Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Restaurant Review of 1951 West in the Green Bay, Wisconsin Area

June 01, 2012 | Comments: 0 | Views: 150

1951 West restaurant was my destination for lunch. It is located on the West side of Green Bay. The restaurant and bar lounge has a nice contemporary upscale decor. The main color theme throughout is black and tan with warm browns mixed in. As you enter, there is a short hallway and directly in front is a massive, beautiful, fresh floral arrangement on a table with the hostess stand behind it. To the right is their nice large cozy bar lounge area and to the left is a large dining area with many booths and tables. The hostess was friendly and brought me to the partial upper level of the restaurant that contained all booths but gives one a more private feel set apart from the slightly lower more open dining area.

My waitress came immediately and was very charming. She brought me a glass of ice water as soon as she greeted me. After some inquires on my part, I learned that their menu was revamped just last week. Since I have last dined there, a few years back, they have acquired a different Chef. He joined 1951 over a year ago. They have a nice assorted selection on their lunch menu and I noticed they still kept a few old-time favorite entrees. I decided on one of their new items; the Grilled Muffaletta Panini for $8.99. You have a choice of French fries, soup, or fruit salad as a side. I chose the cup of soup which was creamy potato and to drink I ordered a glass of fresh brewed ice tea for $1.25. The booths and tables were set with black linen table cloths with silverware. After taking my order she quickly brought me my ice tea, which was served in a tall glass with just enough ice.

My tea had a nice rich dark color, not watered down and the tea had a nice rich flavor. My server asked if I would like my soup served first or with my sandwich and I said I would prefer it first. She soon brought out my soup with a packet of saltine crackers on the side. My potato soup was luscious. It was made in house, not the frozen soups you so often receive. The soup was very smooth, thick and creamy with added bits of smoked ham and potato pieces. The smoked ham gave the soup a very savory flavor but not overly salty. My sandwich came soon after. It was a nice sized sandwich filled with a generous amount of ingredients. My Panini was nicely pressed on a rustic ciabatta bread with olive oil, then stuffed with 4 slices of cappiola ham, 2 slices of salami, 2 slices of pepperoni, 2 slices of mozzarella cheese and spread with a sun dried tomato aioli olive salad. My Panini tasted delicious; it was warm, nicely melted with a salty, mildly spicy added touch to it. 1951 West also has a large separate dining room on the other side of the building where they cater to large parties, weddings and various conferences.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

 
0
 
0
 
Rate this Article
 vote(s)
Feedback
Print
Re-Publish

Article Tags:

Restaurant Review

,

Green Bay

,

1951 West Restaurant Review

Summer is a great time for crock pot recipes. It may be hot and humid outside, but you still need to make dinner for you and your family. You can’t barbecue every day. The weather won’t let you.

By: Reggie Bean l Food and Drink > Crockpot Recipes l October 25, 2012 lViews: 222

My favorite meal of the day has always been breakfast. Nothing beats the cooking odors emanating from the kitchen in the morning. Fresh brewed coffee and sizzling bacon are two of the most

By: Reggie Bean l Food and Drink > Recipes l October 25, 2012 lViews: 269

My first bratwurst was grilled and on a bun. That’s all it took to supplant polish sausage as my new number one. Luckily I’m part German, so there is no Polish guilt. I now try to incorporate

By: Reggie Bean l Food and Drink > Recipes l October 25, 2012 lViews: 342

Football season is upon us once again. Whether you are a fan or a disgruntled spouse, there is no reason you can't have an enjoyable day stuffing your face. Walk away from the processed frozen

By: Reggie Bean l Food and Drink > Recipes l October 25, 2012 lViews: 446

Crock pot recipes are perfect for football Sunday. When you wake up in the morning, just set up the crock pot with your favorite appetizer, barbecue or Sunday dinner and it will be ready to eat

By: Reggie Bean l Food and Drink > Crockpot Recipes l October 25, 2012 lViews: 220

Navy beans (as in most other beans) are high in dietary fiber which means it will help you feel full faster because they are so high in fiber. They are high in folate, magnesium, thiamin, iron, and

By: Jaya Patel l Food and Drink > Soups l July 13, 2012 lViews: 244

"Red says city", as New York Times says. Red Restaurant is a smallish ground floor building, with a surprisingly old-school European style door and two low windows adorned with red geraniums, at 47

By: Andrea A Rosianl Food and Drink > Restaurant Reviewsl July 01, 2012 lViews: 225

Personally, finding the right restaurant to eat in (except using a 2-4-1 voucher for the local Italian) is a hard task in Brighton. I am quite particular when it comes to spending my money on

By: Francesca Coppolal Food and Drink > Restaurant Reviewsl June 28, 2012 lViews: 181

Brooklyn chef Neal Harden has a passion for raw, plant-based cuisine that's all natural and he brings that passion to his head chef position at Maimonides of Brooklyn (also known as M.O.B.).

By: Johanne Thomasl Food and Drink > Restaurant Reviewsl June 27, 2012 lViews: 159

Hagemeister Park is a the newest restaurant to open in Downtown, Green Bay, WI. Read all about the decor, food and service.

By: Patricia Summerfieldl Food and Drink > Restaurant Reviewsl June 25, 2012 lViews: 182

The summer months in Green Bay, Wisconsin bring on the outdoor patios. Check out Ogan Restaurant's beautiful outdoor patio. Read the latest bar review on their drinks, service and atmosphere.

By: Elysia Diazl Food and Drink > Restaurant Reviewsl June 25, 2012 lViews: 165

One of Brooklyn's most fun, inviting restaurants in Brooklyn for fusion food; Chance is the star of Smith Street. Boasting a dark glass entryway surrounded by tall dark windows, the entrance leads to

By: Johanne Thomasl Food and Drink > Restaurant Reviewsl June 22, 2012 lViews: 185

Hagemeister Park is a the newest restaurant to open in Downtown, Green Bay, WI. Read all about the decor, food and service.

By: Patricia Summerfieldl Food and Drink > Restaurant Reviewsl June 25, 2012 lViews: 182

Restaurant review of St. Brendan's in Green Bay, Wisconsin. Find out all the details on this fantastic Irish restaurant.

By: Patricia Summerfieldl Food and Drink > Restaurant Reviewsl April 03, 2012 lViews: 102

Nakashima of Japan is Green Bay's hibachi and sushi restaurant in the Ashwaubenon area. Read about the details of this great restaurant.

By: Patricia Summerfieldl Food and Drink > Restaurant Reviewsl February 14, 2012 lViews: 164

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus