Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Motorcycle Safety - What You Need to Know - Book Review

February 10, 2011 | Comments: 0 | Views: 172

Today, I have a steel rod in my femur bone from a motorcycle accident, and I am reminded of the famous saying that motorcyclists often cite "there are those who have been down, and those who will." And what that means is there are those who have been in motorcycle accidents, and those that will in the future, and those are the only two types of motorcycle riders, and there is not a third type.

When you are young and restless, you think it can't happen to you, and those who are very careful on motorcycles also sometimes feel that they are safe, or immune from accidents. Don't kid yourself. Nevertheless, if you want to survive an accident, or prevent most of them from happening to you, then you need to be 100% into motorcycle riding safety - and you should probably read up on this topic, as well as practice the safety skills which you learn.

Indeed, to help you with this, there's a very good booklet that I would like to recommend to you, and it is one that sits on my bookshelf at home, even though currently I do not own a motorcycle. The name of the booklet is;

"Motorcycle Rider Course - Reading and Street Skills" (student work book), by the MSF Motorcycle Safety Foundation, (2000) Eighteenth Printing.

As you can see since this booklet has been printed for 18 years straight, it is obviously a much needed book. Luckily, it is very easy to read, and it is broken into chapters which discuss the joy of motorcycle riding, preventive maintenance, and controlling a motorcycle. There are also chapters on attitude and being in the proper state of mind, along with the reasoning behind wearing helmets, leather jackets, and other safety gear.

There is also information on inspecting your motorcycle and I believe this is important just as if you were preflight an airplane. Many injuries happen when a motorcycle is barely moving, or is sitting still. There is a right way and wrong way to get onto a motorcycle and to dismount. It's even more critical when taking passengers. In this booklet you learn about turning, stopping, shifting, visibility, street strategies, and more advanced maneuvering.

There are also warnings about alcohol and drug use and proper etiquette around other motorcycle riders. This section I think everyone should read is the one about special writing situations, such as carrying cargo, passengers, riding on black ice, or in windy or rainy conditions. Trust me, if you ride a motorcycle you need to pay attention to stay alive. Please consider all this.

Lance Winslow is an Online Author, his latest eBook about Boat Detailing is now available in the "Lance Winslow Small Business Series" titled; "How to Start a Boat Cleaning Business" (a Nook Book available at the Barnes and Noble Website). Lance Winslow is semi-retired and Founder of the Online Think Tank - You may contact Lance Winslow by email for dialogue, discourse, discussion, or debate on interesting topics.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Motorcycle Safety


What You Need To Know


Book Review


Motorcycle Riders


Msf Motorcycle Safety

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

Hey! I read the "How To Be Irresistible To Women" ebook and it blew me away! See, I thought I was already irresistible to women, but boy was I wrong. But you couldn't tell me that before. See, I

By: Macy Wilsonl Book Reviews > Mensl August 26, 2011 lViews: 151

As a teenager, and even starting as early as age 6, I liked to build plastic models. At one point I think I had built every single 1:172 scale plastic model which existed. I built race cars, army

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Mensl February 10, 2011 lViews: 177

What exactly is the deep voice mastery guide, and why do people make so many search engine quires on "Deep Voice Mastery Download"? Well in this short article, I will talk about how voice change has

By: Sean Harrodl Book Reviews > Mensl January 12, 2011 lViews: 197

Is there are a deep voice mastery torrent where you can freely download the deep voice mastery guide, or all those sites are just scam sites? Well in this article I will discuss how some of these

By: Sean Harrodl Book Reviews > Mensl January 12, 2011 lViews: 190

What is Matt Huston's Ex2 System all about and can it help you to get your ex back? Do you wonder what the angle is or worry that this is just a rehash of some psychologist's advice that will have

By: Cory Jeanl Book Reviews > Mensl November 17, 2010 lViews: 165

This book is the best men's survival guide I have ever had the pleasure of reading. It shows a person what it takes to be a real man. It covers anything from survival in the wilderness to surviving

By: Lance Dickeyl Book Reviews > Mensl October 02, 2010 lViews: 170

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 218

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 434

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313