Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

There Are So Many Phobias and Disorders That People Suffer From - Discover What They Are

February 11, 2011 | Comments: 0 | Views: 118

Have you ever met someone who was afraid of something they shouldn't be afraid of, as it was somewhat out of the norm - and I'm not talking about the fear of drowning, or being afraid of heights, because it's okay to be afraid of things that can hurt you, and a little fear keeps us from doing things that can cause us problems later. Nevertheless, far too many people are afraid of such things as darkness, or going outside.

If you'd like to learn more of the phobias that people have, there is a great book the you should read, and it will help you understand these folks who have these fears and phobias, and how to help them get over their fears, and understand how to deal with these personalities as you meet them. The name of the book that I'd like to recommend to you is;

Phobias - Diseases and Disorders" by Gail B. Stewart, published by Lucent Books Incorporated, San Diego, CA, (2001), 96 pages, ISBN: 1-56006-726-8.

In this book the author puts you into the mind of those who have dreadful feelings of fear, or who suffer from a phobia disorder. Once you put yourself in their perspective, it becomes readily apparent how debilitating this could be. The author explains in chapter to the history and early research on phobias, although today we know much more than we ever did back then.

Luckily the author brings you up to speed. And although this book was written in 2001, and neuroscientists have learned more since, it is a good basic fundamental book to read. There is also a chapter on the challenges of phobias, and how they can cause social problems, the book explains simple phobias, and fears that we all have, whether justified, or not necessarily.

If you've ever watched someone have a panic attack, there is a chapter about that which explains what's going through their mind, and how they lose control. Once you understand this and you watch them ramp up with fear, you can bring it back into perspective for them by talking to them a certain way. In fact in chapter 6 the final chapter the author explains how to overcome phobias if you happen to have one, and how to help and consult others to help them overcome their own fears.

Personally, this was a great book to read, because I am someone who enjoys wearing T-shirts which say; "No Fear" - and now I know how the other people feel, but rather than feel sorry for them, I think from now on I'm going to try to help them. Wish me luck. And maybe you should buy this book and do the same thing. Please consider all this.

Lance Winslow is an Online Author, his latest eBook about Boat Detailing is now available in the "Lance Winslow Small Business Series" titled; "How to Start a Boat Cleaning Business" (a Nook Book available at the Barnes and Noble Website). Lance Winslow is semi-retired and Founder of the Online Think Tank - You may contact Lance Winslow by email for dialogue, discourse, discussion, or debate on interesting topics.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Phobias And Disorders


People Suffer From




Book Review


Lance Winslow


Think Tank


Great Book

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 285

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 309

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 546

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

Therapists are famous for providing more questions than answers... and doing much more listening than talking. Some patients would like more. In The Tools, Phil Stutz, M.D., and Barry Michaels, MSW

By: Donald Mitchelll Book Reviews > Psychologyl June 17, 2012 lViews: 176

In his book, Dr. Amen explains how science can empirically detect and measure activities in the mind-brain connection and how this data can be used to improve mental health. I explain in the article

By: Rachel E Hoferl Book Reviews > Psychologyl June 15, 2012 lViews: 190

Ok, so just so you know, this is a biased review. I had the privilege to meet Tonya Reiman at a conference seminar in Las Vegas, and I am huge fan of this brilliant lady who is such an expert of

By: April Braswelll Book Reviews > Psychologyl June 13, 2012 lViews: 219

"Influence", the classic book on persuasion, explains the psychology of why people say "yes" - and how to apply these understandings. Dr. Robert Cialdini is the seminal expert in the rapidly

By: Ian Robert Northcottl Book Reviews > Psychologyl April 09, 2012 lViews: 210

Body language is a key component of mentalism. Read this short review of one of the top body language books to gain a deeper insight on the subject.

By: Joe Anthony Whitel Book Reviews > Psychologyl March 23, 2012 lViews: 227

Dan Pink's DRIVE jumps on motivation and rides it like a motorcycle on a mountain road. There are twists and turn - but the more you ride, the hotter it gets. You know - that feeling of freedom, raw

By: Charlie Van Heckel Book Reviews > Psychologyl March 21, 2012 lViews: 194

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 301

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 495

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 218

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 433

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus