Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Organizing Groups Filled With Geniuses and Conquering Creative Collaboration - Book Review

April 14, 2012 | Comments: 0 | Views: 148

As the coordinator for a think tank which happens to operate online, it is truly amazing the innovations, ideas, concepts, inventions, and business plans for start-ups I have the privilege of perusing and thinking about. Interestingly enough, a good bit of these originate from within my own mind and then are given to the group to expand upon - but, one thing you must know - having original thoughts even in high volume is not enough - heck, that's just the starting point.

You see, think tanks talk about stuff, which is nice, but talk is cheap, doing is grand. Okay so, how do you do? No, I'm not asking "how are you" what I mean to say is; How do you actually put together a group of creative geniuses that go out and do something rather than just talking about it? Well, easier said than done, and although there is no actual model for it, there are many examples of how great things were accomplished in groups of people with superior intellect in creative collaboration.

In fact, there is an a great book which I pulled off the shelf of my personal library recently and re-read after many years. Now as I've had new experiences in getting stuff done and running a think tank, I'm happy to say, I've gotten a lot more out of it this time around. And, I bet you might as well. The name of the book is;

Organizing Genius - The Secrets of Creative Collaboration," by Warren Bennis and Patricia Ward Bieferman (forward by Charles Handy), published by Addison-Wesley Publishing Company, New York, NY, (1997), 239 pages, ISBN: 0-201-57051-3.

There is a good bit in here about Apple Computers and Steve Jobs, well prior to his return and building the largest company in the world. It's a fascinating case study in hindsight. Also, are stories of Lockheed Skunk Works, Disney, Political Campaigns, Xerox PARC, the Manhattan Project, and several other notable groups that pioneered their field and changed the world.

The authors conclude the book after all their interviews with some words of wisdom - 15 take away points that all these case studies had in common, along with some warnings for those who dare. This is a must read for any corporate executive setting up an R&D department, or has the honor in organizing the very best minds focused on a single objective. Anyone who wants to work on such a collaborative team, or do something great should read this book. What you learn in this book will help you to greatness. Please consider all this and think on it.

Lance Winslow has launched a new provocative series of eBooks on Innovation. Lance Winslow is a retired Founder of a Nationwide Franchise Chain, and now runs the Online Think Tank;

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Organizing Groups


Filled With Geniuses


Conquering Creative Collaboration


Book Review



Teenage rebellion is easier to tolerate in book or film form. Take a look back at some of the most well known and loved "coming of age" stories set in boarding schools.

By: Harvey McEwan l Arts & Entertainment l July 10, 2012 lViews: 445

An important thing you have to consider before working out is having a pair of great training shoes. You cannot immediately undergo any physical training wearing inappropriate footwear. If you do so,

By: Steve Hill l Recreation & Sports l July 10, 2012 lViews: 349

Granite is one natural stone that is used for several purposes from dimension stone to countertops to sculptures. The use of granite for building the temples and monuments was initiated millions

By: Steve L Patterson l Arts & Entertainment l July 10, 2012 lViews: 298

Up to 65,000 H-1B visas for new employment may be issued each fiscal year (FY) for professional workers, including medical providers. In general, a person who already has an H-1B and applies for

By: Ann Badmus l Arts & Entertainment l July 10, 2012 lViews: 309

Beside coin shooting, gold detecting or the many other things you can do with your metal detector. There is a large group of people who take their metal detector out looking for old stuff. Not just

By: Candy L Lindsey l Recreation & Sports l July 07, 2012 lViews: 293

Many people want to be writers and you may be one of them. In order to make your dream occupation a reality, you need to have a plan. You also need to work on this plan constantly. These tips from a

By: Harriet Hodgson l Writing & Speaking l July 06, 2012 lViews: 439

In business, infrastructure equals money. In order to scale, you have to have a flexible infrastructure to handle the growth. With that said, when centralized infrastructure turns into bureaucracy

By: Joe Mosedl Book Reviewsl April 24, 2012 lViews: 166

Death is a natural part of life, and within fiction and within our society, there have been many sad tales of people damaged during their childhood by being kept in a state of confusion and ignorance

By: Sheila C Skillmanl Book Reviewsl April 23, 2012 lViews: 154

The word amphibia means dual mode of life. Just like the name the members of class Amphibia are adapted for living both on land as well as water. Salamanders, frogs and toads are the important

By: Navodita Mauricel Book Reviewsl April 22, 2012 lViews: 161

'Behind The Smile: the story of Lek, a Thai bar girl in Pattaya' is the first novel of a new author. It became available on April 19th. 2012.

By: Owen Jonesl Book Reviewsl April 20, 2012 lViews: 143

A simple Buddhist monk but proclaimed by the world as man of peace, his holiness the 14th Dalai lama(Tenzin Gyatso) is the political and spiritual leader of Tibet from 1959. What makes, his holiness

By: Amar Naikl Book Reviewsl April 16, 2012 lViews: 142

This article discusses the role of The Hunger Games novels in establishing the dominance of the Ditz Lit genre in the publishing world. The effect of Ditz Lit on publishing, other genres of fiction,

By: Richard Buzzelll Book Reviewsl April 12, 2012 lViews: 179

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 218

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 434

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus