Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

At First It Is Considered Magic - Physics On The Fringe Of Innovation - A Book Review

April 12, 2011 | Comments: 0 | Views: 175

Have you ever wondered how the great researchers, explorers, and scientists achieved all they had in the past? Perhaps, a glimpse into the more recent past period and present period would suffice. How would you like to go to the edge of the Earth in search of discovery? Well, it just so happens I know of a very good book that will indeed take you there. Not just to one location, but to many locations all over the globe where great discoveries were made, discoveries that rocked the scientific community and changed the way we think, challenging past theories and understandings of all that is.

This is a wonderful book, and one I've had the pleasure of reading personally. Today it sits in my personal library alongside so many of the most popular science books of the greatest scientists of our day. Yes, I highly recommend that you read this book as well. The name of the book is:

"The Edge of Physics - A Journey to the Earth's Extremes to Unlock the Secrets of the Universe" by Anil Ananthaswamy, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishers, New York, NY, (2010), 322 pages, ISBN: 978-0-618-88468-1.

In this work the reader will learn of all the stories behind the scenes of some of the greatest scientists of our time, their personalities, idiosyncrasies, and work ethic. This book will inspire any scientist, future scientist, or researcher who is out for adventure to achieve major breakthroughs. Many of the stories are so amazing they are almost unbelievable. In fact, the author has carefully chosen events and tales frozen in time which seem surreal to the rest of us.

There are fascinating stories, such as the search for neutrinos in the deep polar ice, far underground. Imagine working in such a ruthless and cold environment. Well, you will meet and get to know the researchers who are making that happen. There are chapters of the great cosmologists and their telescopes and remote locations as they piece together all they can about our universe. The author takes you to the SETI project in search of extra-terrestrials, and the potential chance of first contact.

There are stories of Einstein visiting such remote locations and the meeting of minds of these great discoverers. You will also get a clear view of the ruthless (at times) competition in the sciences for accolades and Nobel Prizes in physics. This book is well footnoted, with lots of information so the reader can fully comprehend exactly the theories and research the scientists are doing in these remote parts of the globe. I hope you will enjoy this book as much as I do.

Lance Winslow is the Founder of the Online Think Tank, a diverse group of achievers, experts, innovators, entrepreneurs, thinkers, futurists, academics, dreamers, leaders, and general all around brilliant minds. Lance Winslow hopes you've enjoyed today's discussion and topic. - Have an important subject to discuss, contact Lance Winslow.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Considered Magic




Fringe Of Innovation


Book Review


Greatest Scientists


Think Tank


Lance Winsl

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 311

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

There is more to light that meets the eye, but it is exactly that which meets the eye which intrigues us the most. Welcome to the science of holography, spectral imaging, and holographic projection.

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl May 10, 2011 lViews: 166

Bragg describes a Universe entirely consisted of atoms, in both gaseous and compound state, and where: combination takes place, and something in the atom itself maintains it when conditions are

By: Bennie N Winterl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 166

When the question arose as how best to celebrate Einstein's centenary, the author answered: "Let's make relativity plain." Forthwith, the celebrated author responded to write Einstein's Universe --

By: Bennie N Winterl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 166

Physics is one of the most fascinating subjects and yet so few people have really ever considered it all. That's too bad, because if we are beings who value knowledge, then we are mostly missing out.

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 150

Plasma has been called magic, it's been called the fourth state of matter, well, come to think of it, it's been called a lot of things hasn't it. As our scientists progress and as humans travel to

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 18, 2011 lViews: 156

Understanding space time physics isn't easy, but understanding the basic theories that scientists now believe paint the most realistic picture isn't that hard to comprehend. It just takes the

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Physicsl April 12, 2011 lViews: 151

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 218

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 434

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313