Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

BOOK REVIEW: THE PEARL by John Steinbeck

November 16, 2011 | Comments: 0 | Views: 186

John Steinbeck (1902-1968) is one of America's greatest writers and is a Nobel Prize winner for Literature in 1962. I must confess, though, that this is the first time I read a book by him, all thanks to a fellow book lover and book blogger who kept on raving about how wonderful a writer John Steinbeck is. I bought my copy of this book for only Php17.00 from Booksale, but certainly this book is worth a thousand more than its price.

I did a little bit of research about John Steinbeck and learned that this author is known for the social criticisms inherent in most of his works, and was even branded to be subversive. These social criticisms are likewise central in The Pearl, where Steinbeck tells the story of a pearl diver named Kino and how his life is affected after finding the greatest pearl of all time. Reading The Pearl gives out a feeling of reading a parable or a fable, though I must say that the story is more than just a fable. It is a social commentary on the great chasm that divides the rich from the poor and the evils of greed. It portrays a touching story of how riches can change a man and how it can give and destroy peace. It tells about the true value of riches and where they can be found.

Kino, a pearl diver, is in constant search for that great pearl that can bring him, his wife and his little child the wealth that can save them from abject poverty. This great search was even more fired when Kino's baby who was bit by a scorpion was refused medical aid by known healers because they cannot pay the medical fees. When Kino finally found the Pearl, his life changed drastically and it seems that wealth and comfort are now within his reach. However, his life was also caught in line because more and more people have become interested in acquiring for themselves the Pearl. Add to that the very low valuation given by money changers on the pearl, because they wanted to short change and trick the seemingly naive young pearl diver. Kino and his family are then forced by circumstances to escape their place and go to the hinterlands in order to look for the best price for the Pearl.

What I love most about The Pearl are the various symbolisms and interpretations it connotes. It is a story worth discussing. The ending may not have surprised me that much, but I love how such conclusion affected the whole direction of the story. I love how The Pearl has made me think. After all, this is what good literature is all about - to make you think.

4 stars.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

John Steinbeck


Pearl Diver


Book Review


Greatest Pearl


The Pearl Book Review

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 285

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 309

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 546

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

Science Fiction is one of the most popular genres of all times; it is read by the people of all ages and all fields. Time has been witness of the popular classics that emerged in the world of

By: Arfa Zahidl Book Reviews > Literary Classicsl April 01, 2012 lViews: 179

Emily Bronte in her first novel, the Wuthering Heights brought a new sensation to the world of the 18th century. It was a world of divided living, where fine lines were drawn among all the social

By: Arfa Zahidl Book Reviews > Literary Classicsl April 01, 2012 lViews: 151

RK Narayan best-known for Swami and Friends was born on October 10, 1906. He was born in former Madras and modern-day Chennai. His father was a school headmaster and moved about a lot; therefore he

By: Anju K Batral Book Reviews > Literary Classicsl February 27, 2012 lViews: 224

Studying the Great Gatsby in school. Well if you ever do an essay about its narrator you need to read this article on what they don't teach you in school. Want your essay to stand out and be credited

By: Matthew Alexander Jacksonl Book Reviews > Literary Classicsl February 24, 2012 lViews: 196

Stephen Dedalus is a young man lost in the world; he spends the majority of his life in religious schools, divorced and detached from his family and his parents. The heads of the schools, the

By: Fiona F Fimmell Book Reviews > Literary Classicsl January 12, 2012 lViews: 180

For Dan Brown, who caused the millions of those who read his novel Da Vinci Code, to raise eyebrows, or chuckle, or pull the book closer for a better view, Jesus' espouse was Mary Magdalene. I

By: Er Nuylanl Book Reviews > Literary Classicsl December 08, 2011 lViews: 184

Before writing this review, I did a bit of browsing of reviews already posted in Goodreads and saw mostly 1 star ratings. I felt quite sad because I really liked the story and how it was written. The

By: Lynai Lamasonl Book Reviews > Romancel January 20, 2012 lViews: 203

How do I begin writing a review of a book that tackles a subject a cannot fully comprehend? Mathematics and physics, anyone? But, I am getting ahead of myself.

By: Lynai Lamasonl Book Reviews > Childrens Booksl January 20, 2012 lViews: 176

I bought The Reunion by Sue Walker one fine, random day at Booksale without having any idea how good (or bad) it is and without any inkling who the author is except that it was only Php20.00 and its

By: Lynai Lamasonl Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillersl January 20, 2012 lViews: 165

A woman of the nineties. A young pioneer on the Oregon Trail. Though lifetimes apart, they share a remarkable journey. When Sierra discovers her ancestor's handcrafted quilt and reads her journal,

By: Lynai Lamasonl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl July 13, 2011 lViews: 214

This is the first book in a series of 9, and my first time to read a book by the author. At Home in Mitford is a sweet story about a fictional town called Mitford where everybody seems to know

By: Lynai Lamasonl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl May 26, 2011 lViews: 154