Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Dealing With a First DUI in Utah

February 22, 2012 | Comments: 0 | Views: 197

Encountering a problem for the first time tends to be a somewhat confusing and difficult experience no matter what the situation. If you find yourself in a criminal situation for the first time, this anxiety will surely be amplified. For most, a first time DUI conviction is not only a stressful experience, it is also an area that they may not have thought about or considered before being put in this unfortunate position. Not knowing you legal rights can lead to even more issues with regard to a DUI offense than if you were well-versed in the process.

In Utah, considering that there were well over 15,000 DUI arrests last year (with 44% coming from Salt Lake County alone), a driving under the influence offense is strictly enforced and comes with many penalties and consequences.

According to Utah Code 41-6a-502, a person may not operate or be in physical control of a vehicle if:

•The person has a blood or breath alcohol concentration of.08 grams or greater at the time of the test; or •The person is under the influence of alcohol, any drug, or the combined influence of both that renders the person incapable of safely driving a vehicle.

As for penalties, there is extensive and strict sentencing with regard to DUI convictions in Utah. Utah statute 41-6a-503 defines a first time DUI offense as a class B misdemeanor, which comes with a presumptive sentence of:

•up to six month in jail and / or up to $1000 in fines.

There are circumstances which may allow for the penalties to increase, which include:

•If the person also caused bodily injury to another person.•If the person had a passenger under 16 years old in the vehicle.

These will tend to be classified as a class A misdemeanor, which comes with a presumptive one year sentence and / or fines of up to $2500. If they happen to have cause serious injury or death to another person as a result of driving in a negligent manner, these charges will be increased to a class 3 felony, which comes with a five year prison sentence and / or up to $5000 in fines.

Under Utah Code 41-6a-505, the court may order one or more of the following for a first time DUI conviction:

•A jail sentence of 48 consecutive hours or more; •48 hours or more of community service; •Home confinement with electronic monitoring; •Participation alcohol or drug courses; •A fine of $700 or more; •Probation (if there is evidence that the person had a BAC or.16 or higher); •Ignition Interlock Device; or •Possible license suspension of up to 120 days.

With these consequences, it is of vital importance to understand your rights while retaining a qualified criminal defense lawyer. To start, you do not have to perform a field sobriety test. A sobriety test is difficult under normal circumstances, so refusing this aspect of the process may keep you from incriminating yourself. Although you can refuse a field sobriety test, refusing to submit to a chemical test (blood, breath, urine) in Utah will come with extreme penalties. The courts in Utah allow evidence of a DUI suspect refusing a chemical test to be admitted at trial. This evidence is likely to do major damage to you as a defendant, considering law enforcement has the right to apply for a warrant in order to force a blood test anyways.

Furthermore, even for a first time DUI offender, simply being charged may lead to a license suspension. This action can be taken before conviction, under a procedure called administrative license suspension. A first offense tends to come with a 90 day suspension, with up to 18 months if a chemical test is refused.

Considering these potential issues, staying up-to-date and informed on your rights, along with the consequences of your actions, will give you a better chance at successfully fighting your DUI charge. Make sure to discuss you situation with a capable criminal defense attorney who understands the laws that you allegedly broke.

As a Salt Lake City DUI Attorney, Darren Levitt has many years of experience defending those charged with DUI's in the state of Utah. He understands the nuances of Utah DUI law and the process behind it. This perspective can be an asset when fighting charges of drunk driving or driving under the influence of drugs, which can result in serious penalties. Darren Levitt proudly serves the Salt Lake County area in misdemeanor and felony DUI cases, in addition to a variety of other criminal offenses.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

 
0
 
0
 
Rate this Article
 vote(s)
Feedback
Print
Re-Publish

Article Tags:

Dui Offense

,

First Time Dui

,

Chemical Test

,

License Suspension

,

Utah

Thus, you can apply for the negligence compensation under such circumstances in order to recover your loss, Negligence Claims, Negligence compensation Involvedness of Negligence Claims. The court

By: Simon Liva l Legal > Personal Injury l December 13, 2012 lViews: 291

If a lawyer is not able to devote enough time to your case then your defense is likely to suffer. Moreover specialization in one stream or other of defense is important so that the attorney can

By: Simon Liva l Legal > Criminal Law l December 12, 2012 lViews: 429

Filing a business bankruptcy can be a complex and critical task, but you have several options. You can consult your bankruptcy attorney to know which among those options is right for you.This is a

By: Harvard McIntosh l Legal > Corporations LLC l December 11, 2012 lViews: 235

You can always check for the treatments that are covered. This is because there are some policies which do not give you claims if you meet any kind of head injury.You can always check for the

By: Simon Liva l Legal > Personal Injury l November 05, 2012 lViews: 241

In Colorado, you have many Personal Injury Lawyers to choose from. When you choose the Law Offices of Andrew C. Bubb you instantly put years of experience and legal know how in your corner. Attorney

By: Dilshad l Legal > Personal Injury l October 25, 2012 lViews: 389

If you have been charged with a crime, speak with Boulder criminal defense attorney Steven Louth immediately to protect your rights. Steven Louth is a criminal defense attorney and criminal trial

By: Dilshad l Legal > Personal Injury l October 18, 2012 lViews: 244

If a lawyer is not able to devote enough time to your case then your defense is likely to suffer. Moreover specialization in one stream or other of defense is important so that the attorney can

By: Simon Lival Legal > Criminal Lawl December 12, 2012 lViews: 429

If you have criminal charges levied against you, it can seem as though the situation is bleak. Going it alone without a criminal lawyer in this situation is a mistake.

By: Anna Woodwardl Legal > Criminal Lawl April 25, 2012 lViews: 246

If you or someone you know is facing any kind of drug related charges, contact a drug crime lawyer right away. The sooner you hire one, the better the outcome will be for the case.

By: Abraham Avotinal Legal > Criminal Lawl April 25, 2012 lViews: 233

When you need a criminal lawyer, it is important to choose the best one in the area. The best one will offer great results for all types of court cases.

By: Anna Woodwardl Legal > Criminal Lawl April 25, 2012 lViews: 236

An experienced criminal attorney will have the background and knowledge necessary for properly defending a wide range of crimes. These crimes can include drug crimes, violent offenses, DWIs or DUIs,

By: Antoinette Ayanal Legal > Criminal Lawl April 24, 2012 lViews: 332

A criminal attorney works in the legal field of criminal law, which governs a person's relationship to the state. This field of law encompasses the criminal process and the rights of an accused

By: Antoinette Ayanal Legal > Criminal Lawl April 24, 2012 lViews: 206