Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Book Review: The Tipping Point

April 25, 2012 | Comments: 0 | Views: 274

"It is safe to say that word of mouth is still the most important form of human communication."

-The Tipping Point

For those of us who make our living with our words, communication seems to be changing constantly.Athletic departments and teams are rushing to put up Facebook pages and create Twitter accounts to stay up-to-date.But it turns out that our (verbal) word still trumps all forms of social media...or so Malcolm Gladwell says in his book, The Tipping Point.

The rundown:The Tipping Point is about how epidemics start.He talks about regular old epidemics of sickness, but his major focus is on social epidemics.Like how certain books, cartoons, or clothes become popular.In our youTube world, I suppose we'd say "viral" now to mean social epidemic.For coaches interested in making an idea go viral on their team, this book could be helpful.

He identified three different types of people who are required for ideas to go viral: Connectors, Mavens, and Salesmen.

Connectors are people who operate in many different social circles and have a gift for bringing those folks together in a way that's not awkward.Mavens accumulate and share knowledge...they're information brokers.Salesmen are the folks who persuade us when we are unconvinced of what we're hearing.

Recommended for:Coaches who are interested in how teams work.To me, Connectors, Mavens, and Salesmen are almost like personality types.If we've got what we think is a great idea or we're planning on changing some things around on our team, identifying these key people on our teams will help us get buy in from the rest of the team.Using this information could prove vital in team management.

Not recommended for:Folks who don't want to have to stretch for coaching connections.This isn't a book about coaching or about sports.It's about how to make ideas go viral.If you're looking for quotations to put up in your locker room, then this isn't the book for you.

I enjoyed The Tipping Point, it made me think about my communication with my recruits, my current team, my alumni...everyone.Gladwell is a researcher with a gift of making tedious information more interesting.This isn't my favorite book of his, Outliers was a game changer for me, but I highly recommend this one as we think about how to get our ideas across to others.

Dawn Redd is the Head Volleyball Coach at Beloit College. Come visit Coach Dawn's community of coaching nerds and team leaders over at her blog,, where she teaches how to become an excellent coach, motivate individuals, and build successful teams.

Her book, Coach Dawn's Guide To Motivating Female Athletes, is available for purchase on her website.

Follow Coach Dawn on Twitter: @CoachDawnWrites

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Team Management


Malcolm Gladwell


The Tipping Point


Book Review







Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

In 490 BC, a messenger set out from Marathon, running to Athens with news that the Persians had been defeated whereupon he collapsed; some histories say the messenger may have covered the 26.2 miles

By: Roberto Sedyciasl Book Reviews > Non Fictionl June 28, 2012 lViews: 265

If you look at successful marriages, you probably notice that the couples involved have their own language for success; it may be a look; a touch; a phrase, or something else and it is likely to be

By: Roberto Sedyciasl Book Reviews > Non Fictionl June 28, 2012 lViews: 251

It was near the end of World War II and a mixed group of 24 WACS and soldiers boarded a C-47 - the Army Air Corps workhorse aircraft - for a trip through "Shangri-La" as they would see it from the

By: Roberto Sedyciasl Book Reviews > Non Fictionl June 27, 2012 lViews: 337

As we reach Book Four of Robert Caro's masterful and highly detailed biography of Lyndon B. Johnson, whom some have called the most powerful man ever to occupy the office of Senate majority leader,

By: Roberto Sedyciasl Book Reviews > Non Fictionl June 27, 2012 lViews: 231

After watching the HBO program "Boardwalk Empire Season One" on Netflix (4 disks - 12 episodes), I decided to purchase the book "Boardwalk Empire," written by Nelson Johnson, on which the HBO program

By: Joseph Brunol Book Reviews > Non Fictionl June 26, 2012 lViews: 316

Some years ago, there was a work entitled "Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Repair" and you have to wonder what one has to do with the other and the real answer is nothing, other than the fact that one

By: Roberto Sedyciasl Book Reviews > Non Fictionl June 26, 2012 lViews: 215

Will a player who can jump high and hit hard be more successful than those who are just average? Not necessarily. Coaches have the opportunity and obligation to create an atmosphere that will put our

By: Dawn Reddl Business > Team Buildingl April 20, 2012 lViews: 249

I believe in coaches and I believe in coaching. I believe that we have the power to equip young people with confidence and belief in themselves. Moreover, I believe that my job (and yours too, Coach)

By: Dawn Reddl Self Improvement > Achievementl April 18, 2012 lViews: 158

In his book, 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, Stephen Covey talks about beginning with the end in mind. As coaches of female athletes, what qualities do we want them to have when their time with

By: Dawn Reddl Business > Team Buildingl April 03, 2012 lViews: 219

Fluid intelligence is the type of intelligence we use when we're problem solving. What if we, as coaches, could increase the rate at which our athletes learned...which would then increase their fluid

By: Dawn Reddl Business > Team Buildingl February 28, 2012 lViews: 197

Conflict is a natural outcome of groups and teams, therefore, we've got to know how to manage it. It's uncomfortable and it's awkward, but teaching our players how to manage conflict will give them a

By: Dawn Reddl Business > Team Buildingl February 26, 2012 lViews: 189

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus