Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Book Review: The Eden Paradox, by Barry Kirwan

February 27, 2012 | Comments: 0 | Views: 203

The Eden Paradox, by Barry Kirwan, is an enjoyable read that will be relished by fans of science fiction.

Fifty years into the future, the earth has been maimed by war and is near collapse from heat exhaustion. Scientists have already found the vaccine for AIDS and robot soldiers have quelled rebel invasions. The 3-year long World War between the United Secular Nations and the 'Big Five' Religious Front countries has left half a billion dead and a shortage of food (beef has hit $300 a kilo), power and fuel.

Then a new planet is discovered: Eden, a green-purple world bathed in blood-orange sunlight, a planet filled with virgin lakes and forests, a place so beautiful it could be compared to pre-war Switzerland. Now, the Ulysses, a faster-than-light ship carrying a crew of four astronauts, is on its way to Eden. The venture has given one last hope to mankind. If Eden fails, all humanity will see is an abyss.

Then one of the astronauts begins having strange nightmares about a desert-filled Eden and a horrific creature. The nightmares put the astronauts on edge. After all, there's reason for concern: Ulysses isn't the first mission to Eden. There were two before which failed miserably under mysterious circumstances. One stopped transmitting after an hour of arrival; the other one exploded five days before landing. Do the nightmares have any substance or in any way predict the future? What, in reality, is going on in Eden?

The Eden Paradox is a well-written, action-packed, suspenseful novel. Told in multiple points of view separated by chapters, the story moves mainly between two characters: Micah, analyst at Eden Mission Control on earth, and Blake, lead astronaut at the Ulysses. Micah feels he's being thrust into a vortex of murder, deception and conspiracy; he feels coerced into a probably fatal role in a game he doesn't understand nor cares about. Blake, on the other hand, is intend on protecting his crew, find out what's really going on in Eden, and return to earth successfully. In spite of all the action, there are a lot of exposition and backstory in the first few chapters. There are also a lot of characters and it took me a while to identify with any one of them.

However, I have to say that the scenes are very film-like in nature and I felt as if I were watching a movie. Although the plotline is different, the pace and tone reminded me of the Alien series, which are one of my favorites. The author uses a lot of detail to bring his fictional world to life, and in this aspect he was quite successful. In short, even though I'm not an avid fan of sci-fi, I enjoyed the novel and would definitely recommend it to readers of the genre.

Book information:

The Eden ParadoxBy Barry KirwanSummertime Publications Inc 0982369840ISBN-13: 978-0982369845Science Fiction ThrillerPaperback, 476 pages, $16.99October 15, 2011

Mayra Calvani is an author, reviewer and freelance book publicist. She also offers online workshops on the art of book reviewing and picture book writing. To learn more about her books, workshops and promotional packages for authors, visit her website at

Join her mailing list and receive the free ebook, "Reviewers Talk about Their Craft," as well as the first lesson of her Slippery Art of Book Reviewing Workshop.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Sci Fi










Barry Kirwan

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

Moving to the second book for the "Shades of Gray" trilogy, we find things changing as a love-struck Anastasia Steele tries to forget her Christian by taking a job nearly 3,500 miles across the

By: Roberto Sedyciasl Book Reviews > Fictionl June 13, 2012 lViews: 215

If the name E.L. James is not high on your list of authors as the seasons are about to change by the time you reach the end of the season, you will. James has written the "Shades of Gray" trilogy.

By: Roberto Sedyciasl Book Reviews > Fictionl June 12, 2012 lViews: 231

Nora is going through a very difficult time in her life. Until now, she had everything she could ever want. Her world starts to fall apart when she discovers her husband is having an affair.

By: Nancy Eatonl Book Reviews > Fictionl June 12, 2012 lViews: 218

In her novel The Seven Sisters Margaret Drabble presents seven women out of the billions that populate their heavens, seven women who come together to act on a project, to share experience and build

By: Philip Spiresl Book Reviews > Fictionl June 08, 2012 lViews: 224

Pulitzer Prize-winning author, Anne Tyler (The Accidental Tourist), returns with her 19th fiction book, "The Beginner's Goodbye." Tyler has a talent for portraying ordinary lives with humor and

By: Timothy Zaunl Book Reviews > Fictionl June 07, 2012 lViews: 265

"The Prodigal Housekeeper" by Don Michael is one of the most surprising metaphysical novels of recent years. Filled with surprises, quirky characters, and a look into the supernatural world, this

By: Tyler Tichelaarl Book Reviews > Fictionl June 06, 2012 lViews: 207

Pretty Dolls by Kimberly Dana, a finalist in the Children's Picture Book category at the 2011 Pacific Northwest Writers Association Literary Contest, is a delightful story about overcoming jealousy

By: Mayra Calvanil Book Reviews > Childrens Booksl February 26, 2012 lViews: 205

A Satan Carol by spiritual horror author Alan Steven Kessler combines elements of the macabre and parody/satire to explore the concepts of free will and evil. Not having read in this horror

By: Mayra Calvanil Book Reviews > Fictionl February 26, 2012 lViews: 194

For several years, Aneeta Sundararaj has been helping writers through her website with countless articles, reviews and interviews. Now, she has compiled all her experience and expertise in her new

By: Mayra Calvanil Book Reviews > Reference Encyclopedial October 13, 2011 lViews: 211

Have you ever wondered what it's like to be the head matchmaker of a high-class Beverly Hills dating service? In this, her candid and witty memoir, Marla Martenson takes you on a humorous ride

By: Mayra Calvanil Book Reviews > Womensl October 03, 2011 lViews: 173

Award-winning, first-time novelist Marisel Vera pens an honest, heart-felt, often sad tale of an idealistic, naive Puerto Rican girl named Felicidad who goes to America to be with the man she loves.

By: Mayra Calvanil Book Reviews > Womensl June 21, 2011 lViews: 164

I was intrigued when I received a copy of this poetry chapbook for review. It isn't the typical poetry book. The author, 'Laughing' Larry Berger, improvised these poems onstage in front of an

By: Mayra Calvanil Book Reviews > Poetry Playscriptsl May 07, 2011 lViews: 197