Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Book Review - The Alchemist By Paulo Coelho

March 14, 2012 | Comments: 0 | Views: 270

The Alchemist is another one of my absolute favourite books in my bookshelf.Paulo Coelho's book is a metaphor that takes you on journey and you will be surprise how many different gifts people take out of having read this one.


The Alchemist is the hero's journey of Santiago, a boy who has a dream and the courage to follow it. The story is ripe with symbolism and signs, drawn together to inspire every reader to see themselves in Santiago and wondering what dream they are meant to follow in their lives.

The Alchemist was published first in 1988. It has since sold more than 65 million copies and has been translated into more than 70 languages, winning the Guinness World Record for most translated book by a living author.

More in details

The central philosophy of the book seems to be summarised in the statement made by one of the main characters, an old king named Melchizedek: 'When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.'

In the story we follow Santiago, an Andalusian shepherd boy, on his journey to discover what some would call his life's purpose, the quest for a dream and the fulfilment of his destiny. Along the way he meets various people who give him messages, places and situations where he learns along the way to find out what they mean in relations to his quest.

It is a simple story with layers of meaning, partly probably carrying autobiographic remnants of Coelho's journey to become a writer himself. To thoroughly understand what this metaphor has in store for you personally, you might need to read it more than once and be willing to let go of logic and reality. As the alchemist, that Santiago meets on his journey, says: 'Those who don't understand their personal legends will fail to comprehend its teachings.'

About the author

Paulo Coelho was born in 1947 inn Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. He wanted to become a writer since his teenage years but only pursued his dream much later in life.

He nowadays splits his time living in Europe and Rio de Janeiro with his wife Christina.


This book is for you if you like to be inspired in following your destiny. Coelho has a way that allows the reader to identify with the hero, take from the story your own little messages, which might be different from what your friend will.

Let yourself be inspired by this metaphor.

Want to know more? Have a look at my blog.

Nathalie Himmelrich is the founder of 'Reach for the Sky Therapy' on Sydney's Northern Beaches and specialises in 'relationship related issues'. She is working with individuals and couples using techniques ranging from Counselling, Neuro Linguistic Programming to Journey Therapy. She supports clients in their personal growth in a supportive and professional environment.

Visit my website: or visit my blog: and sign up for our newsletter today.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Book Review


Paulo Coelho


The Alchemist













Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 285

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 309

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 546

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

From vistas of the scorching desert sands of Africa to the undulating pastures of the Andalusian countryside, The Alchemist is a soul-stirring novel, brimming with fantastic insight and vivid

By: Humayun Mujahidl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl May 18, 2012 lViews: 174

Most families or individuals are overwhelmed by information when it comes to emergency preparedness. There are just hundreds of websites offering tips of emergency preparation, experts giving out

By: Randy J Meyerl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl April 21, 2012 lViews: 220

Living Life to the Fatest is the story of Maproeza who is a mythical child growing up in South Africa. Maproeza was born and raised in an ancient village in the former Eastern Transvaal. Although, he

By: Bhekisisa Mncubel Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl April 04, 2012 lViews: 237

I don't know how Colleen Coble keeps coming up with such super-duper stories. I have read most of them, missing only those that were not sent my way to tell me they were available. In my mind Blue

By: Cy Hiltermanl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl March 14, 2012 lViews: 248

Review of "To Kill a Mockingbird" by Harper Lee - a book so exquisitely crafted it is no wonder the author has written nothing else: perfection cannot be improved upon. All the characters in Lee's

By: Zara Josephsl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl February 14, 2012 lViews: 192

What contribution do stories have in inspiring others and in coloring our world? What better way to help facilitate in the healing of another, lift one up, transform a life, or to inspire through the

By: Patricia A Craigl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl January 04, 2012 lViews: 175

Anger is part of the grief cycle consisting of five stages as per Elisabeth Kubler-Ross. The other stages are denial, bargaining, depression and acceptance. It is important to note that experiencing

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Self Improvement > Grief Lossl June 09, 2012 lViews: 185

Dr. John Gottman says: 'If there is one lesson I have learned from my years of research it is that a lasting marriage results from a couple's ability to resolve the conflicts that are inevitable in

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Book Reviews > Psychologyl February 07, 2011 lViews: 171

When I first looked at the book cover I thought 'Oh wow, this looks a bit too sweet for me' but I still bought it as it came recommended by one of my clients as a good and interesting read. This is

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Book Reviews > Psychologyl February 07, 2011 lViews: 155

Have you always wondered why you get bored easily, never stick to anything for long periods of time, quickly lose interest in things or change your mind about what you want to do and end up doing

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Book Reviews > Psychologyl January 26, 2011 lViews: 159

'The New Earth' is Eckhart Tolle's second book, which also became a bestseller. Even though it takes time to digest and understand Tolle's language his book has stirred up a lot of insight and

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Book Reviews > Philosophyl October 04, 2010 lViews: 150

The Power of Now is one of my absolute favorite books in my bookshelf. Eckhart Tolle takes us on a journey to explore ourselves, our focus in life and widens our understanding of present moment

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Book Reviews > Philosophyl October 04, 2010 lViews: 150

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus