Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Book Review: The Reunion by Sue Walker

January 20, 2012 | Comments: 0 | Views: 165

If you have been reading my posts for quite sometime, you already know that I am a fan of mystery/suspense stories. I love the chest-thumping, heart-stopping, and hand-trembling sensation brought about by suspense stories and I love making who-done-it guesses related to solving the mystery in a particular story. My love for mystery and suspense books started when I was in highschool when Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys became popular readings amongst my friends and classmates.

Suspense and mystery are inherent in most if not all crime stories and it obviously follows that I love crime stories too. Before I learned to love other genres, I thought that crime stories are the only books that I can ever tolerate. It's a good thing I came across Goodreads, and I was able to discover other genres and thus expand my reading preferences.

I bought The Reunion by Sue Walkerone fine, random day at Booksale without having any idea how good (or bad) it is and without any inkling who the author is except that it was only Php20.00 and its blurb seems to be just the kind of book I would like (suspense, check...mystery, check). It has suspense and mystery, all right, but I feel that the resolution towards the end took very long. I believe that for a suspense story to be effective, it must keep up with the pace otherwise it will turn out to be anticlimactic. The Reunion was just like that - anticlimactic. The suspense was so prolonged I finally got bored with it and did not care how the mystery will finally unfold in the end. I still endured it until finish and though there were some unexpected plot twists and surprising revelations, my interest had faded already that I was no longer that shocked nor surprised.

I have not heard about Sue Walker before so I did not have any idea about her writings. I do not have any trouble liking the way she writes except that the repeated flashbacks in the story terribly confused me and therefore added to my growing disinterest. This may be the last time I will ever read a book from Sue Walker, no offense meant. I do not mean to say that I entirely hated the book. It is okay, but entirely forgettable.

The Reunion is a leftover reading from last year and I don't know for how long this book has been sitting in my shelf. It just feels good to finally count this off my TBR list. Now on to other more interesting reads.

2 stars.

http://www.lynaireads.luigiandlynai.net

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

 
0
 
0
 
Rate this Article
 vote(s)
Feedback
Print
Re-Publish

Article Tags:

Sue Walker

,

Book Review

,

Suspense Story

,

Suspense Books

,

The Reunion Book Review

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hiltermanl Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillersl July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

New York Times bestselling author, Linda Castillo, released "Gone Missing" on June 19. It's the fourth in a series featuring former Amish woman Kate Burkholder. Excommunicated from the church, fate

By: Timothy Zaunl Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillersl June 29, 2012 lViews: 334

Only when I had read the whole book and then the slip cover did I realize that these books are collaboration between two men - their surnames being Jefferson and Bass. Not only a clever idea but a

By: Gina Sharpel Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillersl June 26, 2012 lViews: 175

This mystery begins with two victims, young women, who are found murdered in Oslo. They had drowned, in their own blood.

By: Gina Sharpel Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillersl June 26, 2012 lViews: 210

An Unmarked Grave gives the reader everything they could wish for in a book. You have a mystery that is difficult to solve, three-dimensional characters and a plot that will hold your interest

By: Nancy Eatonl Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillersl June 12, 2012 lViews: 150

A mystery-murder-suspense thriller taking place in a small town. Hold on as you read chapter upon chapters of great intense suspense.

By: Mary Harring-Duhartl Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillersl June 08, 2012 lViews: 178

Before writing this review, I did a bit of browsing of reviews already posted in Goodreads and saw mostly 1 star ratings. I felt quite sad because I really liked the story and how it was written. The

By: Lynai Lamasonl Book Reviews > Romancel January 20, 2012 lViews: 203

How do I begin writing a review of a book that tackles a subject a cannot fully comprehend? Mathematics and physics, anyone? But, I am getting ahead of myself.

By: Lynai Lamasonl Book Reviews > Childrens Booksl January 20, 2012 lViews: 176

John Steinbeck (1902-1968) is one of America's greatest writers and is a Nobel Prize winner for Literature in 1962. I must confess, though, that this is the first time I read a book by him, all

By: Lynai Lamasonl Book Reviews > Literary Classicsl November 16, 2011 lViews: 187

A woman of the nineties. A young pioneer on the Oregon Trail. Though lifetimes apart, they share a remarkable journey. When Sierra discovers her ancestor's handcrafted quilt and reads her journal,

By: Lynai Lamasonl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl July 13, 2011 lViews: 215

This is the first book in a series of 9, and my first time to read a book by the author. At Home in Mitford is a sweet story about a fictional town called Mitford where everybody seems to know

By: Lynai Lamasonl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl May 26, 2011 lViews: 155