Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

The Robotic Age of Yesterday and Today - Book Review

February 11, 2011 | Comments: 0 | Views: 131

Today, we talk about our robotic world as if it is a given, but it didn't happen all by itself. There has been a steady, and recently in ever increasing growth in the science of robotics. Mechanized Machinery is nothing new, it's been going on for as long as mankind started building sophisticated tools. Today, with the advent of the silicon chip, and the future of computing robotics can do much more than they ever could before.

Artificial intelligence has also increase the capabilities, along with extremely sophisticated sensors. Before retirement I was in the car wash business, and the amount of robotics used in such a simple industry like that is intense. And yes, it has obviously revolutionized the sector. Of course when it comes to automobiles everything these days about the manufacturing of cars is robotic. From the assembly line mechanism which moves the car to the robots which put them together.

Yes, this has been good news, and bad news. It has improved the productivity of manufacturing to an unbelievable and completely unattainable point, which would have been impossible without the robotics. It has also caused much angst with labor unions, where robotics are pit against human beings in manufacturing jobs.

There is a very good book which I think you should read, it was written back in the early 1980s, but it goes to show you that are robotic age has been going on quite a while, and the future looks brighter than ever. The name of the book is;

"Robotics Past, Present, Future" by David C. Knight, William Morrow and Company Publishers, New York, NY, (1983), 122 pages, ISBN: 0-688-01490-9.

The author this book is quite an interesting fellow he is studying engineering in Paris, New York, and Philadelphia he has written many books on extremely interesting scientific topics such as the biology of viruses, ultra-sonics, and sound, and galactic formations. He is no stranger when it comes to science.

This book takes you through the various definitions of; "what is a robot?" It also takes you through some of the science fiction stories and the origins and history of robotics. The most fascinating section talks about all the robotics in various industries, along with the future robotics which will be used in the home and office. And I'd like to remind the reader that this was written in the early 1980s. There is also a section on robots in space, and their use or potential future use in medicine.

Not long ago, I had the pleasure of tutoring a robotic system called "The Da Vinci" which was used in telerobotic medical operations. It is amazing that back in the 1980s the folks had conceived of this potential eventuality which is now here today. Indeed I hope you will please consider this and perhaps purchase this book.

Lance Winslow is an Online Author, his latest eBook about Boat Detailing is now available in the "Lance Winslow Small Business Series" titled; "How to Start a Boat Cleaning Business" (a Nook Book available at the Barnes and Noble Website). Lance Winslow is semi-retired and Founder of the Online Think Tank - You may contact Lance Winslow by email for dialogue, discourse, discussion, or debate on interesting topics.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

The Robotic Age


Yesterday And Today


Book Review


Robotic World


Future Robotics


Early 1980s


Think Tank

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 311

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

There is more to light that meets the eye, but it is exactly that which meets the eye which intrigues us the most. Welcome to the science of holography, spectral imaging, and holographic projection.

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl May 10, 2011 lViews: 166

Bragg describes a Universe entirely consisted of atoms, in both gaseous and compound state, and where: combination takes place, and something in the atom itself maintains it when conditions are

By: Bennie N Winterl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 166

When the question arose as how best to celebrate Einstein's centenary, the author answered: "Let's make relativity plain." Forthwith, the celebrated author responded to write Einstein's Universe --

By: Bennie N Winterl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 166

Physics is one of the most fascinating subjects and yet so few people have really ever considered it all. That's too bad, because if we are beings who value knowledge, then we are mostly missing out.

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 150

Plasma has been called magic, it's been called the fourth state of matter, well, come to think of it, it's been called a lot of things hasn't it. As our scientists progress and as humans travel to

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 156

Have you ever wondered how the great researchers, explorers, and scientists achieved all they had in the past? Perhaps, a glimpse into the more recent past period and present period would suffice.

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 12, 2011 lViews: 176

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 219

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 434

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus