Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

34 Bubblegums and Candies - Book Review

September 05, 2011 | Comments: 0 | Views: 160

34 Bubblegums and Candies, written by the Indian author Preeti Shenoy, is a collection of 34 real life narratives and incidents based on the author's life. Although a non-fiction book, this book is a really interesting read and because of this reason, 34 Bubblegums and Candies has gone on to become a national best-seller with hundreds of thousands of copies sold to date.

The author of 34 Bubblegums and Candies, Preeti Shenoy, was earlier a blogger who wrote regularly for some of the major newspapers. In 2007 she decided to take her hobby to the next level and thus was launched her debut book which soon climbed aboard all the major best-seller lists in India.

34 Bubblegums and Candies is essentially a collection of 34 anecdotes and experiences that the author has had throughout her life. Some of them are humorous while the others are a little sad but essentially each of these stories has an underlying message for the reader. It is through these short stories that the author has tried to capture a glimpse of the various facets of human life.

For example, the book starts off with the narration of events that lead to the death of the author's father and how she manages to cope up with the tragedy. It is not a sad story or a dull one, rather it shows how everyone must encounter these tragic events and learn to live with them. The author beautifully captures each emotion with the beauty of her words.

The book reminded me of the movie Forest Gump. The author gets it spot on when she says that life is a little bit like candies and bubblegum. One must keep chewing to savor the taste that lies within. Sometimes the bubblegum may burst unexpectedly and one may be left with a sticky mess. These are the problems and unhappy times in one's life.

At other times, life is like a candy stick. One must lick it slowly and relish what it has to offer. Sometimes we greedily bite off more than we can chew and this we must learn to avoid. Sometimes we encounter a rare moment when the balance seems right and a feeling of contentment reigns supreme in all of us. All in all, 34 Bubblegums and Candies is a must read book for everyone. It is available at all leading bookstores although online retailers offer a better discount on the same.

To read an in-depth review of the book 34 Bubblegums and Candies, simply visit my site and learn how you can get a 35% Discount on the book 34 Bubblegums and Candies and that too with Free Shipping!

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Preeti Shenoy


34 Bubblegums And Candies

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

From vistas of the scorching desert sands of Africa to the undulating pastures of the Andalusian countryside, The Alchemist is a soul-stirring novel, brimming with fantastic insight and vivid

By: Humayun Mujahidl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl May 18, 2012 lViews: 175

Most families or individuals are overwhelmed by information when it comes to emergency preparedness. There are just hundreds of websites offering tips of emergency preparation, experts giving out

By: Randy J Meyerl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl April 21, 2012 lViews: 221

Living Life to the Fatest is the story of Maproeza who is a mythical child growing up in South Africa. Maproeza was born and raised in an ancient village in the former Eastern Transvaal. Although, he

By: Bhekisisa Mncubel Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl April 04, 2012 lViews: 237

I don't know how Colleen Coble keeps coming up with such super-duper stories. I have read most of them, missing only those that were not sent my way to tell me they were available. In my mind Blue

By: Cy Hiltermanl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl March 14, 2012 lViews: 249

The Alchemist is another one of my absolute favourite books in my bookshelf. Paulo Coelho's book is a metaphor that takes you on journey and you will be surprise how many different gifts people take

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl March 14, 2012 lViews: 271

Review of "To Kill a Mockingbird" by Harper Lee - a book so exquisitely crafted it is no wonder the author has written nothing else: perfection cannot be improved upon. All the characters in Lee's

By: Zara Josephsl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl February 14, 2012 lViews: 192

Asterix Comics: Written by Rene Goscinny and illustrated by Albert Uderzo, Asterix Comics is a series of French comic books that was first published in the late 1950's. However, after the death of

By: Amandeep Kohlil Book Reviews > Comics Humorl February 01, 2012 lViews: 324

34 Bubblegums and Candies is the debut novel of an Indian author called Preeti Shenoy that deals with the experiences that a normal person faces in a lifetime. As the name suggests, 34 Bubblegums and

By: Amandeep Kohlil Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl September 26, 2011 lViews: 183

Rich Dad Poor Dad is written by Robert Kiyosaki, a well-known and best-selling author of many a books regarding personal finance. I happened to pick up a copy of Rich Dad Poor Dad over the weekend

By: Amandeep Kohlil News & Society > Economicsl August 17, 2011 lViews: 117