Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Review: The Woman in Black

February 16, 2012 | Comments: 0 | Views: 122

Whether he likes it or not, Daniel Radcliffe could end up being one those actors that only known for one role. Obviously the Harry Potter series has done great things for him as far as finances are concerned, but I'm sure he wants to be remembered for more than that character and nobody could blame him. In his first outing post Harry Potter, Radcliffe is doing something different when he finds himself dealing with The Woman in Black.

Arthur Kipps (Daniel Radcliffe) is a widowed young lawyer who is sent to a village to help get a deceased person's affairs in order. Soon after arriving, Kipps learns that the deceased client's house may be haunted. Due to this discovery, he also comes to learn that the villagers are hiding a dark secret and that the small town is being terrorized by a ghost who's out for revenge.

The Woman in Black had the chance to be solid, but I don't think it reached its potential. There are some good elements, but there are also a good number of negative ones as well. It took forever to get into the actual story and that made me realize that this movie could have been made into something that lasted less than an hour if they wanted it to. It was a waste of time and I literally almost went to sleep early on. Movies this short should get right into the action almost immediately, but we have to watch Radcliffe walk around, see something "scary", read a little and then walk around some more before the film's plot gets going.

It does get better once that happens, but it never really takes off like it should. The ghosts are kind of creepy at first and The Woman in Black looks cool in most of the scenes that she's in. The ghosts and their on again off again appearances do help create the proper feel for the movie, but some of them are just cheesy looking. I would have liked it if they would have used more of The Woman in Black instead of the other ones. There were some jumpy moments that were good and even a few that were unique in some ways, but those were the only good moments when the ghosts were around since they didn't do much else through the whole movie.

I don't really like reviewing movies like The Woman in Black. In my reviews, I usually go into to detail about things in the movie without giving up spoilers. This movie was short and the story was fairly thin, so I didn't really have much to work with. The other problem is that some of the things that I want to criticize would give away too much of the story if I spoke about them extensively. This is probably a horror film that's geared for teenagers, so I can't ride to hard on it from that perspective and they might like it more than I did.

There was one big plot twist near the end of the movie that stuck out to me for the lack of thought put into it, but I can't mention it since I don't want to give away too much of what happens. It was dumb and it eventually amounted to nothing. Based on the actual ending, you can say that almost all of the movie amounted to nothing.

The acting was relatively solid and I give the actors some credit for that. I do believe that they could have done much more with a substantially better script and it would have made for a much better viewing experience overall. I could see myself watching The Woman in Black again if I avoid the early parts and skip the ending, but that's about it. Hopefully we'll see better selections from Radcliffe in the future. If we don't, his post Harry Potter career might not be too successful.

Score: 2/5

Rating: PG-13

Director: James Watkins

Cast:Daniel RadcliffeCiarán HindsJanet McTeerShaun DooleyDavid BurkeLiz White

Film Length: 95 minutes

Release Date: February 3, 2012

Distributor: CBS Films

http://www.themoviepictureshow.com/

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

 
0
 
0
 
Rate this Article
 vote(s)
Feedback
Print
Re-Publish

Article Tags:

Daniel Radcliffe

,

Harry Potter

,

Woman

,

Black

,

Movie

,

Review

,

Ciaran Hinds

When we are looking for an efficient way to keep your house cool during the hot summer months, one of the first things to consider is using a portable ac unit. Portable air conditioners are great for

By: Akshita l Shopping Product Reviews > Electronics l July 09, 2013 lViews: 651

The people who are not satisfied with their original hair can get any type and style of hairs. Yes it is true, everyone can get hair style of their own choice. If you want long, short hair, straight,

By: Jenette Kimberly l Shopping Product Reviews > Fashion Style l April 01, 2013 lViews: 602

The teddy bear has brought comfort and cheer to millions of children for more than a century. As amazing and timeless a toy that this is today it’s not so humble beginnings has been linked back to

By: TeddyBear l Shopping Product Reviews > Toys l December 11, 2012 lViews: 508

Women love trendy fashion. Be it for their clothing, jewellery or fashion accessories. Choosing any trendy clothing will depend on your figure shape the design of the clothes, the age of the wearer,

By: Zuneaoy l Shopping Product Reviews > Fashion Style l December 10, 2012 lViews: 258

Fashion jewelry serves a slightly different purpose than fine jewelry. Most people don’t wear their fine jewelry, outside of wedding rings of course, as part of everyday outfits. Instead, fashion

By: Zuneaoy l Shopping Product Reviews > Fashion Style l December 09, 2012 lViews: 259

Well you might be wondering about an online jewellery stores reputation when buying your jewellery online. This can be a concern, especially if the pieces you are buying are expensive. But make sure

By: Zuneaoy l Shopping Product Reviews > Collectible Jewelry l December 05, 2012 lViews: 266

The romantic comedy, "While You Were Sleeping," starring Academy Award winning actress Sandra Bullock and Bill Pullman, is an enchanting and engaging movie, well worth your purchasing. The star

By: April Braswelll Shopping Product Reviews > Movie Reviewsl June 07, 2012 lViews: 247

High school student Peter Parker is bitten by a mutant spider giving him superhuman strength and senses. He begins to fight evil in New York City.

By: Kevin Dillehayl Shopping Product Reviews > Movie Reviewsl June 07, 2012 lViews: 232

Vincent (Tomer Gazit Sisley) gets involved with a group of drug dealers when he steals a boatload of their cocaine. These guys want what is owed to them and they'll do whatever is necessary to obtain

By: Jaskee Hickmanl Shopping Product Reviews > Movie Reviewsl June 02, 2012 lViews: 219

When Paul (Jonathan Sadowski) gets a visit from his brother Chris (Jesse McCartney), his brother's fiance Natalie (Olivia Taylor Dudley) and there recently single friend Amanda (Devin Kelley), they

By: Jaskee Hickmanl Shopping Product Reviews > Movie Reviewsl June 02, 2012 lViews: 197

The story in Men in Black III unfolds as a new and more dangerous alien arrives on the scene to destroy the world and kill Agent K (Tommy Lee Jones). It is then that his partner Agent J (Will Smith)

By: Jaskee Hickmanl Shopping Product Reviews > Movie Reviewsl June 02, 2012 lViews: 194

Alex Hopper (Taylor Kitsch) is an irresponsible young man with no direction in life. After getting into trouble, his military brother Stone (Alexander Skarsgard) forces him to enlist in the Navy out

By: Jaskee Hickmanl Shopping Product Reviews > Movie Reviewsl May 27, 2012 lViews: 195

Vincent (Tomer Gazit Sisley) gets involved with a group of drug dealers when he steals a boatload of their cocaine. These guys want what is owed to them and they'll do whatever is necessary to obtain

By: Jaskee Hickmanl Shopping Product Reviews > Movie Reviewsl June 02, 2012 lViews: 219

When Paul (Jonathan Sadowski) gets a visit from his brother Chris (Jesse McCartney), his brother's fiance Natalie (Olivia Taylor Dudley) and there recently single friend Amanda (Devin Kelley), they

By: Jaskee Hickmanl Shopping Product Reviews > Movie Reviewsl June 02, 2012 lViews: 197

The story in Men in Black III unfolds as a new and more dangerous alien arrives on the scene to destroy the world and kill Agent K (Tommy Lee Jones). It is then that his partner Agent J (Will Smith)

By: Jaskee Hickmanl Shopping Product Reviews > Movie Reviewsl June 02, 2012 lViews: 194

Alex Hopper (Taylor Kitsch) is an irresponsible young man with no direction in life. After getting into trouble, his military brother Stone (Alexander Skarsgard) forces him to enlist in the Navy out

By: Jaskee Hickmanl Shopping Product Reviews > Movie Reviewsl May 27, 2012 lViews: 195

Jason Bourne (Matt Damon) is still on the move and doing all he can to find out about his past. He decides that starting from the beginning is his best option and he thinks he's found someone that

By: Jaskee Hickmanl Shopping Product Reviews > Movie Reviewsl May 27, 2012 lViews: 175

Jason Bourne (Matt Damon) is still trying to put his past together as he's trying to gain his memory back with the help Marie (Franka Potente). Bourne and Marie have moved to a secluded area where

By: Jaskee Hickmanl Shopping Product Reviews > Movie Reviewsl May 27, 2012 lViews: 176