Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Space, Time, Physics, and Possibilities - A Book Review

April 12, 2011 | Comments: 0 | Views: 150

Understanding spacetime physics isn't easy, but understanding the basic theories that scientists now believe paint the most realistic picture isn't that hard to comprehend. It just takes the curiosity and the patience to focus, open your mind, and consider. But first you are going to need a good book, one which is illustrated. Also a physics reference book which can walk you through all of Einstein's theories along with others who have added new concepts to the sciences of space/time physics.

Luckily, I own such a book, one which was published in 1966. You may think that is too old, and that we've learned a lot since then. And yes, yes we have, but the fundamentals are relatively the same, especially when it comes to "relativity" or the theory of. Now then, the book I'd like to recommend to you is:

"Spacetime Physics" by Edwin F. Taylor and John Archibald Wheeler, W.H. Freeman Company Publishers, San Francisco, CA, (1966), 208 pages, Library of Congress Card Catalogue Number 65-13566.

Both of the authors are/were physicists, one from MIT, and the other from Princeton. The book starts out with a discussion on the geometry of spacetime, and all the theories, rules, principles, and unknowns which go along with that. Then it gets right into momentum and energy; how they relate to mass, and the expanding universe - and there is a rare find - an absolutely fascinating dialogue on the concept of mass, light, and the arguments of spacetime physics, at least at the time in 1966. Some of which has been resolved but not all the points of view are agreed upon - humans still have more to learn.

If you've been stuck on anything with relation to Einstein's theories or are hung up on curved spacetime, gravity warping, or the differences in force, mass, or the principles of relativity - you will be quite pleased to have most all of your questions answered. Those which cannot be answered or at least could not be answered back in 1966 are not there, but you will have a great understanding up until that point, and be able to ask the right questions to continue your personal research online.

My favorite points in the book were the reasoning of the various paradoxes of time, space, energy, motion, light, and so on. It's just a really fun place to think, and this book will take your mind around the universe and back, as well as through time and back again, and thus, I come to you with this excellent book recommendation. So, please consider all this and think on it.

Lance Winslow is the Founder of the Online Think Tank, a diverse group of achievers, experts, innovators, entrepreneurs, thinkers, futurists, academics, dreamers, leaders, and general all around brilliant minds. Lance Winslow hopes you've enjoyed today's discussion and topic. - Have an important subject to discuss, contact Lance Winslow.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:









Book Review


Understanding Space Time


Space Time Physics


Think Tank

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 309

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 546

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

There is more to light that meets the eye, but it is exactly that which meets the eye which intrigues us the most. Welcome to the science of holography, spectral imaging, and holographic projection.

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl May 10, 2011 lViews: 165

Bragg describes a Universe entirely consisted of atoms, in both gaseous and compound state, and where: combination takes place, and something in the atom itself maintains it when conditions are

By: Bennie N Winterl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 165

When the question arose as how best to celebrate Einstein's centenary, the author answered: "Let's make relativity plain." Forthwith, the celebrated author responded to write Einstein's Universe --

By: Bennie N Winterl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 165

Physics is one of the most fascinating subjects and yet so few people have really ever considered it all. That's too bad, because if we are beings who value knowledge, then we are mostly missing out.

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 149

Plasma has been called magic, it's been called the fourth state of matter, well, come to think of it, it's been called a lot of things hasn't it. As our scientists progress and as humans travel to

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 156

Have you ever wondered how the great researchers, explorers, and scientists achieved all they had in the past? Perhaps, a glimpse into the more recent past period and present period would suffice.

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 12, 2011 lViews: 175

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 218

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 433

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313