Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Libya is an Important Country in International Affairs Due to Location - Book Review

February 10, 2011 | Comments: 0 | Views: 165

Libya is a very important country in North Africa, and what happens there does affect the region, much more than you might believe. If you've watched the UN meetings on TV you can immediately see there is a bit of animosity between the Western World and Libya. And at one time, not in the long ago distant past, Libya was practically considered a terrorist state, actually and officially - it was by the US State Department.

In fact, not much credit has been given to the President Bush for his handling of Libya, but they came clean, after they saw President Bush meant business when he went into Iraq. But before you consider all the modern day issues, perhaps you might like to read a little history on this nation-state. Yes, that would be wise. Well, then there is a very good book that I believe you should read, and it is a book I own myself. You can read this in one-day, between your other duties or employment. The name of the book is;

"Libya" (Modern Nations of the World Series) by Debra A. Miller, Lucent Book Publishers, New York, NY, (2005), 112 pages, ISBN: 1-59018-443-2.

The author of this book is a writer and a personal historian, she is also a lawyer. Interestingly enough she has a passion for current political events. This book is very well footnoted, and very much up to date as of its publishing. In the introduction Debra Miller explains that Libya was a former terrorist state, and she also goes into the challenges and hardships of living in desert land. There are many different cultures and Libya, and things have really changed since Qaddafi came into power.

In one chapter she explains the traditional land, and how society and lifestyle has changed over many years. She also explains where Libya is going into the future, and in hindsight she was exactly correct. It is interesting to read this book written in 2005, in 2011, to see how accurate Debra was, therefore much kudos goes to her observations, and knowledge at the time.

The reference section is full of excellent articles, and recommended future reading for the reader. There is also a timeline of chronological events, which puts everything into perspective for you. The book also has lots of great pictures to give you a sense and a feel of what it's like to live amongst the Libyans. And yes there is a section on the 1988 Lockerbie bombing of the 747, one of the worst terrorist aircraft bombings in history. Indeed I hope you will please consider this.

Lance Winslow is a retired Founder of a Nationwide Franchise Chain, and now runs the Online Think Tank - Lance Winslow believes it's hard work to write 22,222 articles;

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Libya Is An Important Country


International Affairs




Book Review


Terrorist State


Think Tank

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

Sometimes change comes when and where you least expect it. Wherever your everyday path leads you is an opportunity to make a difference. We may not have the same experiences that Greg Mortenson did

By: Laura Schroederl Book Reviews > Multiculturall January 05, 2012 lViews: 207

An excellent read about two girls that had been switched at birth. One was Amish and the other a typical American girl who both found out through a letter from a nurse that was getting old and

By: Cy Hiltermanl Book Reviews > Multiculturall November 06, 2011 lViews: 205

Books are the gateway to learning. They let us explore different worlds, people, languages, foods, etc. Sometimes the things we learn from books are obvious, such as reading a recipe for chocolate

By: Amanda G Wolfbauerl Book Reviews > Multiculturall July 06, 2011 lViews: 165

Living is meaningful and beautiful on its own. It doesn't take much to be happy. Good Luck and Best Wishes, an ode to life, is included in the short story collection Street Wizards and Other New

By: Jade Mengl Book Reviews > Multiculturall May 15, 2011 lViews: 169

At home in his topic's habitat, History-Geography Professor and author Dailey makes his home in Bethlehem, Israel; he attempts to correlate modern expectations with his perception of first century

By: Bennie N Winterl Book Reviews > Multiculturall March 14, 2011 lViews: 165

How many times have you gone to a Chinese restaurant and figured out what animal from the Chinese zodiac represented you? You also probably read the description of those of that animal's

By: Alain Burresel Book Reviews > Multiculturall March 13, 2011 lViews: 174

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 218

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 433

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313