Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Does it Really Matter What the Fifth State Is? - Book Review

April 18, 2011 | Comments: 0 | Views: 155

Plasma has been called magic, it's been called the fourth state of matter, well, come to think of it, it's been called a lot of things hasn't it. As our scientists progress and as humans travel to destination locations off planet, the study of plasma will continue to be an important part of the understanding we'll need. Consider if you will the importance Plasma Physics and this Forth State of Matter, and why our future scientist will need to be well-versed in the subject.

WikiPedia explains plasma in this way; "In physics and chemistry, plasma is a state of matter similar to gas in which a certain portion of the particles are ionized. The basic premise is that heating a gas dissociates its molecular bonds, rendering it into its constituent atoms. Further heating leads to inonization (a loss or gain of electrons), turning it into a plasma: containing charged particles, positive ions and negative electrons," and I'd say that sums it up very nicely.

But that's not the half of it, because consider all the potential applications and uses, not only for space flight, propulsion, power generation, etc, and so on, but also to our understanding of matter in general, along with the universe we reside. If this topic interests you as much as it blows my mind, perhaps, I'd like to recommend a very good book to you. One I own and totally believe is the "best" book on the topic, I've ever seen. The name of the book is:

"Principles of Plasma Physics for Engineers and Scientists" by Umran S. Inan (Stanford University) and Marek Golkowski (University of Colorado, Denver), Cambridge Press, (2011), 284 pages, ISBN: 978-0-521-19372-6.

Yes, this book is fairly expensive, and probably not for the average Joe with curiosity of such things, the book I have here is a hard bound work and it cost $100. Still, it's well worth it. The book describes Single Particle Motions, Kinetic Theory of Plasmas, Multiple Fluid Theory, Collisions and Plasma Conductivity Introduction of Waves into Plasma, and Plasma Diffusion amongst many other things, especially interesting to me was all the information behind the effects of ionization, waves, magnetization, and temperature on Plasma.

The appendix is excellent and that alone is worth the price as a solid reference to have around. If someone was teaching a class on plasma physics, this might be the best textbook around, not to mention a perfect reference book to have handy, which is what I use it for. Indeed, if you are an engineer, scientist, grad student, researcher, or want to be, then you need this book too. Please consider all this and think on it.

Lance Winslow is the Founder of the Online Think Tank, a diverse group of achievers, experts, innovators, entrepreneurs, thinkers, futurists, academics, dreamers, leaders, and general all around brilliant minds. Lance Winslow hopes you've enjoyed today's discussion and topic. - Have an important subject to discuss, contact Lance Winslow.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:



Fourth State


Book Review


Plasma Physics


Importance Plasma Physics


Good Book


Think Tank

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 285

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 309

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 546

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

There is more to light that meets the eye, but it is exactly that which meets the eye which intrigues us the most. Welcome to the science of holography, spectral imaging, and holographic projection.

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl May 10, 2011 lViews: 165

Bragg describes a Universe entirely consisted of atoms, in both gaseous and compound state, and where: combination takes place, and something in the atom itself maintains it when conditions are

By: Bennie N Winterl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 165

When the question arose as how best to celebrate Einstein's centenary, the author answered: "Let's make relativity plain." Forthwith, the celebrated author responded to write Einstein's Universe --

By: Bennie N Winterl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 165

Physics is one of the most fascinating subjects and yet so few people have really ever considered it all. That's too bad, because if we are beings who value knowledge, then we are mostly missing out.

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 149

Have you ever wondered how the great researchers, explorers, and scientists achieved all they had in the past? Perhaps, a glimpse into the more recent past period and present period would suffice.

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 12, 2011 lViews: 175

Understanding space time physics isn't easy, but understanding the basic theories that scientists now believe paint the most realistic picture isn't that hard to comprehend. It just takes the

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 12, 2011 lViews: 150

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 301

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 495

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 217

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 433

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313