Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

I Am Doing a Report on Pakistan - I Need Information on Pakistan - Book Review of the Book Pakistan

February 10, 2011 | Comments: 0 | Views: 161

Yes, Pakistan is a very important country, and its location makes it a pivotal focal point for that part of the world. Consider if you will that India has 1.3 billion people and borders Pakistan. Afghanistan where America has spent almost a decade fighting a war also borders Pakistan. And Pakistan is bordered by America's largest trading partner China. And not to be outdone Iran also shares a border with Pakistan, and everyone knows the conflicts and hassle between the United States and Iran.

But that's not all because Pakistan also shares part of its border with the Arabian sea, and this is where all the oil tanker ships, 40% of all the oil which is delivered by sea comes through the Straits of Hormuz moves right into the Arabian sea. And if they were to make a left-hand turn after leaving the Straits of Hormuz they would run right into Pakistan. Obviously Pakistan is a key ally, but there is also a lot of tension due to the cultural differences with the Western world, the Asian world, the Arab world, and the Hindus next-door.

Before you make any un-rational statements about Pakistan, don't you think you should get to know the country better? I believe you should, especially because a lot of US taxpayer dollars goes to aid and funding, specifically and recently after their natural disasters, such as the large earthquake a couple years ago, and the massive torrential flooding which happened in 2010. Therefore, there's a very good book I'd like you to read, it is a book that I own personally, and the name of the book is;

"Pakistan" (World Modern Nations Series) by Samuel Willard Crompton with Editor Charles F. Gritzner, Chelsea House Publishers, Philadelphia, PA, (2003), 112 pages, ISBN: 0-7910-7098-0.

These two authors are absolutely excellent, and Mr. Crompton is the author or editor of over 20 books. It is obvious that he understands the area very well, along with the surrounding regions, especially India. He is also a historian by career and as a hobby. The other author is also quite interesting because he is a professor of geography at South Dakota State University. The geography of Pakistan, geology, natural resources, and its location to everything else in the world, and there is an amazing amount of history in that region. So, you are just going to have to read the book and check it out.

Now then, in this book you will learn about the geography, and the history of Pakistan, and the lifestyle and culture of the people of Pakistan. This is a Muslim nation, and in chapter 5 you'll learn all about the Islamic Republic of Pakistan. You will also learn about their major industries such as gun making, opium, cement, and agriculture; growing wheat. Pakistan is quite interesting and they have their own set of folk heroes, and cultural stories which have been passed on through the years. I highly recommend this book to everybody. I hope you will please consider all this, and think on it.

Lance Winslow is an Online Author, his latest eBook about Boat Detailing is now available in the "Lance Winslow Small Business Series" titled; "How to Start a Boat Cleaning Business" (a Nook Book available at the Barnes and Noble Website). Lance Winslow is semi-retired and Founder of the Online Think Tank - You may contact Lance Winslow by email for dialogue, discourse, discussion, or debate on interesting topics.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

I Am Doing A Report On Pakistan


I Need Information On Pakistan


Book Review


Book Pakistan


Think Tank

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

Sometimes change comes when and where you least expect it. Wherever your everyday path leads you is an opportunity to make a difference. We may not have the same experiences that Greg Mortenson did

By: Laura Schroederl Book Reviews > Multiculturall January 05, 2012 lViews: 207

An excellent read about two girls that had been switched at birth. One was Amish and the other a typical American girl who both found out through a letter from a nurse that was getting old and

By: Cy Hiltermanl Book Reviews > Multiculturall November 06, 2011 lViews: 205

Books are the gateway to learning. They let us explore different worlds, people, languages, foods, etc. Sometimes the things we learn from books are obvious, such as reading a recipe for chocolate

By: Amanda G Wolfbauerl Book Reviews > Multiculturall July 06, 2011 lViews: 165

Living is meaningful and beautiful on its own. It doesn't take much to be happy. Good Luck and Best Wishes, an ode to life, is included in the short story collection Street Wizards and Other New

By: Jade Mengl Book Reviews > Multiculturall May 15, 2011 lViews: 169

At home in his topic's habitat, History-Geography Professor and author Dailey makes his home in Bethlehem, Israel; he attempts to correlate modern expectations with his perception of first century

By: Bennie N Winterl Book Reviews > Multiculturall March 14, 2011 lViews: 165

How many times have you gone to a Chinese restaurant and figured out what animal from the Chinese zodiac represented you? You also probably read the description of those of that animal's

By: Alain Burresel Book Reviews > Multiculturall March 13, 2011 lViews: 174

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 218

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 434

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313