Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Book Review - 'Why Marriages Succeed or Fail And How To Make Yours Last' By Dr John Gottman

February 07, 2011 | Comments: 0 | Views: 170

Dr. John Gottman says: 'If there is one lesson I have learned from my years of research it is that a lasting marriage results from a couple's ability to resolve the conflicts that are inevitable in any relationship'. The following book is not just a couples therapist's opinion but a compilation of the findings of the work of a relationship expert and scientist who researched his topic over the past 40 years.


In this book, Dr. John Gottman gives his readers the ability to find out more about their relationship through self-tests and evaluations. Beyond that this book also provides practical exercises, quizzes, tips, techniques and proven strategies to improve your relationship or marriage.

More in details

Based on his years of research with real-life couples, Dr. John Gottman first answers the question 'What makes marriage work?' By reading this book you will learn that there are significantly different marriage styles, which he calls 'The Good, The Bad and the Volatile' and that frequent arguing doesn't necessarily have to lead to divorce if other factors are in balance.

Dr. John Gottman is famous for 'The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse', the warning signs in every relationship tumbling towards martial disaster. Dr. Gottman argues that these pitfalls - criticism, defensiveness, contempt and stonewalling - can be observed in couples who are moving towards less and less satisfaction in their relationship.

This book is not just another set of opinions of a relationship therapist, instead this is the result of his work with thousands of couples over many years of empirical study. This research has enabled Dr. Gottman to predict which couples relationships will last with 94 percent accuracy where normal relationship experts are only able to predict this in 10 percent of their cases.

About the author

As mentioned above Dr. John Gottman has collected significant amounts of data researching couples in what he calls 'The Love Lab'. He has also written and co-authored 40 books and published 190 academic articles. He has appeared on television in shows like Good Morning America, Today, CBS Morning News and Oprah and published some of his work in various publications like The New York Times, Women's Day, Reader's Digest and Psychology Today, just to name a few.

Together with his wife, Dr. Julie Schwartz Gottman, they founded the Gottman Relationship Institute; they schedule appointments for marathon therapy and lead relationship workshops.


This is a 'must read' if you are interested to improve your relationship and really, who doesn't? The best case would be if both, husband and wife, would read the book, but it is already very beneficial for one to read and introduce the concepts to the other.

Personally John Gottman's work forms the basis of my work with couple clients in my practice and his concepts work with great success.

Want to know more? Have a look at my blog.

Nathalie Himmelrich is the founder of 'Reach for the Sky Therapy' on Sydney's Northern Beaches and specialises in 'relationship related issues'. She is working with individuals and couples using techniques ranging from Counselling, Neuro Linguistic Programming to Journey Therapy. She supports clients in their personal growth in a supportive and professional environment.

Visit my website: or visit my blog: and sign up for our newsletter today.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

John Gottman


Gottman Relationship Institute


Relationship Expert


Marriages Succeed


Book Review

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 285

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 309

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 546

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

Therapists are famous for providing more questions than answers... and doing much more listening than talking. Some patients would like more. In The Tools, Phil Stutz, M.D., and Barry Michaels, MSW

By: Donald Mitchelll Book Reviews > Psychologyl June 17, 2012 lViews: 175

In his book, Dr. Amen explains how science can empirically detect and measure activities in the mind-brain connection and how this data can be used to improve mental health. I explain in the article

By: Rachel E Hoferl Book Reviews > Psychologyl June 15, 2012 lViews: 189

Ok, so just so you know, this is a biased review. I had the privilege to meet Tonya Reiman at a conference seminar in Las Vegas, and I am huge fan of this brilliant lady who is such an expert of

By: April Braswelll Book Reviews > Psychologyl June 13, 2012 lViews: 218

"Influence", the classic book on persuasion, explains the psychology of why people say "yes" - and how to apply these understandings. Dr. Robert Cialdini is the seminal expert in the rapidly

By: Ian Robert Northcottl Book Reviews > Psychologyl April 09, 2012 lViews: 209

Body language is a key component of mentalism. Read this short review of one of the top body language books to gain a deeper insight on the subject.

By: Joe Anthony Whitel Book Reviews > Psychologyl March 23, 2012 lViews: 226

Dan Pink's DRIVE jumps on motivation and rides it like a motorcycle on a mountain road. There are twists and turn - but the more you ride, the hotter it gets. You know - that feeling of freedom, raw

By: Charlie Van Heckel Book Reviews > Psychologyl March 21, 2012 lViews: 193

Anger is part of the grief cycle consisting of five stages as per Elisabeth Kubler-Ross. The other stages are denial, bargaining, depression and acceptance. It is important to note that experiencing

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Self Improvement > Grief Lossl June 09, 2012 lViews: 185

The Alchemist is another one of my absolute favourite books in my bookshelf. Paulo Coelho's book is a metaphor that takes you on journey and you will be surprise how many different gifts people take

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl March 14, 2012 lViews: 270

When I first looked at the book cover I thought 'Oh wow, this looks a bit too sweet for me' but I still bought it as it came recommended by one of my clients as a good and interesting read. This is

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Book Reviews > Psychologyl February 07, 2011 lViews: 154

Have you always wondered why you get bored easily, never stick to anything for long periods of time, quickly lose interest in things or change your mind about what you want to do and end up doing

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Book Reviews > Psychologyl January 26, 2011 lViews: 159

'The New Earth' is Eckhart Tolle's second book, which also became a bestseller. Even though it takes time to digest and understand Tolle's language his book has stirred up a lot of insight and

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Book Reviews > Philosophyl October 04, 2010 lViews: 149

The Power of Now is one of my absolute favorite books in my bookshelf. Eckhart Tolle takes us on a journey to explore ourselves, our focus in life and widens our understanding of present moment

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Book Reviews > Philosophyl October 04, 2010 lViews: 149

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus