Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Learn About Central Asian Republics, Emerging Asian Nations - Book Review

February 10, 2011 | Comments: 0 | Views: 346

One of the most interesting regions of the world is Central Asia. And it is interesting because Americans don't know a whole lot about this area, even though so much early history had been written there. Consider the old silk roads, Genghis Khan, and the rise of the USSR. Remember the Domino effect? So, what are the Central Asian republics? Do you even know, and I bet you can't spell them, but maybe you should learn?

Yes, I'm referring to you Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, and Kyrgyzstan. You may not realize this, but recently a pipeline has been put through many of these countries and now has been completed and goes through the back door to China. And there has been civil unrest, and the overthrow of the government of one of these countries recently. And a couple of them border Afghanistan, which I think we all know little bit more about that we did 10 years ago.

Still, if you'd like to learn more, and I believe you should, then there's a very good book that you should read, it is a book that I own, and I recommend to you. The name of the book is;

"Central Asian Republics" (Nations in Transition Series) by Michael Kort, Facts on File Publishers, New York, NY, (2004), 200 pages, ISBN: 0-8160-5074-0.

Interestingly enough, this book written by Michael Kort and is extremely well written, and it makes sense because the author holds a PhD from Boston University, and he is a historian, and also an author of "The Soviet Colossus: A History of the USSR," and, he is the co-author of "Modernization and Revolution in China," which is also sitting next to my desk to read in the future. If it's anywhere close to as good as this book, I would consider it a must read.

Now then, in this book you will find out what scintillation is, and how it came into existence from ancient times to the 19th century. You will also learn how the Soviets came into control this region, and how they were kicked out reclaims their independence, and now we've become trading partners with their neighbors. Part two of this book is very excellent because it has specific chapters on each individual country, and there is a great chronological table of events.

If you're going to talk about the future of that region, and how things are shaping up with China, Afghanistan, Turkey, and the Soviet Union, and what the United States role is in keeping the peace, then you need to make sure you have your facts straight, and therefore I highly recommend this book. Please consider all this.

Lance Winslow is a retired Founder of a Nationwide Franchise Chain, and now runs the Online Think Tank - Lance Winslow believes it's hard work to write 22,222 articles;

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article
1 vote(s)

Article Tags:

Learn About Central Asian Republics


Emerging Asian Nations


Book Review


Asian Republics


Think Tank

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

Sometimes change comes when and where you least expect it. Wherever your everyday path leads you is an opportunity to make a difference. We may not have the same experiences that Greg Mortenson did

By: Laura Schroederl Book Reviews > Multiculturall January 05, 2012 lViews: 207

An excellent read about two girls that had been switched at birth. One was Amish and the other a typical American girl who both found out through a letter from a nurse that was getting old and

By: Cy Hiltermanl Book Reviews > Multiculturall November 06, 2011 lViews: 206

Books are the gateway to learning. They let us explore different worlds, people, languages, foods, etc. Sometimes the things we learn from books are obvious, such as reading a recipe for chocolate

By: Amanda G Wolfbauerl Book Reviews > Multiculturall July 06, 2011 lViews: 166

Living is meaningful and beautiful on its own. It doesn't take much to be happy. Good Luck and Best Wishes, an ode to life, is included in the short story collection Street Wizards and Other New

By: Jade Mengl Book Reviews > Multiculturall May 15, 2011 lViews: 169

At home in his topic's habitat, History-Geography Professor and author Dailey makes his home in Bethlehem, Israel; he attempts to correlate modern expectations with his perception of first century

By: Bennie N Winterl Book Reviews > Multiculturall March 14, 2011 lViews: 165

How many times have you gone to a Chinese restaurant and figured out what animal from the Chinese zodiac represented you? You also probably read the description of those of that animal's

By: Alain Burresel Book Reviews > Multiculturall March 13, 2011 lViews: 174

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 218

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 434

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313