Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

The Complaints By Ian Rankin

April 07, 2012 | Comments: 0 | Views: 167

In the United States this department is called I.A. or Internal Affairs. The Complaints Department deals with the force and any suspicions against them. No one in the Police Force particularly likes Complaints. They are seen as snitching and snooping on those who keep the peace. This is Ian Rankin's first story after his enormously successful Detective Rebus' retirement. He wrote those in chronological order and retired him when he would have been of age. So now we meet Malcolm Fox. His job is to investigate fellow officers.

I didn't know how I would feel about a different hero being such a huge Rebus fan, but Fox is quite brill. Obviously intelligent but also up to date on investigating. This story starts with the culmination of a case for Fox. He has finally brought enough evidence against a dirty cop and he is ready for his next assignment. Unfortunately he is sent to vice for a briefing about a cop suspected of using child pornography. As the story evolves we are introduced to Fox's sister who is in an abusive relationship with a man she swears she loves. What a position for a policeman to be in; stand by and watch your sister get beaten up or do something about it. Of course, she won't press charges. To add to Fox's stress level is his father who is living in an old people's home. He is doing well but is not completely aware of his daughter and her lifestyle.

The Complaints Department that Fox works for only has four employees. They keep things pretty tight to their chests and have very few friends throughout the rest of the police force. As is usual for colleagues, they know a lot about each other's lives. Malcolm's work mates are concerned about his sister as well and encourage him to think of how to remedy her situation. The story escalates dramatically when the boyfriend of the sister turns up dead. She is, of course, suspected due to the violence and her sporting a broken arm thanks to the victim. Malcolm is supposed to back off completely and not have anything to do with her case but realistically who can honestly say they will do nothing. To add insult to injury, one of the officers on her case is someone the complaints may be investigating. The plot does get stickier and stickier.

There are many different levels to this story but Rankin never leaves us out in the cold trying to remember which character is which. We meet quite a few nasty bastards and Fox gets into some very scary situations. To be honest I hope they televise these as they have done with Rebus - I think they would be great. You can imagine the Scottish underworld skulking around the back streets of Edinburgh in the wee hours. Anyway enough said - great book!

You can find more of my book and movie reviews at: http://ukchica.com/

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

 
0
 
0
 
Rate this Article
 vote(s)
Feedback
Print
Re-Publish

Article Tags:

The Complaints

,

Ian Rankin

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 285

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 309

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 546

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hiltermanl Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillersl July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

New York Times bestselling author, Linda Castillo, released "Gone Missing" on June 19. It's the fourth in a series featuring former Amish woman Kate Burkholder. Excommunicated from the church, fate

By: Timothy Zaunl Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillersl June 29, 2012 lViews: 333

Only when I had read the whole book and then the slip cover did I realize that these books are collaboration between two men - their surnames being Jefferson and Bass. Not only a clever idea but a

By: Gina Sharpel Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillersl June 26, 2012 lViews: 175

This mystery begins with two victims, young women, who are found murdered in Oslo. They had drowned, in their own blood.

By: Gina Sharpel Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillersl June 26, 2012 lViews: 209

An Unmarked Grave gives the reader everything they could wish for in a book. You have a mystery that is difficult to solve, three-dimensional characters and a plot that will hold your interest

By: Nancy Eatonl Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillersl June 12, 2012 lViews: 149

A mystery-murder-suspense thriller taking place in a small town. Hold on as you read chapter upon chapters of great intense suspense.

By: Mary Harring-Duhartl Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillersl June 08, 2012 lViews: 177

Only when I had read the whole book and then the slip cover did I realize that these books are collaboration between two men - their surnames being Jefferson and Bass. Not only a clever idea but a

By: Gina Sharpel Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillersl June 26, 2012 lViews: 175

This mystery begins with two victims, young women, who are found murdered in Oslo. They had drowned, in their own blood.

By: Gina Sharpel Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillersl June 26, 2012 lViews: 209

As a long time reader of Mr. Archer I was again thrilled with another of his books.

By: Gina Sharpel Book Reviews > Fictionl June 03, 2012 lViews: 222

I am a huge fan of Lawrence Block's Bernie Rhodenbarr mysteries but had never read one of his Matthew Scudder books. I read Ian Rankin's books and follow him on Twitter and he highly recommended this

By: Gina Sharpel Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillersl April 19, 2012 lViews: 168

I do so love a book that weaves history in with a fictional plot. Mr. Kerr is great at doing that. Bernie Gunther is the hero in these books. He was a police officer in Germany pre-World War II and

By: Gina Sharpel Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillersl April 07, 2012 lViews: 136

World War II holds a certain interest for me. I have to wonder if it is because I would be speaking a completely different language and my country would be a little red blip on the world map if

By: Gina Sharpel Book Reviews > Non Fictionl April 04, 2012 lViews: 187

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus