Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Book Review: A Wrinkle In Time by Madeleine L'Engle

January 20, 2012 | Comments: 0 | Views: 176

How do I begin writing a review of a book that tackles a subject a cannot fully comprehend? Mathematics and physics, anyone? But, I am getting ahead of myself.

I first encountered the word tesseract while browsing Goodreads and chanced upon Alex Garland's novel, The Tesseract. (Yes, the Alex Garland who is the author of the infamous book, The Beach.) I was totally intrigued with The Tesseract, not because of the tesseract concept per se, but because of the Philippine setting, particularly Manila. Presently, however, I can no longer recall what the story of The Tesseract was all about after I read it some two years ago. I am sure, though, that there was no description there of what a teserract is (or did I just miss it?). This time, with Madeleine L' Engle's A Wrinkle In Time, there was an explanation of what this term means, except that I think I do not totally get the concept.

A Wrinkle In Time was first published in 1967 by American author, Madeleine L" Engle (1918-2007), and won numerous awards, one of which was the prestigious Newbery Medal - an award given to a particular book for its distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Given that A Wrinkle In Time has won the Newbery Medal, I was expecting a children's story that is a quick and easy read; but lo, and behold, this book makes huge demands on the imagination. I, in all of my thirty years, cannot still fully grasp what a teserract is. Add to that my very unsatisfactory comprehension with mathematics, physics, and geometry. This is not to say that I did not like the book. I TOTALLY LOVED IT! I loved it because it has made me think. It was amazing, in a literal way, because my mind until now is still processing the concept of a tesseract. Too bad, the explanation in the book entails some mathematical computations, and what little skill I have with numbers unfortunately does not include the book's demands. Sigh.

Still, I was amazed with how Miss L'Engle crafted her characters and weaved her plot, encompassing not only time travel but space travel as well. Of course, time and space travel stories are not entirely new to me, but considering that the book was published almost 50 years ago, A Wrinkle In Time has exceeded my expectations of "old" books like this. Madeleine L' Engle is indeed one amazing writer.

What surprised me while reading this book are the Biblical quotes. Considering that this book is categorized as science fiction, Christian themes are not lost in it. In fact, strong biblical allusions are prevailing in the story. I love that the primary theme of the story is love - a theme that is not actually new in most children's books but compelling, nonetheless.

A Wrinkle In Time wraps up so beautifully in the end, though a bit mushy. But then anything lovely is mushy, don't you think?

I am surprised that this is just the first of a series of other books because standing alone, A Wrinkle In Time is one excellent book. I am not under the compulsion yet of completing all the books in the series, but maybe sometime in the future I'll pick up her other books, when my brain is again ready for some wild, out-of-this-world calisthenics.

5 stars.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Book Review


Madeleine Lengle


Space Travel


Time Travel


A Wrinkle In Time


Newberry Classic

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

For some children, summer reading can be a chore. Many children will even forget the material they learned just a few weeks before the end of the school year. However, parents can read a variety of

By: Barbara Mascarenol Book Reviews > Childrens Booksl June 29, 2012 lViews: 238

An insight into digital books and paperback hard copies for children at school. How have things changes? What stories do kids love? and where are they getting their fiction adventure tales from now

By: Rob Townerl Book Reviews > Childrens Booksl June 28, 2012 lViews: 213

Cheryl Carpinello's new book "The King's Ransom" is the first in her "Young Knights of the Round Table" series. An educator, Carpinello has made the book reader-friendly for teachers and classrooms

By: Tyler Tichelaarl Book Reviews > Childrens Booksl June 19, 2012 lViews: 179

If you want to improve your writing skills then practice is a good start. The more you write the better you become. Practice makes perfect, right? While that's certainly true it can sometimes be a

By: Jared D Silverstonel Book Reviews > Childrens Booksl May 31, 2012 lViews: 197

Learn how to answer your kid's 'tell me why' questions by reading this informational article on educational children's' books. Being a parent, you surely understand that children have a very

By: Jackie Sheetsl Book Reviews > Childrens Booksl May 29, 2012 lViews: 206

Reading is a fun and interactive way to bond with kids. Experts recommend reading a good book to a young child every day. It is usually done before a child goes to sleep. It is an excellent way to

By: Savine Mendezl Book Reviews > Childrens Booksl May 29, 2012 lViews: 179

Before writing this review, I did a bit of browsing of reviews already posted in Goodreads and saw mostly 1 star ratings. I felt quite sad because I really liked the story and how it was written. The

By: Lynai Lamasonl Book Reviews > Romancel January 20, 2012 lViews: 204

I bought The Reunion by Sue Walker one fine, random day at Booksale without having any idea how good (or bad) it is and without any inkling who the author is except that it was only Php20.00 and its

By: Lynai Lamasonl Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillersl January 20, 2012 lViews: 166

John Steinbeck (1902-1968) is one of America's greatest writers and is a Nobel Prize winner for Literature in 1962. I must confess, though, that this is the first time I read a book by him, all

By: Lynai Lamasonl Book Reviews > Literary Classicsl November 16, 2011 lViews: 187

A woman of the nineties. A young pioneer on the Oregon Trail. Though lifetimes apart, they share a remarkable journey. When Sierra discovers her ancestor's handcrafted quilt and reads her journal,

By: Lynai Lamasonl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl July 13, 2011 lViews: 215

This is the first book in a series of 9, and my first time to read a book by the author. At Home in Mitford is a sweet story about a fictional town called Mitford where everybody seems to know

By: Lynai Lamasonl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl May 26, 2011 lViews: 155