Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Innovating for Our Alternative Energy Future - Book Review

February 11, 2011 | Comments: 0 | Views: 113

Indeed, as the coordinator for a think tank I always like to discuss alternative energy solutions with the our various members. You see, I am a free-market capitalist and I am looking for the most efficient alternative energy innovations and inventions to power up our new future. And, as I say that, I am also one with a very skeptical eye to some of the new concepts and ideas which have been put forth, and some which have been handsomely funded, but will never be able to make the grade and/or compete for return on investment in the marketplace.

There is a great book that I would recommend that you read, and the book was published back in 1992, but it gives you a very good idea of where we have been, and perhaps where we are going and how we got to this point. The name of the book is;

"Experimenting with Energy Conservation" (a venture book) by Robert Gardner, Franklin Watts Publishers, New York, NY, (1992), 128 pages, ISBN: 0-531-12538-6.

The author Robert Gardner was a physical science, physics, chemistry, and biology teacher in Connecticut. And he is very well known in the library books sector, "as the master of this science experiment books." Have you ever wondered why restaurants serve ice that has holes in the center? Did you know it's all about the conservation of energy? Have you ever considered how much energy it takes to increase the temperature inside your home just 1-degree?

If you can wrap your mind around such things, then perhaps you can understand why energy is so important in the world today, and why we are beholden to the laws of physics each time we devise a new method to convert, or generate electricity, or energy. Since efficiency is the key, conservation is also extremely important. Consider the conversion rates of solar cells and how important that is to our alternative energy future and you will begin to see why you need to read this book.

Now then, if you understand the foundations and the principles behind the conservation of energy and the physical confines that we are trapped within this particular place and time, then, and only then can we move into the future and come up with the proper inventions and innovations to take us into the 21st century. You can read this book in one sitting, 3-4 hours.

Indeed I hope you will please consider all this, and perhaps consider reading up on the conservation of energy, and consider some of the many experiments you can do to help educate yourself and your children. Please think on it.

Lance Winslow is the Founder of the Online Think Tank, a diverse group of achievers, experts, innovators, entrepreneurs, thinkers, futurists, academics, dreamers, leaders, and general all around brilliant minds. Lance Winslow hopes you've enjoyed today's discussion and topic. - Have an important subject to discuss, contact Lance Winslow.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Innovating For Our Alternative Energy Future


Book Review


Alternative Energy Solutions


Think Tank

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

There is more to light that meets the eye, but it is exactly that which meets the eye which intrigues us the most. Welcome to the science of holography, spectral imaging, and holographic projection.

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl May 10, 2011 lViews: 166

Bragg describes a Universe entirely consisted of atoms, in both gaseous and compound state, and where: combination takes place, and something in the atom itself maintains it when conditions are

By: Bennie N Winterl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 165

When the question arose as how best to celebrate Einstein's centenary, the author answered: "Let's make relativity plain." Forthwith, the celebrated author responded to write Einstein's Universe --

By: Bennie N Winterl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 165

Physics is one of the most fascinating subjects and yet so few people have really ever considered it all. That's too bad, because if we are beings who value knowledge, then we are mostly missing out.

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 149

Plasma has been called magic, it's been called the fourth state of matter, well, come to think of it, it's been called a lot of things hasn't it. As our scientists progress and as humans travel to

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 156

Have you ever wondered how the great researchers, explorers, and scientists achieved all they had in the past? Perhaps, a glimpse into the more recent past period and present period would suffice.

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 12, 2011 lViews: 175

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 218

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 433

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus