Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Afghanistan - First You Must Understand the Country and the Culture - Book Review

February 10, 2011 | Comments: 0 | Views: 163

It's very interesting but not a lot of people know the history of Afghanistan, even though our military has spent over eight years there, fighting one of the longest wars we've ever had. But a mere decade is a drop in the bucket of the known written recorded history of Afghanistan and her people. It is interesting that the United States is now taking an interest in the people, the culture, the landscape, and its possible future.

Indeed, I believe it pays to learn a little bit of the history before you make quick judgments of what the United States should do with its involvement of Afghanistan. There are far too many people watching the news who don't really get it, but they should, especially as voters deciding which politicians are going to spend how much of our taxpayers money there.

There is a very good book I would recommend especially to homeschooling parents who might have kids, that they would like to see learn a little bit more about this country. This is a book that I do own, and I would like to recommend to you, the name of the book is;

"Afghanistan" (Countries and Cultures Collection) by Mary Englar, Capstone Press, Mankato, Minnesota, (2004), 64 pages, ISBN: 0-7368-2174-0.

One of the most fascinating parts of this book is the timeline from Alexander the great to the election of Hamid Karzai in 2002. This book also covers the Soviet Union evasion and occupation of Afghanistan in 1979. It also explains how the Taliban took over Afghanistan in 1996, and that's when things really changed, and those changes eventually affected the United States to a much larger degree.

The book is broken into chapters, but on the very first chapter it explains many of the facts that you need to know about the country, such as the population, resources, agriculture, and way of life. The Afghanistan history is completely interesting, and its economy is more interesting than you might believe. The hardship of daily life and culture is also quite interesting and it has really changed over the years.

There is a recipe in this book on how to make khati cookies, which is very cool and they aren't that hard to make. I enjoyed making these cookies as I read the book one afternoon, and I felt a sense of friendship with the Afghan people. I hope you will too, please consider buying this book and thinking on it.

Lance Winslow is a retired Founder of a Nationwide Franchise Chain, and now runs the Online Think Tank - Lance Winslow believes it's hard work to write 22,222 articles;

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:



Understand The Country


The Culture


Book Review


Lance Winslow


Think Tank


Home Schooling

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

A large number of people choose to not send their children to public school and choose to teach them from home. Many people who home school have come up with lesson plans and other ideas that other

By: Blake H Alexanderl Book Reviews > Home School Curriculuml April 04, 2012 lViews: 188

Tell someone you're educating your child at home or homeschooling, and you're sure to get a raised eyebrow. It may not be for everybody, but those who have chosen to educate their children at home

By: David BC Tanl Book Reviews > Home School Curriculuml September 27, 2011 lViews: 183

Standardized testing is as much a part of school today as reading and math classes. Unfortunately, although most kids eventually learn to read and do the math necessary to carry them through life,

By: Caryn StClairl Book Reviews > Home School Curriculuml April 20, 2011 lViews: 192

If you are considering teaching online, or if you are a homeschooling parent and would like to have your kids learn online while at home then maybe you need to do a little bit of research. Maybe you

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Home School Curriculuml February 13, 2011 lViews: 194

The book Ecology of a Cracker Childhood by Janisse Ray shows the life of a young girl as she grows up with her family that owns a junkyard in Appling County Georgia. Many experiences may have been

By: Tim H Jacksonl Book Reviews > Home School Curriculuml November 29, 2010 lViews: 164

We all know that getting good grades in school, college or university is a big issue for almost every student. Students also have to face incredible competition in their academic life and getting

By: Nabeel Shaukatl Book Reviews > Home School Curriculuml November 17, 2010 lViews: 193

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 218

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 433

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313