Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Diversity in Education and Curriculum Concepts - Book Review

October 07, 2010 | Comments: 0 | Views: 190

Are you interested in a future in teaching, education administration, or becoming a social worker, or school psychologist, then there is a book, which I'd like to recommend that your read, and then I'd like to give you a more than fair assessment of this work.

"Multicultural Education in a Pluralistic Society," by Donna M. Gollnick and Philip C. Chinn, Pearson Merrill a Prentice Hall Company, Upper Saddle River, NJ, (2006), pp. 404, ISBN: 0-13-119719-3.

This book was quite interesting to me, and its first publishing was in 1983 and it has been upgraded and republished every few years since. I felt as if the book was very hard to use because it has the Preface prior to the table of contents, which makes navigating very tough. The preface is quite good and explains how the book is formatted.

Once into the book it is very easy to follow along, even the most blithering idiot could use this book and understand it, perhaps, that is their target reader; at least this is the impression I got, and speaking of impression, I believe this book is trying to brainwash the "education student" who has an impressionable mind, this is my opinion based on reading it.

Indeed, as a coordinator for a think tank online I was really worried that such books are indeed being used to train and teach new teachers and college professionals, and students who will go into the educational profession as administrators, professors, psychologists, etc. There are chapters on social classes, race, homosexuality, diversity, gender, religion, and age. There are sub-chapters such as; Hate Groups

Racial Identification


Self Esteem

Sexual Harassment

Anyway, you get the idea of what this wonderful book is all about, unfortunately after reading through it all, I decided I really didn't have room on my many book shelves for it. And I chose not to donate it to a Thrift Store, and I failed to put it into the recycle bin - it has gone straight into the trash. But, I think this is a great book for a neo-liberal-socialist. And I recommend that you read this book so you can understand how all this political correctness has permeated in our society and how it started in academia.

This book also had everything reiterated and duplicated on a CD ROM with videos, and roll-playing on each chapter. I suppose this is for those in academia who cannot read well, and yet, might still be teaching our children and kids. Look, anyone who is serious about teaching needs to understand how it all works, and what it's all about, even if you disagree with every single aspect of it. This is why I read the book, and duly discharged to where I believe it belongs. Please consider this.

Lance Winslow is a retired Founder of a Nationwide Franchise Chain, and now runs the Online Think Tank. Lance Winslow believes it's hard work to write 21,200 articles;

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Book Review


Curriculum Concepts


Education Administration


Great Book


Book Shelves


Book Review Educate

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

A large number of people choose to not send their children to public school and choose to teach them from home. Many people who home school have come up with lesson plans and other ideas that other

By: Blake H Alexanderl Book Reviews > Home School Curriculuml April 04, 2012 lViews: 188

Tell someone you're educating your child at home or homeschooling, and you're sure to get a raised eyebrow. It may not be for everybody, but those who have chosen to educate their children at home

By: David BC Tanl Book Reviews > Home School Curriculuml September 27, 2011 lViews: 183

Standardized testing is as much a part of school today as reading and math classes. Unfortunately, although most kids eventually learn to read and do the math necessary to carry them through life,

By: Caryn StClairl Book Reviews > Home School Curriculuml April 20, 2011 lViews: 192

If you are considering teaching online, or if you are a homeschooling parent and would like to have your kids learn online while at home then maybe you need to do a little bit of research. Maybe you

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Home School Curriculuml February 13, 2011 lViews: 194

It's very interesting but not a lot of people know the history of Afghanistan, even though our military has spent over eight years there, fighting one of the longest wars we've ever had. But a mere

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Home School Curriculuml February 10, 2011 lViews: 164

The book Ecology of a Cracker Childhood by Janisse Ray shows the life of a young girl as she grows up with her family that owns a junkyard in Appling County Georgia. Many experiences may have been

By: Tim H Jacksonl Book Reviews > Home School Curriculuml November 29, 2010 lViews: 165

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 218

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 433

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313