Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Everywhere There Are Signs - Book Review on Signage

August 18, 2010 | Comments: 0 | Views: 192

Signs are a form of communication in our society and civilization, they warn us, alert us, and help us stay safe from harm. They help navigate and simplify our lives, well, if they are done right. If not, they can cause problems, sending us the wrong way, having us stare at them too long, which causes challenges in driving, riding a bike, or maneuvering to our intended lane, or destination, it matters, just think about that.

Think about parking structures, signs for elevators, bathrooms, food, or office directories. How about Corporate Logo signage, drive-through arrows, and the time it takes to read a sign and then act upon that information while driving down the freeway?

There is a lot of planning and designing that goes into signage, a lot more than you think, and this was originally brought to my attention at our Online style Think Tank by one of our visiting members, who recommended this very good book to me to read - the name of the book is:

"Architectural Signing and Graphics," by John Follis and Dave Hammer, published by Architectural Press Ltd., London, 1979, pp. 232, ISBN: 0-85139-060-9.

One of the authors John Follis created the signage for the Los Angeles Bicentennial and for Disney World, and was a major pioneer in the revolutionary changes in the industry. David Hammer had worked with Sears, Bank of America, and many other top corporations designing all of their building signage, and an incredible photographer.

What a great book indeed, with information and consideration of the real human factors involved in signage, language, and time to decipher while driving or moving. There is also project analysis and planning topics discussed and debated. Fabrication and materials, as well as longevity is also talked about. There are examples from well over 25 designers of modern signage systems. How the use of common symbols, alphabet also work for Hospitals (H), Parking (P), or Airport (A).

Now then this is a large illustrated book and the authors have written research papers, and studied uncountable others. Although it was written and produced some 30+ years ago, it gives us all a reality and history check, it's amazing how many examples in this book, and ideas are common place today, I mean the sign concepts for the future in this book can be seen everywhere in Europe, China, Australia, South America, the US, Canada, Mexico, and all across the Middle East and African Continent.

You will learn about typography, cultural issues to be accounted for in design, and the use of fonts, and how associations and industries must work together to standardize. How the EU, USA, and other neighboring nations must work together to build consistency, and there is talk about royalty payments for designers, and international symbol usage. Learn how to implement, design, and supervise a large project with signs spanning many sectors, nations, and industries.

Lance Winslow is the Founder of the Online Think Tank, a diverse group of achievers, experts, innovators, entrepreneurs, thinkers, futurists, academics, dreamers, leaders, and general all around brilliant minds. Lance Winslow hopes you've enjoyed today's discussion and topic. - Have an important subject to discuss, contact Lance Winslow.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Everywhere Signs


Book Review On Signage


Modern Signage Systems


Signage Systems




Think Tnak

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

Death and destruction came to the tiny Pacific outpost of Truk Lagoon in February 1944. Operation Hailstone was designed to destroy as much of the Japanese fleet and surrounding island bases as

By: Jane E Mitchelll Book Reviews > Maps Guidesl April 27, 2011 lViews: 195

Magazine subscription helps in many ways in earning benefits of saving on the cost. Undeniably, they are the perfect guides to keep you abreast of the various things happening round you. You get to

By: Dondu Linkanl Book Reviews > Maps Guidesl January 29, 2011 lViews: 172

Some hiking guides are thrilling but too dangerous. Please use hiking guides responsibly. A recreational hiking can die in the desert in an unfamiliar terrain. This article is strictly a personal

By: Jim Williaml Book Reviews > Maps Guidesl September 17, 2010 lViews: 168

Having a guide to follow on discovering where to walk to find antique bottles in Panama. An outstanding area for collecting glass wear.

By: Gustave Blissl Book Reviews > Maps Guidesl August 05, 2010 lViews: 216

Satellite maps are a great resource to use when advertising a location, or to determine what the neighborhood and street of a location will look like. Is it an address you have never been to before?

By: Amanda Messickl Book Reviews > Maps Guidesl March 09, 2010 lViews: 200

Northwest England's Lake District, also known as Lakeland, enjoys immense popularity today, and is a favorite destination for those who wish to enjoy the serenity of nature. When he passed away in

By: Martin Hiltlynel Book Reviews > Maps Guidesl June 04, 2009 lViews: 192

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 218

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 433

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313