Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

"Walk Like You Have Somewhere to Go" by Lucille O'Neal - Book Review

April 19, 2010 | Comments: 0 | Views: 85

Walk Like You Have Somewhere To Go is an autobiography written by NBA superstar Shaquille O'Neal's mother, Lucille O'Neal. The book details Lucille's hardships through life from becoming a teenage mother to conquering alcoholism, and dealing with her son's rising fame; all the while relying on motivation and faith to help her. Lucille also introduces the term "mental welfare", which she uses to help describe her mental health condition as it progresses over the years.

Overall, Walk Like You Have Somewhere To Go feels incredibly short in length, and I would have liked more specifics on how push comes to shove in terms of motivation and also how God plays His role. Lucille tells us about the EVENTS that lead to her life rejuvenation, but she goes into even less detail about her thoughts and feelings. Lucille quotes scripture throughout the book and we read a timeline of her life, but again, more bulk behind what drives her to do certain things would make the book infinitely more motivating.

I didn't find Walk Like You Have Somewhere To Go incredibly memorable and I found it to be very similar to other autobiographies written by celebrities. I recommend this book to fans of Shaquille O'Neal and to mothers of well-known media icons or celebrities.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Read more book reviews by Dreamworld Books at Books reviews on all genres by the world's most prolific reader!

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:












Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

Excellent and controversial book showing both ways of thinking between professional medical care and those believing in faith healing using no doctors. Daniel Zimmer led an upstate New York religious

By: Cy Hiltermanl Book Reviews > Lifestylel June 20, 2012 lViews: 163

The title of this excellent book tells a lot about the book and its many stories of civilian and military members and families and just how difficult it is to serve in the military, especially in

By: Cy Hiltermanl Book Reviews > Lifestylel May 02, 2012 lViews: 178

Broken Wings is a must read as I discovered from the books beginning. Pamela Wells recovered, rehabbed, fed, and did anything possible to allow her mostly smaller animals get to the point of living a

By: Cy Hiltermanl Book Reviews > Lifestylel April 09, 2012 lViews: 326

The Internet is spreading its boundaries with each passing day, which makes eBooks easily accessible to people. They now do not need to spend heavy amounts for buying their favourite book as they can

By: Ivan Rojovskil Book Reviews > Lifestylel March 29, 2012 lViews: 197

ISO is the International Standard Organization and it is established in 1947. It is world's largest developer and publisher of International Standards. ISO is a non-government federation of national

By: Ujjwal Kumarl Book Reviews > Lifestylel March 13, 2012 lViews: 191

According to a research, United States has recorded the maximum number of divorces in the world. Around 50 per cent first time marriages and about 67 per cent second marriages end in the country

By: Stefan Collinil Book Reviews > Lifestylel March 13, 2012 lViews: 184

Nancy Pearl is a long-time librarian and writes book reviews for both local and national publications. Her book expertise and recommendations are gathered in Book Lust, a compilation of books of all

By: Sarah Ann El Book Reviews > Reference Encyclopedial April 27, 2010 lViews: 138

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus