I generally read mysteries, science fiction, or fantasy novels, as you can tell from the other reviews I've posted in the past. However, when I

By: Douglas Cobbl Book Reviews > Romancel May 23, 2012 lViews: 181

Stephanie Meyer weaves fantasy, mystery and romance through her epic books - Twilight series. The characters Edward, Bella and Jacob become your constant company even after you have put down the

By: Lavanya Kannanl Book Reviews > Romancel May 22, 2012 lViews: 161

"Unbreak My Heart" is a heartwarming story about second chances. A baby in her arms, all Kate Frost wants to do is avoid the press. She seeks out her childhood friend, Andre Le Court for help. Dare

By: Steph Burkhartl Book Reviews > Romancel May 14, 2012 lViews: 162

How do I begin writing a review of a book that tackles a subject a cannot fully comprehend? Mathematics and physics, anyone? But, I am getting ahead of myself.

By: Lynai Lamasonl Book Reviews > Childrens Booksl January 20, 2012 lViews: 176

I bought The Reunion by Sue Walker one fine, random day at Booksale without having any idea how good (or bad) it is and without any inkling who the author is except that it was only Php20.00 and its

By: Lynai Lamasonl Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillersl January 20, 2012 lViews: 166

John Steinbeck (1902-1968) is one of America's greatest writers and is a Nobel Prize winner for Literature in 1962. I must confess, though, that this is the first time I read a book by him, all

By: Lynai Lamasonl Book Reviews > Literary Classicsl November 16, 2011 lViews: 187

A woman of the nineties. A young pioneer on the Oregon Trail. Though lifetimes apart, they share a remarkable journey. When Sierra discovers her ancestor's handcrafted quilt and reads her journal,

By: Lynai Lamasonl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl July 13, 2011 lViews: 215

This is the first book in a series of 9, and my first time to read a book by the author. At Home in Mitford is a sweet story about a fictional town called Mitford where everybody seems to know

By: Lynai Lamasonl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl May 26, 2011 lViews: 155