Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Book Review: At Home In Mitford by Jan Karon

May 26, 2011 | Comments: 0 | Views: 154

This is the first book in a series of 9, and my first time to read a book by the author. At Home in Mitford is a sweet story about a fictional town called Mitford where everybody seems to know everybody, and everybody helps everybody. The main character is Father Tim, the local Episcopalian rector, and the story revolves mostly around him - how he adopted a dog he named Barnabas, looked after an 11-year old boy, got interested in his new neighbor, skipped his daily exercise, and had his car repaired, among many others.

The characters in Mitford are mostly lovable, even Homeless Hobbes, and the love stories are a delight to read. One thing I have observed is that except maybe for Dooley, the 11-year old boy left under the care of Father Tim, all the other characters are adults, most are elderly. But one just has to laugh at their childlike personalities. I am reminded of the Anne of Green Gables series while reading this book. I don't know why. Maybe it is because the characters are easy to fall in love with and the quaint description of the Mitford town is comparable to the small town of Avonlea where Anne Shirley lived.

At Home in Mitford offers an idyllic escape from a chaotic world, where all you get to ever read is the utter goodness of every character, eventhe town Mayor is just so good to be true. It took quite a while for me to finish this book, it is the kind of story every page you want to savor and requires no chest-thumping suspense to make you flip the pages until you finish. Reading At Home in Mitford is like watching a teleseries (TV soap opera), you only need to spend 30 minutes every day for one episode and then look forward to another episode on the following day. Or maybe it is like reading a string of short stories tied together and bound into a single book. Of course, I am saying this as a complement.

At Home in Mitford is a humorous, charming and calm read, a perfect companion to the beach or the airport lounge. If you don't mind doing simultaneous reading, you can pair this with a more fast-paced story, just like what I did, in order to break the monotony. But if you prefer a laid-back, more relaxed reading pace, At Home in Mitford will certainly not disappoint.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Book Review




Jan Karon


Father Tim

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 285

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 309

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 546

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

From vistas of the scorching desert sands of Africa to the undulating pastures of the Andalusian countryside, The Alchemist is a soul-stirring novel, brimming with fantastic insight and vivid

By: Humayun Mujahidl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl May 18, 2012 lViews: 174

Most families or individuals are overwhelmed by information when it comes to emergency preparedness. There are just hundreds of websites offering tips of emergency preparation, experts giving out

By: Randy J Meyerl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl April 21, 2012 lViews: 220

Living Life to the Fatest is the story of Maproeza who is a mythical child growing up in South Africa. Maproeza was born and raised in an ancient village in the former Eastern Transvaal. Although, he

By: Bhekisisa Mncubel Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl April 04, 2012 lViews: 237

I don't know how Colleen Coble keeps coming up with such super-duper stories. I have read most of them, missing only those that were not sent my way to tell me they were available. In my mind Blue

By: Cy Hiltermanl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl March 14, 2012 lViews: 248

The Alchemist is another one of my absolute favourite books in my bookshelf. Paulo Coelho's book is a metaphor that takes you on journey and you will be surprise how many different gifts people take

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl March 14, 2012 lViews: 270

Review of "To Kill a Mockingbird" by Harper Lee - a book so exquisitely crafted it is no wonder the author has written nothing else: perfection cannot be improved upon. All the characters in Lee's

By: Zara Josephsl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl February 14, 2012 lViews: 192

Before writing this review, I did a bit of browsing of reviews already posted in Goodreads and saw mostly 1 star ratings. I felt quite sad because I really liked the story and how it was written. The

By: Lynai Lamasonl Book Reviews > Romancel January 20, 2012 lViews: 203

How do I begin writing a review of a book that tackles a subject a cannot fully comprehend? Mathematics and physics, anyone? But, I am getting ahead of myself.

By: Lynai Lamasonl Book Reviews > Childrens Booksl January 20, 2012 lViews: 176

I bought The Reunion by Sue Walker one fine, random day at Booksale without having any idea how good (or bad) it is and without any inkling who the author is except that it was only Php20.00 and its

By: Lynai Lamasonl Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillersl January 20, 2012 lViews: 165

John Steinbeck (1902-1968) is one of America's greatest writers and is a Nobel Prize winner for Literature in 1962. I must confess, though, that this is the first time I read a book by him, all

By: Lynai Lamasonl Book Reviews > Literary Classicsl November 16, 2011 lViews: 187

A woman of the nineties. A young pioneer on the Oregon Trail. Though lifetimes apart, they share a remarkable journey. When Sierra discovers her ancestor's handcrafted quilt and reads her journal,

By: Lynai Lamasonl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl July 13, 2011 lViews: 214

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus