Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Book Review: Now What: A Young Persons Guide to Choosing the Perfect Career by Nicholas Lore

December 21, 2010 | Comments: 0 | Views: 113

As a career consultant I try to read as many books on this topic as I can. I just finished reading Now What: A Young Persons Guide to Choosing the Perfect Career by Nicholas Lore. I had very high expectations going into this book based on the last book that I read from this author. I must say that I was not disappointed.

The first couple of chapters are pretty basic and kind of boring as the author describes various tests that college students can take to learn about their personality types and which careers they would be best suited for. The best part of the book is the tool kit that Lore provides. This allows the reader to become engaged and learn as they read. The book forces you to take action towards your career and actually provides encouragement and motivation along the way.

There were a couple of negatives though. The one thing that I did not like was the author plugs his testing and coaching services and at times I felt like I was reading a promotional piece for his business instead of a book that was supposed to inform and educate. The other negative was there was never any mention of the negative economy we are in and how that impacts people that are starting off in their career.

Overall, I do recommend this book for any high school or college student that is ready to start searching for a career. It is tough out there so the more you can read and prepare for the better off you will be.

Dan Keller is a career consultant and a Pro Resume Writer.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

 
0
 
0
 
Rate this Article
 vote(s)
Feedback
Print
Re-Publish

Article Tags:

Perfect Career

,

Book Review

,

Young Persons Guide

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

We all have the potential to become stars in the workplace. Years ago I read a great book called "How to be a Star at Work" by Robert E. Kelley. This book continues to be one of my favorite career

By: Linda Cattelanl Book Reviews > Careersl June 12, 2012 lViews: 185

The Federal Resume format utilizes keywords within the format of the resume. Understanding how to use keywords to enhance your resume is the most important factors to success in job hunting in

By: Shadeed Q. Eleazerl Book Reviews > Careersl May 29, 2012 lViews: 209

The federal government is the largest employer in the United States. More than 2,700,000 employees work for the federal government in civil service positions.

By: Shadeed Q. Eleazerl Book Reviews > Careersl May 25, 2012 lViews: 181

Military Transition for IT Professionals Are you currently working as an IT Specialist in the Armed Forces and planning to leave your military career?  Wondering what to do next?

By: Shadeed Q. Eleazerl Book Reviews > Careersl May 25, 2012 lViews: 160

I was doing great. Two beautiful children, a doting nanny to raise them. A newly purchased Victorian home within ear shot of Lake Michigan. A career that seemed to be going nowhere but up. Sadly

By: Crystal J Casavantl Book Reviews > Careersl May 15, 2012 lViews: 177

"Getting a job is like parking, you have to be at the right place at the right time." This is very true in the 21st century and not so true in the past for getting a job. When this book arrived I was

By: Jacqueline Ann Paulsonl Book Reviews > Careersl April 22, 2012 lViews: 190

I just finished reading "No One Cares What You Had for Lunch: 100 Ideas for your Blog" by Margaret Maso. As a professional blogger and owner of a blog network, I try to read as much as I can about

By: Dan Kellerl Book Reviews > Internetl April 20, 2009 lViews: 135

I just finished reading "Blogging Quick and Easy; A Planned Approach to Blogging Success" by Tom Masters. I just started blogging full time and as part of my daily routine I try and read as many

By: Dan Kellerl Book Reviews > Internetl April 15, 2009 lViews: 135

I just finished reading "Straight Talk From a Blogger" by Ron Gludt. As a professional blogger, I enjoy reading books about blogging and from fellow bloggers. This is not written as a blog resource

By: Dan Kellerl Book Reviews > Internetl April 13, 2009 lViews: 164

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus