Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Physics Book Review - Learn More About Light and Holography

May 10, 2011 | Comments: 0 | Views: 165

There is more to light that meets the eye, but it is exactly that which meets the eye which intrigues us the most. Welcome to the science of holography, spectral imaging, and holographic projection. If this topic and subject interests you as much as it does me, then I'd like to recommend an extremely informational book on the topic. The title of the book is:

"Principles of Holography" by Howard W. Smith, published by Wiley- Interscience, New York, NY, 1969, 239 pages, Library of Congress Number: 69-16129, SBN: 471-08340-2.

The author of this book was a senior research assist at the research laboratories for Eastman Kodak Company in Rochester New York, and his R & D department were on the leading edge of this technology back then. As you know the Eastman Kodak company was quite serious about innovation and they had put forth billions of dollars to hold their market share back in the day. At the time this book was written, it was probably one of the most comprehensive books on the topic of holography.

Today, of course there is so much more to know, but many of the basics are here, and this is a good book to start if you wish to learn about this topic. If you want to learn about the history of holography it's all here also. Likewise, all the mathematics that go along with holographic image projection and holography is here also. The book describes the basic arrangements for holography including plane holograms and volume holograms, along with the general theory for each.

There are lots of mathematical equations for the projection of light, Temporal Filters, linear motion, and oscillatory object motion imaging. You will learn about how to illuminate with the beam, and what happens when you adjust the bandwidth, or the recording medium. There is also an analysis of third order aberrations, and the book even gets into Lasers.

Indeed, I've read quite a number books on holography, and I've even written a book on the topic titled "Holographic Projection Technologies of the Future - Killer Applications" and so I know a thing or two about the topic. I can tell you this is probably one of the best books ever written on the subject, and to think that it was written in 1969 just completely blows me away. I therefore recommended it to anyone who is serious about the research in spectral imaging or holographic technology.

Everyone should be interested in this topic because within the next five years your iPad, iPhone, smart phone, or tablet computer will allow videoconferencing by way of holograms. That technology will soon be here, and many of the world's largest companies are right now bringing that technology to the forefront. They are designing chips which will allow this type of communication, and the equipment to run it. Indeed I hope you will please consider all this and take it seriously. If you have any comments, concerns, and/or questions or case studies please shoot me an e-mail as soon as possible.

Lance Winslow is the Founder of the Online Think Tank, a diverse group of achievers, experts, innovators, entrepreneurs, thinkers, futurists, academics, dreamers, leaders, and general all around brilliant minds. Lance Winslow hopes you've enjoyed today's discussion and topic. - Have an important subject to discuss, contact Lance Winslow.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Physics Book Review


Learn More About Light And Holography


Holographic Projection


Spectral Imaging

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 309

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

Bragg describes a Universe entirely consisted of atoms, in both gaseous and compound state, and where: combination takes place, and something in the atom itself maintains it when conditions are

By: Bennie N Winterl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 165

When the question arose as how best to celebrate Einstein's centenary, the author answered: "Let's make relativity plain." Forthwith, the celebrated author responded to write Einstein's Universe --

By: Bennie N Winterl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 165

Physics is one of the most fascinating subjects and yet so few people have really ever considered it all. That's too bad, because if we are beings who value knowledge, then we are mostly missing out.

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 149

Plasma has been called magic, it's been called the fourth state of matter, well, come to think of it, it's been called a lot of things hasn't it. As our scientists progress and as humans travel to

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 156

Have you ever wondered how the great researchers, explorers, and scientists achieved all they had in the past? Perhaps, a glimpse into the more recent past period and present period would suffice.

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 12, 2011 lViews: 175

Understanding space time physics isn't easy, but understanding the basic theories that scientists now believe paint the most realistic picture isn't that hard to comprehend. It just takes the

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 12, 2011 lViews: 151

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 218

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 433

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313