Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Biggest Demographic Shift of US History - It's Here Now - Book Review

February 13, 2011 | Comments: 0 | Views: 154

I'm not sure if you have stayed up on the latest in the changing demographics of the United States, but things are changing rapidly as the baby boomers are retiring, and the next generation is taking control. Of course the baby boomers don't believe the next generation has what it takes, but neither did the last generation consider the baby boomers the pillars of integrity or intelligence.

Nevertheless, it is time to pass the torch once again, but the baby boomers are saying not so fast, and they are the ones holding the wealth and the purse strings. And they are living longer and spending more of their money. If this subject fascinates you I would recommend that you read some of the works of Ken Dychwald who is one of the most famous demographers of our time.

There is also an interesting book that I'd like to recommend to you about the economics, pension funds, retirement accounts, and transfer of wealth from the Boomers to the next generation. Now then I don't believe, or buy into all aspects of the information presented in this book, or the whole Generational Warfare assertions, but I still recommend the book. The name of the book is;

"Boomernomics - The Future of Your Money in Upcoming Generational Warfare" by William Sterling and Stephen Waite, Ballantine Books, New York, NY, (1998), 220 pages, ISBN: 0-345-42583-9.

The two authors are both quite notable. William Sterling is a Wall Street investment strategist and brings forth a rather interesting global perspective. He also has a PhD in economics from Harvard University, so he's no slouch in the academic world either. Stephen Waite is a portfolio manager and global strategists with a major Wall Street firm. He's also written several books on economics and he's been quoted in the Wall Street Journal, The Economist, and Business Week. He holds a Masters degree in economics from Pennsylvania State University.

In hindsight because this book was written in 1998 I would have to say that these two gentlemen got most of it right, but not all of it. For instance it doesn't appear that they saw the global economic crisis we just went through, or how much wealth was lost by the baby boomers in their pension funds and retirement accounts. Or the fact that they lost a lot of their real estate wealth, which will not be passed on.

But everything else they pretty much pegged including the technological revolution, Social Security challenges, and many of the industries they expected to prosper. Indeed, I hope you will please consider this book, because it is of interest. If this is a topic you'd like to discuss, you may send me an e-mail with your comments, questions, or concerns.

Lance Winslow is an Online Author, his latest eBook about Boat Detailing is now available in the "Lance Winslow Small Business Series" titled; "How to Start a Boat Cleaning Business" (a Nook Book available at the Barnes and Noble Website). Lance Winslow is semi-retired and Founder of the Online Think Tank - You may contact Lance Winslow by email for dialogue, discourse, discussion, or debate on interesting topics.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Biggest Demographic Shift Of Us History


Book Review


Boat Cleaning Business


Lance Winslow


Think Tank

Rather than blame others, take personal responsibility to reduce our dependence on oil by using less of petroleum derived products. Repeatedly we are hearing about oil spills, rising prices on oil

By: Kyles Humphrey l News & Society > Energy l October 17, 2012 lViews: 234

Traditional analysis of debt and deleveraging (the process where households, corporations and governments are forced to reduce their overall debt) is often biased and incomplete. Opinions of how to

By: Ben Esget l News & Society > Economics l August 11, 2012 lViews: 296

In this high paced digital age, it's easy to become displaced from the people and places around you. However, it's important to support your community and your neighbors who live in it, and work hard

By: Monai Gupta l News & Society > Politics l July 11, 2012 lViews: 332

In a bold, unpredictable move, President Obama declared on Monday his desire to extend the Bush-era tax cuts for all but the highest-income earners, by which he means anyone richer than Al and Peg

By: Scott Spiegel l News & Society > Politics l July 10, 2012 lViews: 228

Bipartisanship isn't always sweet. Especially when it comes to the politics of sugar.

By: Larry M. Elkin l News & Society > Politics l July 09, 2012 lViews: 237

In a direct reflection of the financial market's currently unsteady nature, the wholesale energy markets tumbled to a four-month low at the end of May. The bearish market was thanks to the continuing

By: Graham N Paul l News & Society > Energy l July 09, 2012 lViews: 222

Traditional analysis of debt and deleveraging (the process where households, corporations and governments are forced to reduce their overall debt) is often biased and incomplete. Opinions of how to

By: Ben Esgetl News & Society > Economicsl August 11, 2012 lViews: 296

There has been a trend for many governments around the world to augment national budgetary resources by incurring debt. This debt is raised through deficit budgets supplemented by quantitative

By: Ashok Malhotral News & Society > Economicsl April 25, 2012 lViews: 242

Not long ago, I had the opportunity to discuss economic philosophy with something that was less-than-human. Now you might think that this is a negative, but I assure you it isn't. Nevertheless, when

By: Lance Winslowl News & Society > Economicsl April 25, 2012 lViews: 191

The economy suffers when banks concentrate on collecting fees rather than deposits. And on making trades rather than loans.

By: Larry M. Elkinl News & Society > Economicsl April 24, 2012 lViews: 208

Anyone on a budget can benefit using money saving tips. With the uncertain political and economic climate, it pays to turn over a few stones.

By: George Wul News & Society > Economicsl April 23, 2012 lViews: 226

This article discusses the need for having a long-term food supply as part of an emergency preparedness plan during uncertain economic times. No more than ever, this is an issue that needs to be

By: Ashley Buenol News & Society > Economicsl April 22, 2012 lViews: 190

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 218

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 434

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus