Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

When Physics and Space Collide with Math - It's About Time, for a Book Review

April 18, 2011 | Comments: 0 | Views: 149

Physics is one of the most fascinating subjects and yet so few people have really ever considered it all. That's too bad, because if we are beings who value knowledge, then we are mostly missing out. But it does not have to be that way, as there are all sorts of wonderful books, and documentaries available.

For instance, there is one book which is really worth reading if you can spare a month to absorb it all. It is a book I own, and one which I have read many chapters in. It's a great reference book on the topic too. The name of the book is;

"The World Treasury of Physics, Astronomy, and Mathematics" edited by Timothy Harris, published by Little, Brown and Company, New York, NY, (1989), 859 pages, ISBN: 0-318-07136-6.

In this comprehensive work you will learn all about time and space. Information on thermodynamics, mass, gravity, relativity, black holes, and our basic understanding of it all, but remember this book was published in 1989, so quite a bit has happened since then. The first chapter is one of the best, and it discusses atoms and quarks, electron position prediction, and basic quantum theory, which we seem to know a lot more about today. There are essays on unified theories, uncertainty principles, and Albert Einstein's most famous equation; E=MC squared.

Well, that's the first section, and in the second section are chapters on our Sun, the structure of our universe, and how it all began, and how we expect it to one day end, well after we're gone. There are chapters by Stephen Hawking, Richard Muller, Carl Sagan, and so many other notables. All about comets, supernovas, and our galaxy, and for all of you religious types out there, they didn't forget you and in the spirit of inclusion, there is a sub-chapter on "biblical creationism" too.

The third and forth sections have chapters on the Mathematics of the Cosmos, and dealing with extremely large numbers, artificial intelligence, and the math of the unknown, and the limitations of known math in this realm, at least now. The forth section is about the men, and scientists behind the theories we are using now, and how they came to be, along with a chapter titled; "The Women in Science" - again in the spirit of inclusion and kudos for their achievements.

The book is really great in that there are many poems of science listed along with the "Philosophy of Science" as well. This book will open your mind to a whole new dimension of learning and intrigue of our universe. Perhaps, that's its main focus, to get the reader interested in the sciences and physics of all that is, all that is known, and all that has yet to be discovered. Indeed, I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves physics and science.

Lance Winslow is the Founder of the Online Think Tank, a diverse group of achievers, experts, innovators, entrepreneurs, thinkers, futurists, academics, dreamers, leaders, and general all around brilliant minds. Lance Winslow hopes you've enjoyed today's discussion and topic. - Have an important subject to discuss, contact Lance Winslow.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Physics And Space




About Time


Book Review


Documentaries Available


Reference Book


Think Tank

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 311

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

There is more to light that meets the eye, but it is exactly that which meets the eye which intrigues us the most. Welcome to the science of holography, spectral imaging, and holographic projection.

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl May 10, 2011 lViews: 166

Bragg describes a Universe entirely consisted of atoms, in both gaseous and compound state, and where: combination takes place, and something in the atom itself maintains it when conditions are

By: Bennie N Winterl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 166

When the question arose as how best to celebrate Einstein's centenary, the author answered: "Let's make relativity plain." Forthwith, the celebrated author responded to write Einstein's Universe --

By: Bennie N Winterl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 166

Plasma has been called magic, it's been called the fourth state of matter, well, come to think of it, it's been called a lot of things hasn't it. As our scientists progress and as humans travel to

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 156

Have you ever wondered how the great researchers, explorers, and scientists achieved all they had in the past? Perhaps, a glimpse into the more recent past period and present period would suffice.

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 12, 2011 lViews: 175

Understanding space time physics isn't easy, but understanding the basic theories that scientists now believe paint the most realistic picture isn't that hard to comprehend. It just takes the

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 12, 2011 lViews: 151

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 218

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 434

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313